Customer Reviews


4,339 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,173)
4 star:
 (692)
3 star:
 (161)
2 star:
 (79)
1 star:
 (234)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


369 of 387 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value memory
Before getting to the actual memory card, I'd first like to mention two things I like:

1. It comes with the MicroSD adapter - something I find very useful.
MicroSD is almost *the* standard for mobile phones (with even stubborn manufacturers like Sony Ericsson slowly ditching their proprietary formats in favor of this) but the problem is, a lot of larger...
Published on 4 April 2010 by GizmoGeek

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... holder for both the card and adapter which is nice. The frustration-free packaging really is frustration-free
Comes with an adapter and plastic holder for both the card and adapter which is nice. The frustration-free packaging really is frustration-free. However it failed after (slightly less than) 3 weeks of use, making the nice packaging and extras completely moot. Managed to recover most of the files but the card won't mount any more either in the phone or in windows. It was...
Published 5 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 2434 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

369 of 387 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value memory, 4 April 2010
By 
GizmoGeek (Hounslow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before getting to the actual memory card, I'd first like to mention two things I like:

1. It comes with the MicroSD adapter - something I find very useful.
MicroSD is almost *the* standard for mobile phones (with even stubborn manufacturers like Sony Ericsson slowly ditching their proprietary formats in favor of this) but the problem is, a lot of larger products (like cameras and laptops for instance) take only the standard SD card.
Here, it is advantageous to have the adapter because all you have to do is plug the card in your adapter and you're ready to transfer your pix/files from your phone to your laptop and vice versa.

2. The packaging won't injure you.
Quite frankly, I'm sick and tired of those horrible plastic-clamshell packaging which takes a knife and two steady hands to cut open; fortunately, this card ships in a neat cardboard cover which surrounds a re-sealable plastic 'case' that can also double as a storage case in case you need it (although wasn't probably intended for that purpose).

Getting to the actual card, I found the card reasonably fast with okay read and write speeds; this is most likely attributed to the "Class 4" speeds it carries, but to be honest I'm not too sure what that means for the average joe (who's probably only going to use this on their phone or whatever)

The only (small) complaint I have is that its a tad bit difficult to pull the memory card out of the adapter, but then that's hardly a complaint considering the performance and the price, so I gladly give this five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


261 of 284 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to check its a genuine card, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Charles (Europe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are far too many fakes about and its essential you test your card on receipt, some fakes will pass some of the test programmes, so test with ChkFlsh, Crystal Disk Mark & especially H2testW. H2testW tests the full capacity of the card, so will catch any using aliasing to fake larger than real capacity. A card with full capacity but high error rate/slow write speed indicates a 'ghost run' fake.

I`ve added images to the product gallery to assist in visually identifying genuine & fake cards.

Good results:
A 32GB card should have a formatted capacity of around 30GB, format in FAT/FAT32 only (NTFS shortens life of flash media & wont improve performance)
A class 4 card must have a write speed of 4MB/s minimum (large files) the first result in Crystal Disk Mark should indicate that.
Read speeds should be over 12MB/s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... holder for both the card and adapter which is nice. The frustration-free packaging really is frustration-free, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology Micro SDHC 32GB Memory Card - Frustration Free Packaging (Accessory)
Comes with an adapter and plastic holder for both the card and adapter which is nice. The frustration-free packaging really is frustration-free. However it failed after (slightly less than) 3 weeks of use, making the nice packaging and extras completely moot. Managed to recover most of the files but the card won't mount any more either in the phone or in windows. It was securely inside a phone for the entire duration making physical damage impossible. If it worked I would have given it 5 stars, although I'm still giving it a very generous 2 because of great job they did with the packaging.

Since it contains photos etc (however badly corrupted by now), I guess I won't be returning it. At least it was a cheap item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this over the SanDisk, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
N. Ryall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought three SanDisk equivalents and then bought three of these. Don't bother with SanDisk, these are twice the speed for the same money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garbage read/write speed on the HTC Desire, 21 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive just purchased this card due to all the hype its been given and some of the reviews indicating that you can transfer 10.8gb of data to it in 27m 59s and another guy that mentioned a read speed of 15 MB/s and write speed of 5-6 MB/s.

In reality the speeds are garbage. It took me almost 2 hours to transfer just short of 16gb of mixed size data, ranging from a few kb to a few hundred MB using a high speed memory card reader plugged into a USB 2.0 compatible port...it took the same time as having the card plugged into the phone, acting as a glorified card reader. The card was formatted with a cluster size of 32k and actual formatted size was 14.8gb

With all the benchmarking tools ive used it also gets awful marks when compared to my previous Duracell class 2, 16gb micro sdhc card. The Duracell branded one is an unsung hero. I can get write speeds of 6mb/s and read speeds of 15mb/s with that.

Using the "AnTutu System Review" app it shows a SD Card Write speed of 2.6 to 3.6MB/S and SD Card Read Speed of 8.9 to 9.1 MB/s, with the CPU running at 998mhz. Nothing is reading or writing to the card when im running the tests, its performance is unfortunately garbage. I get even poorer results when im running the CPU slightly underclocked at 844mhz, which isnt exactly slow for a mobile phone ffs. This didnt used to be an issue at all with my Panasonic card. My Panasonic card used to get a result of 13 MB/s read speed and 6 MB/s write speed, not too shabby to say that its only a class 2 card...

Using the "SD Card Speed Test" app (also known as just "Sst") it gets the following results:

Files of 1MB in size - Write Speed - 3MB/s and Reading Speed 8MB/s, measures as a class 2 card.
Files of 2MB in size - Write Speed - 3MB/s and Reading Speed 10MB/s, measures as a class 2 card.
Files of 3MB in size - Write Speed - 2MB/s and Reading Speed 10MB/s, measures as a class 2 card.
Files of 4MB in size - Write Speed - 3MB/s and Reading Speed 9MB/s, measures as a class 2 card.
Files of 5MB in size - Write Speed - 3MB/s and Reading Speed 10MB/s, measures as a class 2 card.
Files of 10MB in size - Write Speed - 2MB/s and Reading Speed 10MB/s, measures as a class 2 card.

So yeah as you can see, the card is complete garbage when it comes to writing data and its not particularly good for reading it either. If you have some apps installed on the phone like i do then its just going to make your phone laaaaaaaaaaaaag. Ive now got the dilema of sticking with this crap or backing up the conents of the card and putting it all back on my more than great class 2 Panasonic card.

Save yourself [], have a look for the 16gb class 2 panasonic card or try something else. ont get anything higher than a class 6 card if you have a HTC Desire because the phone cant cope with them and it often ends up going into a boot loop, moaning about "SD Removed".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed after 1 week - unlucky I guess, 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phone stopped recognising it after a week. Did not seem to work properly before that as read speeds were pretty slow. Reformatted it and it worked for an hour or so and then phone stopped seeing it again.

Ordering Sandisk one now, but I'm sure they're of equivalent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product and value, 1 Dec. 2010
Cautious to find the fastest, biggest microSD for reasonable money, this Class 4 Kingston chip is brilliant value for money and works superbly in my HTC Desire. Adapter was sent for the larger format SD also which was a bonus. And still not seen anything for better value since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the fastest card, but the price is hard to argue with, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is a fairly attractive low cost micro SD card, you do get a bundled adapter so you can also use it as a normal SD card if you wish.

Class 4 cards are not hugely fast but need to have a min write speed of 4MB/s, testing the Kingston I got just over 5MB/s write speed and about 17MB/s read speed (results may vary depending on card reader) That's about in line with the requirements.

It's not a card I would suggest if you are doing HD video recording either on cameras or camcorders. But for normal day to day use, tablets and mobile phones it's good enough for those uses. I've a few of these around and I can say I've not had any issues with Kingston cards to date, they have been reliable enough.

Folks looking for more speed should look at the class 10 cards, like the Sandisk which is quite a bit quicker, but does cost more

If you don't need a super fast card and just want decent storage capacity, then this card offers excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Sept. 2009
By 
Skscrowther (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this SD card for my phone as it has very little memory. This card has enabled me to download an enormous amount of music to listen to on the go. well worth the money :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars doesn't work. loses data., 6 Jan. 2012
Using this product with an android phone. Copying files (music/ photo) from pc over to the memory card appears to work fine, until you look on the phone to find that 80% of the files haven't copied after all. Frustrating after the 1st time; infuriating after the 2nd; $^&^&!&"£ after the 3rd, particularly when, by that stage, you've resorted to copying small batches of files at a time, rather than copying them all in one batch.... plugging the card directly into the pc (rather than copying to it whilst in situ in the phone) makes no difference, i.e. it's the card, not the phone. Also doesn't accept file downloads over wifi/ 3G/4G, so podcasts, email attachments don't run. reformatted the card, started from scratch; same problems. have had kingston SD (not micro SD) cards before, with no problems. Didn't believe that this kind of device could be defective. Hope i've just been unlucky, but with no response from the marketplace seller, i'm unable to say whether replacement one has the same problem. Still, at least it fits...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2434 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews