Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm a grandfather with a daughter who is expecting twins in the middle of the year and I thought that the book would be useful, especially as this is her first child (children) I had a read first before handing it over and these are our combined thoughts. There is lots of quality information taking in all aspects from expecting, to how to do it when they arrive. a lot of common sense but always nice to have that backed up by people who know. Everything was well explained with good diagrams, pretty essential. There are personal stories and experiences interspersed though out the book, most useful. And as an older father I learned a fair amount too, remembering that time has moved on and some of the ways are very different to when I brought up my two non twins..
We both highly recommend the book from cover to cover. Will help to give confidence and not hopefully leave the new mum floundering trying to sus everything out...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having previously read the singleton version of the 'Expecting a Baby?' reference book, I wasn't sure how much of this one would be the same.

Actually, there is very little repetitive content, with the exception of the dietary and excercise chapters, and this reference book is very well tailored to twin pregnancies.

It covers all the important information, from how a twin pregnancy is conceived, the different types of twin pregnancies, the increased risks of a twin pregnancies, screening options etc, and the delivery options, which are fewer than for a singleton pregnancy.

There are plenty of diagrams to illustrate the chapters and the book is very well written, with clear chapters so you can dip in and out of the book at different times during your pregnancy.

I read the hard backed version, which is good for reading in bed because the hard back stops it from bending, and it still looks like new even though it's been read and leafed-through. 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Obtained this book for God Daughter who is expecting twins. Family were thilled with it. So was I really.
Packed with colour photographs which are really helpful too.
To start with this is a well thought out and written book, the type face is clear, which always helps.
This book is packed with information mainly I am pleased to say for the 1st time mother and rest of family. Much of which would also suit a Mum expecting a single child. Then after the birth what and how to do look after the new baby (s). Everything is so well explained with good diagrams and those great photos too. There is of course much for the Mum and Dad to learn and this book is helpful for both parents. There are personal stories of life with two new born's in the home as well which helps loads.
Overall this is an excellent book. Written in a relaxed style which helps calm everyone - so important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This One Born Every Minute guide is an interesting reference book for anyone considering or pregnant with twins. Until recently, it was difficult to find books on the subject and information was be limited to single births, so to discover this helpful and detailed guide was great. The book covers all the essential topics in the right amount of detail, from pregnancy and birth to baby care, with personal stories, tips, baby development guides and information about every stage of pregnancy and delivery. Towards the back, there’s a large section of information on managing at home after birth for the first year, which is essential reading for new mums in particular, with health, safety and childcare advice from the experts. Expecting Twins? presents a lovely balance between emotional and practical advice on coping with twins and I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am rather partial to a TV series book - How clean is your house the book, GIllian MCkeith the book, What not to wear the book - they've decorated my shelves before making their way to the charity shop.

This, however, is a different league! A genuinely informative and helpful book. Rather than anecdotal references, it gives really useful testimonies/insights from twin parents - and the photographs are lovely.

I have passed this book on to a friend who is a second time mum expecting twins. She found it very helpful although did comment that a few more tips on caring for your twins might have been useful. Whilst it does go on from pregnancy/birth to caring for our babies, it is definitely weighted towards the former.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the twins version of this book, and like the 'normal' version is beautifully presented and not like your usual TV cash-in (i.e. the countless gardening / DIY books released each christmas). This follows all the main areas of pregnancy and childbirth with simple, non-jargon writing and clear charts and diagrams. It has a similar feel to the TV show, but goes in to a lot more depth. Considering how much conflicting information is available today (thanks to the internet), it's great to have a modern, authoritative guide to dip in to which is also easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
i picked this up for a family friend who is expecting twins, very early days if i am honest but thats the beauty of this book as you hand it out when the days are early enough but safe enough i suppose. Much like the publishers earlier book on expecting one child this is packed to the rafters with good advice, things to expect , pictures, techniques, the whole thing really. One thing i would add with regards to milestones and things like that, dont take it to heart if something doesnt add up on that given date, outside of that this is excellent, cant fault it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
What a wonderful book. I actually ordered this for a friend's daughter but having looked through it I ended up wishing that there had been a book as good as this available over 30 years ago. The content is easily digested. It's very well written in straightforward prose (there's no fear of feeling abandoned amongst a plethora of impenetrable medical terms and poor prose). There are plenty of illustrations - many extremely informative (such as the development of the baby inside the womb). This is a book that expects to be used. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A reference style, beautifully presented book which is packed with information from very knowledgeable sources.

It provides lots of information on the actual pregnancy itself , beautiful photographs and multiple diagrams to explain each step of the way.

What is really special about this book is that it carries on through the first year – and its also has personal stories from those who have already gone down this path!

I think this book would be invaluable for anyone in this situation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
The book itself is informative, however the display for Kindle is not great, I was dissapointed that it appeared that the book's pages had jus tbeen shrunk to fit in a Kindle Window, meaning that some of text is difficult to read and cannot be adjusted to suit your sight/reading needs. For £15.99 I would have expected that this was more optimised for Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)