Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Peace
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2013
Having always been a massive fan of the Palm Desert rock scene I eagerly anticipated the return of Kyuss in their current incarnation & I wasn't disappointed. These guys have still got it & they've returned with an album displaying all the hallmarks of fantastic stoner rock. Garcia is still a great frontman & Brant Bjork - amazing on drums. I went to see them at Rock City & because of the small audience (as I understand it) they had to downgrade to a smaller venue! This sums up Kyuss/Vista perfectly: an INCREDIBLE band completely unappreciated in their own time! I rated this gig way over QOTSA 2013 @ Wembley & I can't wait for their next album. If you're a desert/stoner rocker then buy this album; I promise it won't leave your player for ages & you can be one of the chosen few to tap into a sound the rest of the world is too stupid to appreciate!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
My quick review of PEACE by Vista Chino;
it is incredible that in 2013 we are ALLOWED to have such great, anthemic albums.
After the band was banned from existing as Kyuss (seriously Josh Homme), and Nick Olivieri left, I thought we would have another wavering Garcia project.
Good news for Kyuss fans is that this is better - actually it is a logical progression and where Kyuss would have been now had it never ceased to exist - best case scenario.
Whatever happened in the meantime, this is a total triumph.
What is the last time you have had goosebumps while smiling? Almost reads as a diagnosis for the affective inversion, but intro to Planets is shamelessly borrowing from Green Machine in the opening riff, only to dump you down the Arizona-deep abyss of much-emulated but never quite achieved goodness of Kyuss stonerism.
2 minutes into the track, you will have forgotten all about the Green Machine and will have been transported into the Garcia/Bjork universe.
It is almost incredible how a single guitarist (with many overdubs) lends clarity to what is still superbly, if not even more trippy soundscape.
To the stoner rock fans, the previous works were already impeccable, but Peace brings another level of clarity, stability and feels like the band is united on a mission.
There is probably no better recommendation for a stoner album than the fact that the listener loses any and all sense of time - not just the grasp of the passage of time but the entire 4th dimension. And I have not lit up in at least 15 years.
The "humble" guitar/amp combo without any bells and whistles still has so much to offer - the Belgian newcomer guitarist Bruno Fevery has obviously spent his life studying this sound in great detail, and offers his clear classical influence on "Acidize", only to seamlessly and deliciously thrust us back down that desert rabbit hole.
He is by far (for me) the best ever stoner rock guitarist on a recording.
Maybe the fact that he is the only one helps in bringing some of that clarity, but there is no denying he dominates what is through and through a doctorate in guitar based rock recording.
It is the first time ever that I feel Garcia and Bjork are better off not using the Kyuss name.
This is seriously a better record for 2013 than I feel Kyuss could have made if they still existed.
I was never much the one to snub Garcias works, and both Unida and Hermano were sadly underrated, great bands.
I like Vista Chino (sic) a lot. If you like rock, I seriously doubt you will find anything better to put on your turntable this year.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Well worth purchasing if you are a fan of Kyuss, this seems to be where they continue. Some top notch tunes and Garcia's voice sounds great, the guitar sounds like Sky Valley/Circus Leaves Town era - fuzzy and rocking, but with some original touches and not just blindly following the Kyuss blueprint. Bjork's drums are great too and there is of course the nice low end. Well worth a listen
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
This album is up there with the best stoner rock/metal offerings of all time. John Garcia is a genius. Gambling Moose is reminiscent of early Robert Plant. The guitar work on the final bonus track is sensational. If you are looking to get into this genre this is the album for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Now this album is an exceptional piece of work!!! From start to finish the vocals, drumming and guitar are all monumental!!! If you are a lover of rock music and looking for something fresh, different & very much unique then this album and this group provide all of the above! John Garcia & Co surely have pulled the rabbit out the hat on this album. My only regret is that I was I had discovered this album sooner and now hoping and praying that Vista Chino reform so they can again enrich us with their musical talents?!?! Sheer brilliance and in a class of their own!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Can't stop listening to it! It has an amazing feel, a relaxed still intriguing atmosphere. Every time I listen to a tiny detail at some song that I missed before. Highlights of the album: Planets, Adara, Acidize
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Really great album, everything you would exspect from the former kyuss memebers anyone who was a fan of kyuss in the
day should buy this album.. because they are BACK
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Which is to be expected, a pretty good effort that requires a couple of listens to fully appreciate it. Live they will be killer of course
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
If you are a fan of Kyuss you will enjoy more of the same! Only wish I had heard it earlier and gone to see the tour!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Ok, it sounds like Kyuss and it grooves like Kyuss but is it Kyuss? No, it is Vista Chino, but it is the closest you're ever going to get unless Josh Homme joins the band. The band performance throughout is great, Garcia is particularly on fire, the best thing he's done since Dare I Say... and Bruno has got that Homme 'Spaceship Landing' vibe down to a T but with a Jazzy feel on the quiter moments which makes it his own, nice! Brant seems to be relying more on his swing than his thunder as he's aged, which is also a welcome addition to the mix. Why not 5 stars then? Well, the drums are too high in the mix and Nick's bass is too low, which is probably down to Brant being the producer. Also, the fact that most of the music is written by Brant & Bruno, means that a couple of the songs have main riffs that are easily interchangeable. Thus it is a shame that Nick didn't input more on the writing, as let's face it, QOTSA have never recovered from him being thrown out of the band. Production wise it sits somewhere between Wretch and Blues... but without the Chris Goss fairy dust sprinkled on the top which gave the latter more of an edge than the former. On the whole though, there are at least 6 classics on here and it will be a killer live. Shame Nick ain't doing the tour, but Mike Dean is a more than adequate replacement. Looking forward to the next album with Chris Goss producing, Nick back in the fold and a bit more variation on the song writing. N.B. Thankfully it hasn't got Elton John on it either, what was Josh Homme thinking!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.