Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little film
Shame it didn't get more good reviews I thought it was a nice little film for a quiet night in. Not on that will stay with me a lifetime but not bad by any means.
Published 12 days ago by Samantha Roebuck

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A shock to the system
Eli Roth (Cabin Fever) really has gone downhill. There was a time when he was hailed as a something refreshingly new in the horror genre. However, if `Aftershock' is anything to go by, he really has lost his muse.

It's about a group of people, holidaying in Chile when an earthquake hits. The first problem is that all the characters are pretty unlikeable,...
Published 10 months ago by Albatross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars RUN OF THE MILL BUT I'VE SEEN A LOT WORSE, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Aftershock [DVD] (DVD)
The debate about good taste in a film will RUMBLE on
This won't make you QUAKE in your boots
But it moves along at a CRACKing pace
Love the ending
View
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest 30 seconds ending i film history (?), 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftershock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Slow ok little gem that`s worth watching if only for the last 30 seconds which will make you laugh out loud a WTF !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stimulating, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftershock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Visually stimulating, shocking, typical eli roth effects, twists, good portrayal of human nature, makes to think what would you do?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 'A journey that you will never forget...', 4 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Aftershock (Amazon Instant Video)
Well the synopsis had this right! This is the worse film that I have ever had the misfortune to watch. Trying too hard to be gritty I found the 'gruesome and intensely unsettling' elements to be a failed attempt to shock the viewer. The most shocking thing about the whole thing was how I managed to watch the entire film (1 hour and 29 minutes) without plucking my eyeballs out. Believe me the people who died during the first 'disaster' were the lucky ones!

Thank you Amazon Prime for making this a freebie, the real disaster would have been if I had to pay for the dubious privilege of paying for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would sooner excrete glass, 2 May 2014
This review is from: Aftershock (Amazon Instant Video)
40ish minutes of turds on holiday then some screaming, then i turned it off. Measured on the scale of one to pants this film was a fat guys Y fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SAY WHINE, 30 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aftershock [DVD] (DVD)
Two fun loving guys (Ariel Levy, Nicolás Martínez) and Gringo (Eli Roth) meet a hot Russian model and her two European friends while vacationing in Chile. Character is built for half the film, about 10 minutes too long. We get to know the characters fairly well in this time and they are all flawed. The earthquake hits and anarchy reigns supreme as criminals escape from a prison.

Outside of Nicolas Martinez as a Chilean Zach Galifianakis, I found the film boring, even with the young hot chicks. I didn't feel the horror or terror of what is more like a bad street snuff film.

Not recommended even as a rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, rape. Brief nudity-Male butt nudity, scrots, woman with pasties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre..., 19 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Aftershock [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A real disaster of a movie, not referencing the featured earthquake sequence there either. It could have been so much better! First 35 minutes of the film has a bunch of friends tripping through Chile sampling the women and the nightlife - an attempt to build up a bit of character development of course, but it's so full of bad humour, bad acting and petty squabling that I was willing this damn earthquake to hurry up and start rumbling! And as for those terrifying, psychotic convicts that rise up from the rubble after the quake, they're as intimidating as a litter of kittens! They just wasn't given enough time on-screen to make an impact either. The gore was nothing special, quite a lack of it actually which was a surprise, but enough to see me through the last hour. There is a good little twist and a bit of unpredictability as far as who lives and dies. Some nice scenery and seriously gorgeous chicks to feast the eyes on too! But the cons far out-weigh pros sadly. Still waiting for Eli Roth to be involved in something of merit... the last decent thing he's produced on screen was Cabin Fever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Aftershock [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to seeing this DVD as I am a big fan of Eli Roth and loved hostel, however this film made uncomfortable viewing at some points and the end , was so predictable that it was just sad. If you don't want to know what happens, then don't read on. The characters were forgettable and not likeable, when one got trapped under concrete, you knew he was going to die, just from the amount of blood he was losing, so when he nobly told the girls to go and hide so they didn't get raped by the escaped convicts, you thought good for him, you are doing something great with your dying breath. Then when he was tortured a bit, he was about to give the location of the girls away so one ran out and was then subjected to being raped twice (uncomfortable viewing and put me off the rest of the film). From there on it got steadily worse, the characters you just didn't care about and when at the end, the final girl escaped onto the beach, I knew without even seeing it that she was going to get hit by a Tsumani as it had been building up all the way through the film, so no big surprise there. May I suggest if you like watching a group of friends touring through remote places then give the film The Ruins a go, it is interesting and the characters much more likeable.
So Mr Roth you need to try harder next time, Hostel 1 and 2 were great so go back to what you know and don't waste your time on this rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Aftershock (Amazon Instant Video)
Terrible acting
Terrible camerawork
Terrible plot

Wooden sums it up. You are better off turning your TV off and staring at the black screen than this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly slow, pointless film, 30 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Aftershock (Amazon Instant Video)
the last ten minutes is worth watching! The idea of the film could have been tweaked just a little and another film maker may have made this a really good movie. I think a bit of humour was tried, but I really cant be sure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aftershock [Blu-ray]
Aftershock [Blu-ray] by Antonio Quercia (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews