Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD
A superb series. The scenes of Stromboli explosively erupting as Stewart's face lights up like a kid make good TV. Sitting on Stromboli, observing red lava exploding vertically, Stewart says "You don't want to be any nearer than this....... actually, I do".

It's the sort of programme that makes you want to visit Stromboli, and climb a few volcanoes. (I have...
Published 22 months ago by Mister G

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
well made documentary, interesting, but most of the information has been done before and better. the last episode, eurasia, was very skimpy regarding the majority ofthe area, lots of time spent on the movement of India and the raising of the himalyas, less on the movement of africa towards europe, nothing at all on the creation of the alps, urals, or indeed any...
Published 3 months ago by No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 1 July 2013
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
A superb series. The scenes of Stromboli explosively erupting as Stewart's face lights up like a kid make good TV. Sitting on Stromboli, observing red lava exploding vertically, Stewart says "You don't want to be any nearer than this....... actually, I do".

It's the sort of programme that makes you want to visit Stromboli, and climb a few volcanoes. (I have done so in Indonesia - I can recommend it).

The animations of tectonic plates moving are great. This may sound minor but all the programmes that I have seen to date have such animations stretching from the time of Pangea to the current day. This programme carries those animations on into the future. I had no idea that Australia will collide with China, for example. And where is Great Britain heading? Guess.

.
.
.
.
.

The Arctic. "Makes sense", quipped my wife.

My only gripe? That it isn't available on Blu Ray. I hope that they bring out a Blu Ray version in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prof Stewart Does It Again, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
Another fine documentary by the excellent Iain Stewart. This and all his previous documentaries are extremely interesting and informative and most importantly, in layman's terms. If ever you want a better understanding of your place in the universe and how you've got there, Iain's your man. Along with Sir David and Chris Packham (see his excellent series Secrets Of Our Living Planet), Iain Stewarts' love of his subject is obvious and infectious and all three should perhaps be made mandatory viewing in schools. There is something very slightly dodgy and unnecessary I find and its when he's about to go slightly more in depth into a particular subject. All of a sudden there's a mini dream like sequence where you can hear him mutter snippets of information. It's a bit odd and totally outside the feel of the programme. The producer has a new digital toy perhaps? That aside (and that's me being really picky) its another superb series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening, enthusiastic and... chilling perpsectives, 10 July 2013
By 
Myriam Ickx (Bousval, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
I just saw the complete series on BBC, and I have found very illuminating the animations describing the drifts of the continents to be from the original Pangaea. I also found very interesting the episode about Africa and the explanation of its tormented relief. The enthusiasm of Stewart swimming on the brim of the Victoria Falls was infectious! Like your reviewer Mister G, I had the opportunity to travel to Indonesia and climb 6 volcanoes, among which the Rinjani in Lombok. This was around 1991, and the pictures I took at the time show landscapes that no longer exist... What is chilling, but not to happen for the near future (!), is how the continents will eventually move back together again and form a new sort of Pangaea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
Just started learning Geology. This video has helped enormously. So many questions answered. Iain Stewart isn't at all patronising but imparts his enthusiasm very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great contribution to popualr earth science from Iain Stewart, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
Geology Professor Iain Stewart has become a bit of a TV celebrity with several series on earth science and physical geography. This latest series, now released on DVD by the BBC is a four part affair. The episodes look at Africa, Australia, the Americas and Eurasia and broadly revolve around the origin of the continents and the central role of Pangaea and continental drift. Stewart makes links all the time to the human-cultural significance and integrates the geological story with the human one. He certainly gets around a bit - cuddling Koala bears in Australia, grappling with alligators in America, poking around in a building site in New York City, down a mine in Bolivia but it all works well. There is some useful new material on the origin (initiation) of subduction - how plate tectonics started. This is an interesting series for an informed layperson and particularity so for the teacher of earth science - there is some useful clips here to show students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the continents, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the series on TV. I wanted a permanent record of it as it was so fascinating.
The was so much information I know I would need to play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The interesting history the Earth's continents, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen TV-programs similar to the ones on this DVD before. Probably on NatGeoTV. But I thought Iain Stewart's account – a new face, as far as I am concerned – did a very good job of reviewing everything science has been able to find out so far, about continental drift and its history, that goes back to the time when the Earth had but one continent – that we've all agreed to call "Pangea". But Pangea split into several pieces, and over the centuries the pieces drifted apart, until the geography looked like it does today. But the continental drift continues, and millions of years from now, the Earth's map will look very different from what it does today.

In particular, I liked how Iain – from Scotland I presume – related the various phases of geological history to the evolution of plants and animals, and how we've became what we are and how we are, due to these various geological stages, that have all left their traces in our build, our faculties and our abilities. A great set of documentary programs, and a great update on the latest geological knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Iain Stewart and the BBC, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best, if not the best Geology program ever shown on TV. After watching it on BBC, I absolutely had to buy the DVD to watch it again and again to my heart's content. Iain Stewart is a lovable (and lovely) Geologist showing us the secrets of Plate Tectonics with aplomb and derring-do. The connection between the evolution of the planet and all fauna and flora it contains is a refreshing approach to Geology programs and serves admirably to show the interconnection of all aspects of evolution and the respect we should have for our beautiful and irreplaceable planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Continents, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
This was not only educational but a very enjoyable series to watch. Iain Stewart's easy going style of presentation made the subject very interesting. And the documentary brings into perspective the great passage of time over which the continents have formed and are still doing so today. Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Rise of the Continents, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Continents [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliantly written, filmed and presented. Iain Stewart obviously loves his subject and puts it over well and in a way that we can all follow. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of the Continents [DVD]
Rise of the Continents [DVD] by Professor Iain Stewart (DVD - 2013)
£7.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews