Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read! If you like your thrillers offbeat, tightly plotted, with a touch of macabre humour, then try this.
A tightly plotted, offbeat, dark, quirky thriller with psychologically well-rounded characters. I found it absolutely gripping, hugely enjoyable, genuinely exciting, and very difficult to put down; and when I did, reluctantly, have to put it down, I couldn't wait to get back to it. Yes, it did feel a touch overwritten at times, and there were times when I felt the writing...
Published 11 months ago by Whitestripe71

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Graves Full
A macabre but amusing and clever book, but rather too wordy for most tastes. It was however worth persevering to the end.
Published 14 months ago by robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read! If you like your thrillers offbeat, tightly plotted, with a touch of macabre humour, then try this., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Kindle Edition)
A tightly plotted, offbeat, dark, quirky thriller with psychologically well-rounded characters. I found it absolutely gripping, hugely enjoyable, genuinely exciting, and very difficult to put down; and when I did, reluctantly, have to put it down, I couldn't wait to get back to it. Yes, it did feel a touch overwritten at times, and there were times when I felt the writing could have been a little crisper and cleaner: there were some convoluted sentence constructions that I had to read back several times before I understood what was being expressed - but this never really detracted from my enjoyment of the novel, and overall I think the quality of the writing is very good. I'd much rather a book that aims high but is flawed, rather than one that aims low and gets everything right. This is a book with sparkle and fizz, with an undercurrent of macabre humour, and I never knew where the story was heading next. I particularly liked Mason's characterisation, and how every character in the book felt like a real, three-dimensional, flawed human being (or, in one case, dog), and it's the combination of the tight, exciting, frequently surprising plot, with the well-drawn and often morally ambiguous characters, that made this such a cracking and enjoyable read. I loved it, and whatever Jamie Mason writes next, I'll be sure to be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Graves Full, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Kindle Edition)
A macabre but amusing and clever book, but rather too wordy for most tastes. It was however worth persevering to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, clever and twisty, 23 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Paperback)
Jason is a bit of a loner who has a big secret - a year ago he killed a man and buried him in his backyard. Haunted by what he did, Jason finds it difficult to touch his gardening tools but knows that his overgrown front yard is drawing attention to him and his property. He hires a contractor to sort out his front yard but is shocked when the work uncovers a body buried there and then the police find a second. Terrified that they will find the other body, the one he is responsible for, he decides to dig it up and move it.

This story is almost impossible to précis because at each stage there is a twist which leads it further in black comedy or even farce. Yet, at its heart, this is a detective story.

The characters are brilliant and surprising, there are no heroes or villains in the main, just a group of people who make choices that seem logical at the time to them (and that includes the dog!). The writing is fizzy and story bounces along, it is a brilliant debut novel and I look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, wacky and fun, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Paperback)
Absolutely terrific writing, off the wall plot, a highly original new voice. A real prose fest and page turner. Refreshingly un-PC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining Read., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Kindle Edition)
Great idea for a story. Widower Jason Getty whose life is a bit of a mess get a huge surprise. Not so much that builders have discovered a body buried in his garden, but that it is not the one that he buried there.... Whilst murder Detective Bayard attempts to work out what is odd about his investigation of the body, Leah the girl friend of the victim struggles to understand what happened to her partner, and Jason tries to prevent his crime being uncovered. Told through a number of parallel threads the story becomes clear with some great lines and some humour, and it all comes together in a satisfactory conclusion. Perhaps a bit dark in places and it jumps around a bit occasionally, but I found it a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars you are totally bored. It could have a third of the pages ..., 4 Sep 2014
By 
J. Webb "ilovebooks" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Paperback)
Fallen into the trap of most writers and their first book, trying to hard! By the time you have worked out exactly what she is trying to say among all the description, you are totally bored. It could have a third of the pages if all this had been cut out and probably could have been a really good book. However put it down after third of the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Paperback)
A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book To Die For!, 7 July 2014
By 
Mr. John Frank Herbert (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Paperback)
When Jason Getty kills a man and buries the dead body in his garden the last thing he expects is his
gardeners digging up another two bodies.

Such is the beginnings of this stunning debut by Jamie Mason.

Straightaway the reader is gripped by Getty’s nervous tension as he tries to cope with this discovery, plus
the fear of his own victim being uprooted, and trying to handle the police investigation as it intensifies.

With the characters so well drawn, and the action described from all quarters, combined with the wonder
of where it’s all leading, this is simply unputdownable from beginning to end.

As an added bonus the author has described the proceedings throughout with a poetic turn of phrase, which
sometimes slows you down a mite so that you can fully grasp the situation, but nonetheless leaves you with
almost a feeling of reading a work of art rather than an ordinary novel.
Absolutely sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Black comedy crime novel that doesn't really work, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Paperback)
Jason Getty has a body buried in his garden, having killed a man he wished he’d never met in a rare moment of unbridled rage. A lonely, socially awkward man, Jason’s been living with the guilt ever since, terrified that his crime will be discovered. So when he hires some gardeners to tidy up his garden, he’s prepared for the worst. The only problem is that his gardeners find two bodies – a man and a woman - neither of them have anything to do with Jason.

Detectives Tim Bayard and Ford Watts arrive to investigate, quickly identifying the victims as Leah Tamblin’s missing fiancé Reid and Boyd Montgomery’s wife, Katielynn. What follows is a black comedy of errors as murderers, detectives and innocent others converge on Jason’s garden at the same time …

Jamie Mason’s debut novel is a black comedy about an inadvertent killer who finds himself in a nightmare that spirals out of control. Although it’s got a great premise and some humorous scenes, the prose was too purple for my taste and the overwriting stifles many of the scenes. At the same time, the characters are largely stock caricatures (although Jason does start to develop some depth towards the end). For what should have been a great read, I found myself increasingly bored by it and as such, I’m not sure I’d rush to check out Mason’s next book.

Almost every paragraph is filled with a simile or metaphor and as a result the pace of the story (which needs to be kept fast-moving for the comedy to work) instead sags. There were a number of times when I got the detectives confused with each other and the point of view shifts don’t always work – particularly where Mason ends up having to go back in time for one character to explain how they end up meeting another. Additionally the twists are telegraphed too early and I didn’t believe in the detective’s willingness to believe one character’s explanation given how far-fetched it was.

As a main character, Jason’s not well developed enough to root for one way or another. Timid and passive, I didn’t really care about his predicament with Harris because it was of his own making and likewise wasn’t invested in his personal revelations.

Ultimately this wasn’t as funny as I’d hoped and as such I’d be cautious about getting Mason’s next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bloody good read, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Graves Full (Kindle Edition)
I found parts of this book laugh out loud hilarious. Anything that can go wrong, does so and it puts one in mind of the tv series, Fargo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews