Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story from Reality
This is a most beautifully made film. The Photography is superb, as is the music. My father, Capt. Gilbert Evans R.E., was definitely in love with Florence (or Blote as she was known). My mother who was twenty two years younger than my father, was only nine in 1914 when the final events took place but she told my brother and me that my father had always told her...
Published 8 months ago by David J. Evans

versus
49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taken for a ride
The charismatic leader of a bohemian artists' colony in the lovely Cornish coastal valley of Lamorna, A.J. Munnings was correctly predicted by his admiring friends as destined to become the leading painter of his day. As is often the way in a film, the evidence for this is somewhat lacking to the audience.

When the beautiful Florence Carter-Wood escapes from...
Published 13 months ago by Antenna


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story from Reality, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a most beautifully made film. The Photography is superb, as is the music. My father, Capt. Gilbert Evans R.E., was definitely in love with Florence (or Blote as she was known). My mother who was twenty two years younger than my father, was only nine in 1914 when the final events took place but she told my brother and me that my father had always told her before their marriage in 1932, that he had been in love with Florence and that there had been this awful tragedy. It must be remembered that the film is made from an historical novel; the line that runs through it is true, but inevitably some of the detail is fiction. The artists party at the end where Alfred Munnings called Florence a whore definitely happened, although in reality there is no evidence that she was pregnant. Cornwall comes over very strongly in the film although it is a pity that some of the filming could not have been done at Lamorna in the cove: the problem was that the cove no longer looks as it did in 1914: it now has two enormous car parks and modern buildings. My father was a classic Edwardian gentleman who was loved by all who knew him and Dan Stevens portrayed his character beautifully. All the parts are so well acted which shows the depth of their understanding of the story.
My wife and I and one of my grandsons had the privilege of seeing some of the filming done at Prussia cove.

David Evans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving adaptation of a wonderful book, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have read this wonderful book by Jonathan Smith and think this film version does a wonderful job. Brilliant cast - I particularly enjoyed Dominic Cooper's roguish interpretation of artist Alfred Munnings and Hattie Morahan, though not a lead, shines as Laura Knight. This is a moving love film set among a spirited group of artists living and working as a tight knit group in pre-war Cornwall. The coastal landscape provides a stunning backdrop and the musical score is beautiful. Worth watching (and reading)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taken for a ride, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The charismatic leader of a bohemian artists' colony in the lovely Cornish coastal valley of Lamorna, A.J. Munnings was correctly predicted by his admiring friends as destined to become the leading painter of his day. As is often the way in a film, the evidence for this is somewhat lacking to the audience.

When the beautiful Florence Carter-Wood escapes from her match-making father to join the group, it is clear from the outset that her enigmatic allure, which may mask darker traits, will draw both the rakish Munnings and his perhaps unlikely best friend, the gentlemanly local land agent Gilbert Evans. One knows it cannot end well, if only because it is 1913, and the Edwardian idyll must be shattered by the debacle of World War 1.

Since this is based on a true story, one has to accept the plot despite a few major incidents which I found implausible. It is well acted, although I thought that Dominic Cooper was insufficiently larger than life to capture Munnings convincingly. The key aspects of the relationship between two male friends caught in a love triangle with the same woman, and the suffocating conventions of Edwardian morality which even bohemian artists could not completely escape needed to be developed in greater depth.

Despite the stunning scenery and pathos of the situation after the initial rumbustious jollity, I was left feeling underwhelmed but have obtained the novel of the same name on which the film is based, since I suspect that this may be more satisfying in, for instance, revealing more about Munnings as a painter, such as his contempt for modern art which is only hinted at in the film. In an infamous speech recorded shortly before his death he claimed that the work of Cézanne, Matisse and Picasso had "corrupted art".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful landscapes, but alas, they do not substitute the lack of chemistry between the leads., 13 May 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I am in a minority here, and it pains me to write a negative review for such a well acted and visually beautiful film, but as much as gorgeous scenes of the Cornish coast pre First World War, the film desperately needed some tangible chemistry between the leads, some concrete passion, some sparks. I was dying for any passionate reaction, for any reaction, to tell you the truth, other than longing stares and meaningful silences.

So, the setting: the bohemian England in the beginning of the Twentieth Century, a community of artists in Cornwall. Cue the troubled girl hoping to become a painter, the arrogant and praised A.J. Munnings, and a beautiful and reluctant soldier, Gilbert Evans - here we have the love triangle. "Summer in February" sounds good, and looks good, but it is such a slow-moving romantic melodrama (based on a true story), the movie lacks any vibrant chemistry between lovers that a romantic story like this should have.

It takes so much more than picturesque background, handsome (but tragic) leading actors to gain recognition of the fans of the romantic genre. I am a romantic, and I watch too many rom-coms, and had hope for something moving and unforgettable from "Summer in February" (and not necessarily a happy ending). The film ends, with beautiful music and disappointing anti-climax. Regardless of my 3 stars review, I think the film was a great tool of bringing the attention of viewers to A.J. Munnings, a talented painter who is not widely known. While the biography of Munnings is worth discovering, the film, based on a book by Jonathan Smith, did not translate well into the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic Love Affair - Summer in February, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This doomed marriage in the bohemian art world at Lamorna in Cornwall is the moving true life story of the equine artist Alfred Munnings to his young and beautiful wife known as Blote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic story, beautifully filmed, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a beautifully filmed story about an artists' colony in Cornwall, set just before the outbreak of WWI. The cinematography is excellent, the music evocative and the love triangle is played out sensitively between Dominic Cooper, Emily Browning and Dan Stevens. Almost better on second viewing, well worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fabulous, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this film. Beautifully filmed in a fabulous county. The story based on true life was intriguing and fascinating. Will watch it many more times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming heartbreaker., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully crafted British film with stunning scenery matched by the stellar cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer in February [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very much liked. A tender well acted period piece 'showcasing' the spectacular coastal scenery of west Cornwall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer in February [DVD] [2013]
Summer in February [DVD] [2013] by Christopher Menaul (DVD - 2013)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews