Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch!
21 and Over.

I bet you can guess how the film goes from the title. An entertaining film but with little fresh. Its funny and the cast are generally good actors the majority of the film. Although as I watched it I felt like I was watching a teenage version of The Hangover. Which essentially is the same film.

Funny but a one time watch for me.
Published 13 months ago by Cameron

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Fans of The Hangover and Animal House
Jeff Chang is a straight A, Chinese American medical student, about to turn 21 and graduate. His two best mates, Casey and Miller, both students themselves, take Jeff out for a night on the town to celebrate his birthday. Casey is an intelligent, dorky, reserved, Jewish fellow. Miller is a heavy drinking, devil may care bad boy (think John Belushi in National Lampoon's...
Published 8 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Fans of The Hangover and Animal House, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 21 And Over [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Jeff Chang is a straight A, Chinese American medical student, about to turn 21 and graduate. His two best mates, Casey and Miller, both students themselves, take Jeff out for a night on the town to celebrate his birthday. Casey is an intelligent, dorky, reserved, Jewish fellow. Miller is a heavy drinking, devil may care bad boy (think John Belushi in National Lampoon's Animal House).
Jeff 's pals make sure that he gets suitably blind drunk - before long he's stood on a bar urinating on a crowd, or riding a robotic bull and vomiting over his audience, or throwing a dart into a guy's face. Casey flirts with another student, Nicole, and the three boys end up back at her sorority house.
Nicole discloses that she already has a boyfriend and dampens Jeff's ardour. Before long, the boys are being pursued through the city by some sorority girls they've offended, by Nicole's boyfriend (who happens to be the guy with the dart in his cheek), and by Jeff's hard-nosed father. The film owes a lot to movies like The Hangover and Animal House - young guys get drunk, misbehave, offend lots of people, embarrass themselves, and try to figure out what they'll do with their lives.
It's formulaic and predictable, but it's reasonably enjoyable. It doesn't really satisfy as a comedy, because there are no real belly laughs, not a single, stand out, memorable comedy moment (think John Belushi mimicking a zit with his mouth in Animal House). It doesn't really satisfy as a drama, because none of the characters are interesting enough to make you care two hoots about what happens to them, unlike, say, About Last Night, where you get to know the characters played by James Belushi, Demi Moore and Rob Lowe, and are interested in their fates - About Last Night [Blu-ray] [1986] [US Import] .
It doesn't really satisfy as a romance, because Nicole and Casey aren't overly convincing as potential lovers. Jeff's character is paralytic by the mid-point of the movie, and thereafter he becomes the victim of other people's unpleasant pranks. Jeff ends up running down the street with a teddy bear glued to his nether regions.
The best scene is when Casey and Miller get their comeuppance from the sorority girls they've offended, I won't reveal it here. The film is stylishly shot, and the stand out actor, i.e. the guy who plays bad boy Miller (he looks and speaks like he's John Cusack's doppelgänger), is very watchable. However, I'd rate this film 3.5 stars, it's not quite 4 star material because it lacks a bit of wit and chutzpah.
To put it another way, The Inbetweeners deals with exactly this sort of subject matter, and I laugh far more during a half hour episode of that show, than I did watching the whole of this 90 minute movie. I wouldn't pay more than a fiver for this film, and your money's probably better spent on any of Animal House, The Hangover, Risky Business (Tom Cruise), or Superbad - National Lampoon's Animal House [Blu-ray] [Region Free] The Hangover (Extended Cut) [Blu-ray] (2009) [Region Free] Risky Business [Blu-ray] [1983] [Region Free] Superbad (2 Disc Extended Edition) [2007] [DVD] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch!, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 And Over [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
21 and Over.

I bet you can guess how the film goes from the title. An entertaining film but with little fresh. Its funny and the cast are generally good actors the majority of the film. Although as I watched it I felt like I was watching a teenage version of The Hangover. Which essentially is the same film.

Funny but a one time watch for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but Nothing New, 29 Sept. 2013
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
This is a funny movie with college guys but it does not bring anything new. It is similar to films like Hangover or American pie.

This film is not bad but is not great either. It has its funny moments but it is far from a great comedy.

In conclusion: if you enjoy films like Hangover or American pie you probably won't love this one but you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Idiotic, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Maria "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
What a waste of time. Bad story, underwhelming acting, contrived jokes - the list goes on. Not worth a view!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived very quickly and packaged well. I love to be able to order the new releases, knowing the order will not take long to arrive. A funny film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite funny, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 21 and Over (DVD)
Bit of a mash up between Superbad, Project X, American Pie and Dude Where's My Car? Nonetheless I found this funny and very watchable as the story takes different turns. Worth a view if you got nothing else to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill!, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is fantastic, it's a bit like the hangover but something you can relate to a bit more, if you're in your 30's then The Hangover you can definitely relate to but with this lads being only in their 20's it is a pretty good movie to watch and tell yourself "I've been in some of those situations while being completely drunk."

BUY THIS, IT NEEDS TO BE ON YOUR SHELF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
This film is good if that is your type of humor, however its not for everyone but i would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
A nice light comedy film that is well worth a watch and not that expensive to buy. Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brillant film, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 And Over [DVD] (DVD)
I saw it in the cinema it was always non stop funny
if you like funny films this would be perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21 And Over [Blu-ray]
21 And Over [Blu-ray] by Scott Moore (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews