Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the post Herbert 'prequels'.
Finally a prequel that des not disappoint. It is largely shod of the endless repetitions and nonsensical trying too hard by the authors visibly scared of Herbert's genius. The twists and turns of the storylines are original and exciting anew. All is also highly plausible within the environment delineated for the store. I won't spoil this by referring to any details of the...
Published 5 months ago by M. Olbrich

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly for Dune fans, not essential if wanting to read Frank Herbert's original novels!
I'm a big fan of the "Dune" series and I'm happy that there is enough interest in the franchise to keep the series alive. In all honesty no novel is ever going to equal Frank Herbert's original design, although Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson have done a pretty good job with their "Legends of Dune" trilogy and the "Prelude to Dune" trilogy. I...
Published 11 days ago by Christopher Keddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the post Herbert 'prequels'., 24 May 2014
By 
M. Olbrich "SciFi Rules 1" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally a prequel that des not disappoint. It is largely shod of the endless repetitions and nonsensical trying too hard by the authors visibly scared of Herbert's genius. The twists and turns of the storylines are original and exciting anew. All is also highly plausible within the environment delineated for the store. I won't spoil this by referring to any details of the story. Just assume it is exciting, fresh and joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly for Dune fans, not essential if wanting to read Frank Herbert's original novels!, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mentats of Dune (Kindle Edition)
I'm a big fan of the "Dune" series and I'm happy that there is enough interest in the franchise to keep the series alive. In all honesty no novel is ever going to equal Frank Herbert's original design, although Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson have done a pretty good job with their "Legends of Dune" trilogy and the "Prelude to Dune" trilogy. I had hoped that there would be more from the character of Vorian Atreides (the main protagonist of "Legends of Dune" and ancient ancestor to the main characters of Frank Herbert's "Dune" novels) but in this new series (known collectively as the "Schools of Dune" trilogy) he seems to be taking a bit of a back seat. But this entry into the series is not a bad novel, it just seems like it is an unnecessary part of the whole "Dune" mythology and will certainly only appeal to die-hard fans of "Dune".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Form, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've never been completely satisfied with any of the books that were written after the death of Frank Herbert. However, this one shows a great deal of promise. The characters are more well developed and the storyline is much stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly disapointed, 30 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mentats of Dune (Kindle Edition)
Difficult to continue defending the Dune prequels. I have been an avid reader of Frank Herbert's original Dune and the prequels up to this one.
The story goes absolutely nowhere. Pages after pages of the same things: Vorian reminiscing over his long life, Raquella trying to find a successor. Valya trying to get her revenge...... The book could have been finished in about 50 pages.
Yet, I am sure I will buy the next one, just to know IF something will happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great prequel, 2 July 2014
As usual not to the standard of the writing of Frank Herbert. But the story lines are good and this is what maintains interest in this latest offering of the Dune saga. Authors could do with looking at how Frank Herbert constructed his story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better, 16 Jun 2014
this book recreated a slice of the dune story it was enjoyable to read and fleshed out some of the pre dune story focusing on the pro and anti faction,the schism in the sisterhood.the harkonnen cause strengthened,the mentat school caught in the middle of the pro/anti technology war whilst it hides a great secret.this book caught my imagination and i blasted through it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and complex saga, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mentats of Dune (Kindle Edition)
Excellent continuation of the story begun in Sisterhood of Dune, can't wait for Navigators of Dune. Hurry up and publish please Messers Anderson & Herbert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner in the series., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mentats of Dune (Kindle Edition)
But not quite 5 stars... This is an excellent addition to the Dune universe. The story is split across all the major players and their interactions from an early stage of the Corrino rule. It explains much about the background of the players and ideas behind Dune.

If only (and I say this a lot about KA) there was less explaining of the same back story each time a character becomes the focus of the story... I'm a fan of these books, I don't need to be told in every chapter that X is Y. If players in Star Trek started explaining what warp drive is each time it's mentioned you'd be shouting at the TV saying "I know what it is, MOVE ON".

But hey, it's still a great read and a great addition to the series... or did I already say that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mentats - The best one for a long time!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mentats of Dune (Kindle Edition)
This was a really good read. Having read all of the other Dune books I'd say this is one of the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mentats of Dune, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband reads all of the series of Dune books, and really enjoyed this one as well. Hope they keep coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mentats of Dune
Mentats of Dune by Brian Herbert
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews