Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Serpent of Venice
A gondola makes it ways to the bent-backed senator Brabantio's isolated mansion, where he waits with the brutish soldier Iago and the soft-handed merchant. The guest they await is Pocket, called Fortunato by the Venetian doge, but ambassador for the woman he had loved, Queen Cordelia who now lies dead at the hands of his enemies for their own purposes. Pocket is a Fool,...
Published 6 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my glass of wine
This doesn't quite work for me. It's a good premise - a mystery set in Venice, based around Shakespearian characters, but the story seems to go backwards and forwards, first person then third person for the same character; someone walled up and left to drown, then out in the street talking to someone, then back to being walled up. Perhaps it's me, but I just didn't get...
Published 21 days ago by Mr. D. R. Goodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Serpent of Venice, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice (Paperback)
A gondola makes it ways to the bent-backed senator Brabantio's isolated mansion, where he waits with the brutish soldier Iago and the soft-handed merchant. The guest they await is Pocket, called Fortunato by the Venetian doge, but ambassador for the woman he had loved, Queen Cordelia who now lies dead at the hands of his enemies for their own purposes. Pocket is a Fool, and thinks that they wish him to use his influence with the doge and the Moorish captain Othello to back a crusade - but what they want is revenge. Brabantio seeks to wall Pocket up and leave him to die, but the Fool seems to be difficult to kill.

This is a delightful and witty tale, worthy of any number of great bards and poets of the macabre. I'm sure Shakespeare and Poe wish they had written this book themselves. There's plenty of action, entwined with plenty of humour and laced with some toe-curling language and double entendres as we follow Pocket on his course of revenge and setting things right. Along the way we meet Othello's beloved Desdemona, Shylock and his daughter Jessica, Jeff the monkey, a lovesick sea serpent, a ghost, and many more hapless characters. And if you get confused or lose your place from laughing, there's always a helpful Chorus coming along to update you in ponderous rhyme on what's happening next. Underneath the humour and wordplay there's a seriously detailed and delightful narrative here; of love, revenge, war, shenanigans, stupidity, greed and justice. And it's all jolly good fun.

The story of Pocket before this story (yes, I know I'm reading them out of order) is covered in an earlier book, Fool which I intend to get hold of shortly and read with thoroughly deserved enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty, Outrageous, Clever, Christopher Moore, 22 April 2014
By 
Mandy Payne "Is it just me?" (Hollywood, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice (Hardcover)
As only Christopher Moore can, I was pulled in completely by another of his cleverly done meaningless stories. This book is pure entertainment and side splitting laugh out loud moments.

If you're already a Moore fan then, as long as you don't come into this one expecting another Lamb, you won't be disappointed. I would say this book is on par with some of his other better stories. Pocket, much like Mint E Fresh, is a character I am happy to see come back. This was definitely a fun, worthwhile read.

As you may have gathered from the product description, this book is a loosely woven tale of a couple of Shakespeare comedies and our old friend Pocket the fool. If you're at least vaguely familiar with Shakespeare, you'll greatly enjoy this book and, much like Sacre Bleu, you'll see the genius in the writing. If you're not, you don't need to take a college course on it -- you will still enjoy this book.

Maybe read the Cliff Notes on the Shakespeare works if you really don't want to feel like you're missing out.

I don't like reviews that read like book reports, so I won't tell you the story. That's for you to read and discover. Suffice it to say that, as far as Moore books go, I would rank this in the 80th percentile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Take On Shakespeare, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Camembaert (Northamptonshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
In this book Christopher Moore has mashed together two Shakespeare plays, The Merchant of Venice and Othello, in order to create a story that is all his own. Do not expect outcomes that fit with anything that Shakespeare envisaged. In passing he also makes reference to several other Shakespeare works and its quite good fun to try to spot them all.

The story is told from the point of view of Pocket, a Fool, who is probably based on the Fool in King Lear as it is made clear that he is supposedly married to one of Lear’s daughters, Cordelia. There is an attempt to kill him because he stands in the way of Iago and other ambitious men, he is rescued in strange circumstances and then sets out to exact revenge on his would be killers. It is difficult to say more without spoilers, so I won’t.

It’s a fun read and up to Moore’s best standards of writing. If you are a fan you won’t be disappointed and if you’re not then this may be enough to convert you. Not to be taken too seriously, just the stiff to read by the pool while on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not my glass of wine, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
This doesn't quite work for me. It's a good premise - a mystery set in Venice, based around Shakespearian characters, but the story seems to go backwards and forwards, first person then third person for the same character; someone walled up and left to drown, then out in the street talking to someone, then back to being walled up. Perhaps it's me, but I just didn't get the joke. In fairness, I only managed to read the first few chapters, before giving it up as not worth carrying on. Perhaps it made more sense, became more funny, the mystery unfolding, if I had read further, but I had read nothing that made me want to. Too many perhaps-es for me to want to continue reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow up to FOOL, 9 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice (Hardcover)
Excellent follow up to FOOL, Christopher Moore has done it again . This is a laugh out loud joy of a book , if your feeling down in the mouth purchase this book and enjoy the ride. the fool Pocket finds himself in Venice amongst a number of Shakespeares characters who plot and scheme their way through page after page of mirth. BUY THIS BOOK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant prose, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
As the Fool is so this is. Fabulous writing that is bold, original and amusing. In fact original is the most beguiling thing about this story. The fact that it both is and isn't! If you like Shakespeare and a bit of swearing then read on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moore strikes again!, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Christopher Moore always amuses me. This is no exception. Dare I say irreverently based on Shakespeare the mix of the bards stories and Moore's imaginative twists makes for a laugh a minute read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alas poor pocket, he is at it again., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
Irreverent, irascible, incorrigible, Christopher Moore has done it again with a wonderful reinvention of the works of Shakespeare. Good fun from start to finish and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket - The sequel, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
Albatross (Basingstoke,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice (Paperback)
Another brilliant book by Christopher Moore with many twists and turns, as you would expect.
The continuing story of Pocket the "FOOL" now let loose in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this book., 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent of Venice: A Novel (Kindle Edition)
A fast moving tale full of humour and fantasy. Some of Moore's books can occasionally drag a little but this one is non stop. Shakespearen plays with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Serpent of Venice: A Novel
The Serpent of Venice: A Novel by Christopher Moore
£4.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews