Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live concert to honour Kate McGarrigle
I've been a big fan of Kate and Anna McGarrigle since their first LP in the mid 70s (still one of my favourite albums) and since seeing them on their first tour of the UK. This 2-CD set features highlights from concerts in honour of Kate McGarrigle - who died of sarcoma a rare form of cancer in 2010 - by friends and family including Rufus and Martha Wainwright, Anna...
Published 18 months ago by G. E. Harrison

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably for fans only.
I really like Kate & Anna McGarrigle, as well as Rufus & Martha Wainwright, have several of their albums and have seen them all live (Rufus several times). For a live album, the sound quality is good and there's an impressive line up of guest performers including Emmylou Harris, Norah Jones and Teddy Thompson (also his mother Linda Thompson), however, these versions just...
Published 16 months ago by DaveM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live concert to honour Kate McGarrigle, 24 Jun 2013
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've been a big fan of Kate and Anna McGarrigle since their first LP in the mid 70s (still one of my favourite albums) and since seeing them on their first tour of the UK. This 2-CD set features highlights from concerts in honour of Kate McGarrigle - who died of sarcoma a rare form of cancer in 2010 - by friends and family including Rufus and Martha Wainwright, Anna McGarrigle, Emmylou Harris, Antony, Norah Jones and Teddy Thompson. The records were produced by Joe Boyd and the concerts were also filmed by Lian Lunson for a feature documentary.

Naturally there is strong emotional charge running through much of the music, which somehow manages to be joyful despite the wistful nature of many of the songs. There is also a nice looseness to the performances, many of which sound almost spontaneous and therefore much more genuine. I wasn't so sure that the ensemble pieces worked as well - I would have much preferred to have heard Norah Jones doing "Talk to me of Mendocino" solo - but you can't deny the drive and enthusiasm of the `mass bands' performing "Love over and over'. My own highlights were Jenni Muldaur and Teddy Thompson doing "Come back baby", Chaim Tannenbaum (from that debut record) doing "Travelling for Jesus" and Richard and Linda Thompson's very moving "Go leave" but I'm sure everyone will have their own favourites. I think that overall I would prefer to watch the concerts on video but this is certainly a nice way to remember a very talented performer and songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably for fans only., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like Kate & Anna McGarrigle, as well as Rufus & Martha Wainwright, have several of their albums and have seen them all live (Rufus several times). For a live album, the sound quality is good and there's an impressive line up of guest performers including Emmylou Harris, Norah Jones and Teddy Thompson (also his mother Linda Thompson), however, these versions just don't match up to the originals. There are some highlights such as Teddy Thompson's version of "Saratoga Summer" but, although I greatly admire Rufus' and Martha's own work, I feel that some of the material they've chosen from their mother's catalogue doesn't quite work. Even the version of "Proserpina" (which Martha does fantastically well on her latest album) falls flat, despite the crackly intro featuring Kate's voice and the best efforts of Rufus and Sloan Wainwright. Perhaps if they had taken the best from both CD's and released a single album, this would work better.

Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit raw but good all the same an interesting mix of songs some songs a lot better than others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One for the afficionados, 6 May 2014
By 
David R. Wood (Great Malvern) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't whether or not this album would be worth investing in. The answer is definitely yes! Whilst there are a couple of almost duds (no names), the rest of the two CDs are amazingly excellent. The packed ensemble of McGarrigles, Wainwrights and others played and sang their hearts out in tribute to the late great Kate McGarrigle. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spotlight on the under rated, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having long been a McGarrigle fan it's good to see and hear that other people remember her wonderful songs too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting record, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting reinterpretation of many of Kate McGarrigle's best known and best loved songs. The family do justice to her talented career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kate McGarrigle tribute, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is great for all those who love Kate's works. Family and friends sing the songs in their own style with their great affection for Kate coming through in the renditions. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some gems...., 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some beautiful heartfelt performances for example Antony(of Johnsons fame) and Richard and Linda Thompson spring to mind.
Excellent work by the siblings Rufus and Martha Wainwright but there are some fillers sprinkled throughout. Still worth buying though, good songwriter and some great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad. The various artists singing the Mcgarrigle sisters songs don't really match up, but nonetheless a pleasant CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CDs, 8 Sep 2013
These CD s are even better than expected. Remind me of concert evenings with rufus and co and only wish I could see this one live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews