Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years on and it still shines through as a true classic!
The eighties were know as a decade of misfires for the academy awards. They were under constant scrutiny for apparently awarding lesser, or as Tarantino put it, "coffee table fun" films and blatantly ignoring the more radical, art-house genre. Terms of Endearment was one of those such film criticised. Sure, it is a quirky, shifty, funny/serious kind of film. There pre and...
Published on 11 Aug 2003 by Dr D J Corvin

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tear jerker that bored me to tears.
This film has a fantastic cast and there are some fine individual performances. Jack Nicholson is his usual, charming self and Debra Winger is radiant. Shirley MacLaine overacts horribly in places. The tale of an over bearing mother and a independent daughter, this movie is known as a classic tear jerker. The subject matter can't help but move you but the film itself...
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by Camilla Macaulay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years on and it still shines through as a true classic!, 11 Aug 2003
By 
Dr D J Corvin (Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The eighties were know as a decade of misfires for the academy awards. They were under constant scrutiny for apparently awarding lesser, or as Tarantino put it, "coffee table fun" films and blatantly ignoring the more radical, art-house genre. Terms of Endearment was one of those such film criticised. Sure, it is a quirky, shifty, funny/serious kind of film. There pre and post this film there have been many others of similar genre. But Terms of Endearment is different, special in a way. It can really grow on you. You care about the characters, you share their ups and downs, feel their love and pain. You live the endearments. Brooks manages to get the very best out of his wonderful cast, and though he could have made it a soppy love story between mother and daughter, he shot Endearment with careful subtlety that makes it evolve into a real life story rather than a Hollywood story, mirroring the beautiful words of Larry McMurtry. Because there is no sugar coating and Hollywood in this film the emotions are raw, passion flaring. Terms of Endearment remain a true undisputed American classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Boys Don't Cry, 16 May 2005
I am about to replace my VHS copy of this film with the DVD. I was spellbound by the performances given by Shirley MacLaine, Debra Winger, Jack Nicolson and Jeff Daniels.
No doubt written off by many as nothing more than a 'chick flick', this fascinating tale of the complex love/hate mother/daughter relationship is so beautifully written and performed, that it has to be regarded as a classic.
I watched this film with my eldest son back in 1996. He was 23 at the time, and in the Royal Navy. A true hard-hitting, roughie-toughie, seen-it-all hardnut (or so he thought). The real acting for us came during the scene where Teddy (Huckleberry Fox) visits his mother in hospital. Just as the tears rolled down young Huckleberry's face, so they were running down mine. My big, strong, you-can't-touch-me son, meanwhile, was busy clearing the lump in his throat and struggling very hard not to let me see his own tears.
That's when you know you're watching a very special piece of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad but true, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terms Of Endearment [DVD] (DVD)
Great chemistry between lead characters however tragic the real part of the story is. Great humour and joy amidst sad truths in the tale.
Not for me really but bought for a male friend who loves this film! Would recommend to people who like a spark in relationships between people and like to have a story which helps you to notice what attracts you to others in life. Aswell as dealing with problems which is sad but in this film its not all bad due to the lead characters and their chemistry throughout which makes it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Wendy Reid (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie. If my child was in pain and lazy nurses preferred to stick to protocol I too would scream and stamp my foot as Aurora did...brilliant scene. Emma's death scene is the most devastating and moving few minutes you will see on film. Beautifully acted and directed by all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie I strongly recommend it to everyone!, 23 July 2013
I watch it everytime I need a good fashioned weep!! I just cant help it!
AMAZING cast and BRILLIANT acting. Shirley of course ... I cant really say anything... She is a true brill!! Not to mention Mr Nicholson!!
But Debra Winger. What and underestimated actress! I dont know why she disappeared from films. I find her talented and good!
And Jeff Bridges. I think the reason why I cant forgive him for dooing Dumb and Dumber is because of this movie. HE has soo much potential! He is great and he should take serious roles like this!

(I didnt like the second part tho.) But this movie is perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weepy, 7 Sep 2011
By 
I. Craft (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want subtle - don't bother. If you want major performances that stand the test of time - don't look here. If you want a story that provides great insights into human existence - look elsewhere.
But if you want a solid, straightforward tear-jerker with some excellent performances (especially from the inestimable Debra Winger) buy this film immediately. It is fun. It is heart-warming. It is a damn good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tear jerker that bored me to tears., 25 Jun 2011
This film has a fantastic cast and there are some fine individual performances. Jack Nicholson is his usual, charming self and Debra Winger is radiant. Shirley MacLaine overacts horribly in places. The tale of an over bearing mother and a independent daughter, this movie is known as a classic tear jerker. The subject matter can't help but move you but the film itself seems to go on for ever. The daughter, Emma, gets married to an academic who bears the strange name of "Flap". Flap turns out to be a philanderer and the women who work at his college don't seem to worry about having affairs with a married man. He is more concerned with his latest conquest than raising his children. Aurora, Emma's mother, lives next door to a retired astronaut played by Nicholson. Their romance brings some much needed humour to the film. Debra Winger is great as the fiesty Emma but the whole film just turns to mush at the maudlin ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing acting and a very real story, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film I will watch to again, again and again. It will never become too old. The story is so moving and real and the actors are just amazing. You totally forget that this is just a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating story, 17 May 2014
This is a classic film from the 1980s, although I had never seen it before. It stars Shirley MacLaine as Aurora, an over-protective mother who is widowed at a young age. Her daughter Emma is very close to her, but needs to become independent – and at times they drive each other wild. The film spans three decades of their relationship, showing their very different personalities and responses to people.

I found myself completely captivated by the story; it was beautifully done, with some amusing caricatured moments and some deeply emotional times too. Excellent in showing how people show their love in such different ways, and how – in the end – nobody can protect their offspring forever.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terms of Endearment, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received in excellent order so thank you very much for a very good DVD that takes you back to the good times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terms of Endearment [Blu-ray] [1983] [Region Free]
Terms of Endearment [Blu-ray] [1983] [Region Free] by James L. Brooks (Blu-ray - 2013)
7.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews