Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A HARD DRIVE!
This is another great game from the series, though a bit different, as you are constantly online against other racers, where previous games you had to select multiplayer. It loses a star for the fact that it doesn't make it very obvious that you actually need a hard drive to play all of the game. Just a tiny icon and small print. The extra 1.6GB HD addition doesn't really...
Published 3 months ago by Conor Vale

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, frustrating and repetitive
There are some rather odd Amazon customer reviews for this game, so I thought I'd write my own; I have got the full 1000g (Xbox equivalent of a Playstation Platinum trophy) for this game, so I definitely have experienced all of what it (currently) has to offer.

Overview

The game is based on the Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit template, itself loosely...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. R. J. Browne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A HARD DRIVE!, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is another great game from the series, though a bit different, as you are constantly online against other racers, where previous games you had to select multiplayer. It loses a star for the fact that it doesn't make it very obvious that you actually need a hard drive to play all of the game. Just a tiny icon and small print. The extra 1.6GB HD addition doesn't really make a huge amount of difference either, compared to the last game. Disappointing when you have to spend out on a hard drive if you have the 4GB console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, frustrating and repetitive, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Browne (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There are some rather odd Amazon customer reviews for this game, so I thought I'd write my own; I have got the full 1000g (Xbox equivalent of a Playstation Platinum trophy) for this game, so I definitely have experienced all of what it (currently) has to offer.

Overview

The game is based on the Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit template, itself loosely based on that from the Burnout franchise. This means that you have both a Cop and Rival career mode, each with their own set of (real) cars and power-ups. Both careers have loose stories regarding how the Cops and the Rivals interact, with the fine line between Rival freedom and Cop law enforcement being at the centre of it.

The game takes place in an open-world map, which, unless you specify otherwise, can have up to 5 other real players who you can interact with at any time (they can be Cops chasing you when you're a Racer and vice versa).

Aside from free-roaming, where you can set the fastest speed camera and average speed camera times, as well as jump distances (all of which can be compared with your friends in-game so you can compete against them), and being able to bust Racers or escape the Cops at your leisure (both computer-controlled and player-controlled), the game also has many events dotted about the map.

The events available on the map differ depending on whether you're a Cop or a Racer. Cops have Hot Pursuits (where you have to stop a Racer street race); Rapid Response (where you have to reach a destination in under a specific time) and Interceptors (where you have to stop a specific Racer with no set route that the Racer follows). Racers have Races (a race), Time Trial (where you have to get to a destination in under a specific time), and Head-to-Heads (the same as a race, but with only one other Racer). In the race modes, Cops often join in to try to stop you.

You can be awarded a Gold, Silver or Bronze award for each event, depending on how well you do.

Cops have better cars, each of which has three different variants depending on how you wish to play being a Cop (although, in reality, it doesn't seem to make much difference), to cater for the fact that they are chasing the Racers - they would need to be faster to catch up. Each one also has its own unique special power-ups too - the Cops can call in helicopters as back-up, as well as deploy road blocks and spike strips, while the racers can use turbo boosts, radar jams (so Cops can't use power ups or use their on-screen map), and other more regular power-ups . You can upgrade these as you progress, but you can only choose 2 different ones at most for each outing (you can change your loadout by entering a Hideout/Command Post depending on whether you're a Racer/Cop). Entering one of these places also banks any points you have gained from the events you have taken part in.

Cops can "bust" Racers by destroying their cars or by penning in a Racer's car; Racers can only destroy Cops. Damage received and depleted power-ups can be repaired/replenished at Repair Shops located throughout the map.

While you can do what you want in the game, there is a career story mode to follow and complete. Each stage to a career is basically a list of things to do in order to progress, with three possible lists to choose from for each stage. They typically include completing a set of events, and achieving specific driving feats, such as driving at 200+mph for over 10 seconds and/or jumping a specific distance etc.

Verdict

Average, with better, cheaper, alternatives available

If you've played the Burnout games of old, particularly Burnout Paradise, this game just isn't as good. There is no online play similar to the challenges, and the events are not as fun or the controls as good. There are no Road Rage events, which is a huge disappointment. I'm not sure the game is even as good as Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, which came out a few years ago, although it is very similar.

Both of these games are available for the PS3/Xbox 360.

The list of tasks you have to complete for each Stage start off as exciting, but soon become repetitive. While you can turn it off, the interactions between other players online is a bit tedious, as their races or events can impact your own, which is very frustrating when you're trying to set a fast time or what not. It doesn't happen that often, but you can see how it could be an issue, especially if they're in the best cars and you're just starting out.

Other things that are a pain are also that some stages require you to amass a certain amount of points (gained by completing events etc) at a single sitting. This is frustrating if you get busted (by a Cop) or destroyed (by a Racer or anyone else), as your score then resets.

Also, while you can quick-start any event you wish, if your car is damaged or your power-ups low, you can't reset these unless you go to a repair shop - this will almost always need to be done prior to a race, so it makes quick-starting events almost pointless, as you can't fast-travel to a repair shop. This is really annoying when you just want to retry an event.

When you finish the career modes, you can go back to do all the other stages you didn't do (you pick a list of events/tasks to do out of three available for each stage, so you'll still have 2 thirds of the stages to complete once you finish the story mode for both Cop and Racer careers). But these are very boring by this stage, as you've already done it to death just by doing the 1 third of the game's stages. Frequently, the three stage options are exactly the same, but you still have to do each one to get 100% completion.

Also, if, after an event, you're still being chased by Cops (if you're a Racer), you can't just restart an event, and have to lose the Cops first - this is hugely frustrating, as the Cops can chase you for a while, and have a tendency to appear out of nowhere and spawn right behind you. They are also alerted to your presence by you triggering speed cameras, which you are bound to do while trying to escape them at speed. You have to either lose them or reach a Hideout (which would reset your points, so this option is ruled out if you're trying to gain so many points in one sitting in order to complete a stage).

Finally, the music, while being from real artists, is not very memorable at all, and you barely even notice it.

Not as good as Burnout Paradise, and arguably worse than Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit. This game is average, and gets repetitive very quickly. Online features disappoint, and the game can frustrate at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but quite inconsistant, 23 Dec 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've just completed the racer campaign (there is a cop one too), and I've enjoyed it but it can be quite inconsistent.
Sometimes you'll be driving and the car will be great, yet other times it just doesn't accelerate or you'll be going downhill with the trigger firmly pressed and you'll be lucky to get to 150mph (this keeps happening in my fully upgraded Ferrari Enzo and McLaren P1). Also the steering can go bad, I have just been playing (shortly before I wrote this) and I tapped the brake (not the handbrake) and my car did a 270 degree turn yet other times you'll be happy if it'll slow you down at all before you hit a barrier.
Another thing, sometimes you can hit a barrier at a good 180mph (if it lets you go that fast) and do a small amount of damage, whereas sometimes you can lighty tap one at about 30mph and the 30mph tap will total your car. I'm getting quite annoyed with it now to be honest...

As for the cop career, it's good that you unlock cars for free however you can't upgrade them which means you're stuck if you're trying to pursue a fully upgraded racer...

When the game works, it is a fun game however dob't be surprised if you get irritated quickly.

I just wish NFS would go back to how the games used to be. The old Most Wanted was great, and so was Carbon, but the newer ones (such as the new Most Wanted) are just not as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars nfs rivals, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
if you like nfs you will find it fun
personally I found it quite boaring as there wasent much to do apart from raceing and it got quite repetitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The boys love it, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The grandchildren had tried all local outlets to get this game as it was out of stock after Christmas, so I became an instant hint when I ordered it for them. Prompt delivery keeping them happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it works!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Arrived very promptly, it's an X box game for my son, what more can I say - he likes cars and he's 11 and he's happy with it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i recently bought this game after plating it with a friend, and instantly enjoyed the the thrill of racing on an open track. although repetetive, there is still insentive to return to upgrade cars, take part in a hot pursuit race, or challenge friends. i hope to see more cars added to the game, but am still very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Since I got the game I have barely played anything else. Lots of gameplay and online is great with friends too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its decent, however glitches need to be fixed, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Rubber banding is worse than HP. Textures/cars pop suddenly at speed...meh its still fun but if those were fixed would be even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360), 14 Jan 2014
By 
JEFF ROCKS (CITY OF CLEVELAND ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought for the older child but not my cup of tea but he likes it .
Need for speed has been around a long time now but it looks the same game just hyped up but the game was not for me anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360)
Need for Speed: Rivals (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews