Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Thoroughly enjoyed this book and have just downloaded the sequel. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery with a bit of supernatural mixed in.
Published 13 months ago by susie q

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ITS OKAY
I liked the story it has a good basic plot The thing I didn't like about it was the ridiculous end. Therefore three stars.
Published 8 months ago by hazel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book and have just downloaded the sequel. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery with a bit of supernatural mixed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars new fave author, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The author has a real gift for story telling, that much was clear in the first page. The story however was slow to start i felt and rather dull. I have to say that i have read loads of this kind of genre lately, (with it being my fave), and all have let me down, so i apologise for being a bit down on this. I would read something again by this author just not in this genre,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
loved it a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Read six chapters or so, but it put me to sleep., 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The setting feels badly researched, and the research the author has done is shoehorned in with such a lack of subtlety it's laughable. She knows about the Women's Property Act, basically, and nothing else. In general, subtlety is a great failing.
The characters are cliched, the setting even more so, and the writing is very, very stilted and bland: she may understand the concept of showing, not telling, but apparently doesn't know how to apply it just yet. The first person perspective may have been a bad choice, because it allows her to simply state how the main character feels, rather than having to show it through action and dialogue.
The plot itself? Well... I think she's going for a sort of modern Gothic, with the gloomy old haunted house, the grieving widow and the "shocking" tragedy that takes place before the story begins, but it just... feels like writing by numbers. No effort goes into making it original or unusual. Gothic is about terror and horror, and from what I read, this story contains neither. I said the writing was bland. Actually, it might just be that the whole thing's bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ITS OKAY, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the story it has a good basic plot The thing I didn't like about it was the ridiculous end. Therefore three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Spirited Manor, 20 Jun. 2014
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I dont normally read this genre. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Loved the main character, loved the storyline. Well written. Looking forward to the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not good...don't bother, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Terrible dialogue, stereotypical characters, uninspired storyline. A bit cringeworthy...perhaps a bit more research of the era it's set in would be beneficial? Unfortunately I wouldn't read any more in the series even if they are free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual ghost story, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Wendy (stratford upon avon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, kept me glued till the end. Loved the character's too. What an unusual ending. Looking forward to reading the next book. If u like ghosts and demons you'll like this book. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!!, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Started off very genteel. The characters were brilliantly described and believable. But the mounting climax of the book had me both frightened but willing myself to read on!! I enjoyed this book even if it did frighten me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A spirited manor, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Spirited Manor (O'Hare House Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic ghost story ,I love ghost story's this was fantastic , just could not put this book Down ,five stars for this book well deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews