Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!
I dont normally do reviews esp musical ones but I felt compelled to do one after listening to this amazing cd. I have to say I will be forever thankful to God for imbuing such like people with the talent they have for creating such amazing music. The lush rhythms and laid back vocals make for an exceptional listening experience that I am sure to relive as long as I am...
Published 10 months ago by Turner

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Summery Nirvana
'Paracosm' is the second studio album from Ernest Greene, better known as Washed Out.

'Paracosm' follows the unashamedly labelled chill-wave debut Within And Without. Produced once again by Ben H. Allen [Animal Collective, Deerhunter] the record progresses from the introspective seclusion of Washed Out's debut into an expansive pyschadelic trip.

It...
Published 12 months ago by Adam Finn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Summery Nirvana, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paracosm (Audio CD)
'Paracosm' is the second studio album from Ernest Greene, better known as Washed Out.

'Paracosm' follows the unashamedly labelled chill-wave debut Within And Without. Produced once again by Ben H. Allen [Animal Collective, Deerhunter] the record progresses from the introspective seclusion of Washed Out's debut into an expansive pyschadelic trip.

It does exactly what it says on the tin:

Washed Out - Greene's hazy lyrics are flushed around the reverb in an often indecipherable fashion. This is potentially not a problem as upon closer inspection the lyrics are often found wanting "Sun is coming out now / It all feels right" // Paracosm - "a prolonged fantasy world invented by children" - this album is a form of escapism with a transcendental 'Entrance' and an appropriate 'All Over Now' comedown.

Unfortunately whilst there is alot to appreciate for the heavenly bliss that is reached in these tracks it does reach this zenith all to quickly - perhaps a subtler progression may have benefited the record. It also becomes so blurry that if it wasn't for the cliche birdsong between tracks it would have otherwise been difficult to tell where one track ends and the other begins.

A lot has been made of this record's instrumentation and there is a very good reason for this. The broad sweeping array of tools used cascades this album far beyond the digital tightness of 'Within and Without' and into summery hallucinogenics reminiscent of early Cocteau Twins. Away from digital and into analogue; some of the live instrumentation is a delight.

The consequence of this is, whilst Greene maintains a familiar shoegaze identity, the music traverses out of the bedroom and into the summer sun evoking imagery of cabriolets cruising along the coast roads with the sun beating down. Think Instogram filters.

I can't help but prefer Tame Impala though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paracosm (Audio CD)
I dont normally do reviews esp musical ones but I felt compelled to do one after listening to this amazing cd. I have to say I will be forever thankful to God for imbuing such like people with the talent they have for creating such amazing music. The lush rhythms and laid back vocals make for an exceptional listening experience that I am sure to relive as long as I am alive. Quite why or how these guys haev not had the exposure they so obviously well deserve is beyond me. Instead we are bombarded with the plastic wannabess passing off their tripe as music. On the strength of this cd alone I am going to buy their other release!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Second Offering, 12 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Paracosm (Audio CD)
I was, and still am a huge fan of Ernest Greene, aka, Washed Out. This American started out a few years ago during the chillwave boom. His debut album, Within and Without, was great, and the follow-up Paracosm, is just as good.
Paracosm has a wider sphere of influences, but still still has that same, almost classically Wahed Out's sounds. The vocals, probably my favourite bit of his sound haven't changed. But the drums feel a little bit firmer to me, and the bass a little more pronounced.
There's a brief intro track called 'Entrance' that just slowly builds into the real opener that is also the lead single, 'It feels all right'. This is unmistakably Washed Out, but the bassline is more funky than anything that came before, and the percussion is laid back yet has a great feel to it. As usual the vocals are there, if not the easiest to pick apart. But that just adds to the sound as a whole.
The third track 'Don't Give Up' is another warm and fuzzy one. It's much more like the previous album. Synth's floating in and out. Similar vocals washing here and there. A gentle bass guiding it along. It feels effortless and fresh.
The fourth track 'Weightless' has a really warm feel to it. As does so much of this album. It's a great album. It feels a little bit more exotic than his previous works, which ties in with the fact that he's stated in interview that he wanted to broaden his sound.
This is as good an album as his first. I'm not entirely sure it'll age as well, or stand out as much, but it's still worth a listen. It's definitely above the competition, but perhaps the bar was already set too high from his debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paracosm (Audio CD)
Like it from track one.
The whole album blends perfectly from start to finish.
Sit down in front of your hi-fi and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More blissed out synth pop., 29 Sep 2013
By 
Kevin Williams "Kev" (Newport, S.Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paracosm (Audio CD)
A lot of reviews of this album seem less favourable than his first effort.
Fair enough, it struck me straight away that the album was less cohesive, but I stuck with it,
now love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. Sheila Watson "sheilawatson" (Newcastle,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paracosm (Audio CD)
This product was bought for a gift and the recipient was delighted with it, it also arrived in good time, and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paracosm [VINYL]
Paracosm [VINYL] by Washed Out (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews