Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Megapack winner
The team of editors who put these collections together hardly ever put a foot wrong from my perspective. The Time Travel book is a very welcome addition to the series. At these prices, the series is well and truly on my "best buy" list. If you are a SF fan and haven't tried these corrections, I urge you to do so.
Published 16 months ago by Bryan Neville-Lee

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection
A nicely balanced selection of stories by accomplished authors. I suspect that even Dr Stephen Hawking himself would enjoy these.
Published 15 months ago by MRS V A COOK and MR BERNARD COOK


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Megapack winner, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
The team of editors who put these collections together hardly ever put a foot wrong from my perspective. The Time Travel book is a very welcome addition to the series. At these prices, the series is well and truly on my "best buy" list. If you are a SF fan and haven't tried these corrections, I urge you to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value. Well written, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
The first story in this collection alone is more than worth the asking price of this collection. I would call it a short novel, I guess about 30,000 to 50,000 words. Nice, clear, easy reading, good plot, great stuff. Second story shorter but just as well written. I'm about to start on the third!

Recommended. Basically you are paying a tiny amount for the convenience of having stories of a type being compiled together (some might be free elsewhere but you'd have to search around for each one separately and they might not be Kindle-compatible!) So if you like time travel fics, you'll like these. Seriously good value!

Note: The title cover within the book appears to be wrong and does not match the title displayed here or in the Kindle Library view. Nice pic though and no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read for price, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating subject Time Travel with its what ifs. Here we have a mix of old and new stories some from before we had proper flight yet alone gone into space. Enjoyed the puns, reminded me of the humour of Asimov. However, Buck Rogers was not a 'time traveller' in that he was propelled through time by a device but arrived in the future after being in a coma or suspended animation for 500 years. Still his adventures are good considering the time in which they were written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bargain title, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
for the price this kindle book is good value, even if you have read some of the stories there is bound to be plenty of others out of the 25 that will be new to you . a good mix of old and new and a cheap way to try out authors fresh to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
This is a really enjoyable, well selected collection of stories from a wide range of writers and eras. The only reason It doesn't get five stars are the too numerous typing errors and the credits list bears only a passing resemblance to the contents with too many omissions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value collection, 25 July 2013
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
Another enticing offer from Wildside Press, again at a bargain basement price. The editor(s) has explored the whole gamut of time travel possibilities, from Buck Rogers' traditional shoot 'em up original ('Armageddon 2419 A.D.') to the opening, novella-length story ('Time Out') set in these times of austerity. Some warn of the unexpected consequences of time travel, some humorous, but some very dark. Bleakest of all is the story of a man doomed to live in a 'groundhog day' scenario, living the same hour of his life over and over again in an unending sequence ('12.01 P.M.'). 'Try, try, again' counters this with the prospect of time travel offering unlimited opportunities to get the future 'right' the next time round.

The jewel of the collection comes from Kornbluth, a talented writer who died young, in a cautionary tale of a man who uses 'time travel' to gull his victims, with an unexpected denouement ('Time Bum'). I enjoyed also Richard Lupoff's attempt to end H G Wells' Time Traveller's journey in an interesting, and highly appropriate way.

A good kindle version, spiced with Grendel Brianton's short-shorts, with one or two typos around the 29% mark. And no, there are no formatting errors in Nolan's 'Of Time and Texas'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stories are fantastic!, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
This has some of the best time travel stories I have ever read, both for imagination and internal consistency.

My only dislike was that some of the entries were half page joke culminating in a cheap pun. However, these only made up one or two half pages.

Would highly recommend to anyone.I would also recommend H Beam Piper as an author to anyone who enjoys these. His work is in the open domain but you can get them all in one place from anther mega pack, which is incidentally how I found this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mega no but very good., 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
Great collection of temporal tales both amusing and thoughtful. Will be seeking further stories by these authors based on this anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megapack brand - excellent selection of time travel shorts, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
Megapack selection - good to very good formatting / proofing on the Kindle.

I have to say I really do enjoy the Megapack brand.

I am sure many people have a totally reasonable down view of the editors selection of stories - I am very lucky and generally most if not all stories are entertaining. They may not always be - as in this case - time travel but they are great fun.

I do have an attention span issue and these collections work perfectly filling in gaps during the day and never bogging you in a huge epic.

Personally I think they are under rpiced, and therefore undervalued. Well worth the download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Paul Cook "Cookie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Travel Megapack: 26 Modern and Classic Science Fiction Stories (Kindle Edition)
You get 25 stories assembled into one ebook for 34p or so. Ignore any negative reviews and just think about what you are getting. Not every story will appeal to every reader, I'm over half way through and so all bar one have been fun to read. Yes, there are a couple of formatting errors but they're not bad. Basically, this compilation has introduced me to some new fiction I otherwise would not have come across, and that cannot be a bad thing. If you like Sci fi and the time travel genre, it's definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews