Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slick, smart and stylish British heist movie
This is a great movie packed with great performances from a talented young cast. I won't spoil the ending but if you like films with a twist this has a great one. Plenty of action and laughs along the way in this fast-paced thriller. Highlights include Matthew Lewis playing a very different character to Neville Longbottom; Neil Maskell as a particularly menacing villain;...
Published 10 months ago by K. J. Meehan

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overreated
If this is a 'strong contender for British film of the year' then it's a bit worrying. . .

I found myself shaking my head throughout this film, mainly because it's just not believable.

The main character, who's done a short time in jail, now fancies himself as an expert in crime having picked up a few things whilst doing time.

I won't ruin...
Published 9 months ago by C. Beal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slick, smart and stylish British heist movie, 30 Sep 2013
By 
K. J. Meehan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie packed with great performances from a talented young cast. I won't spoil the ending but if you like films with a twist this has a great one. Plenty of action and laughs along the way in this fast-paced thriller. Highlights include Matthew Lewis playing a very different character to Neville Longbottom; Neil Maskell as a particularly menacing villain; and star Luke Treadaway proving he can carry a movie. Watch out too for Timothy Spall lending his own brand of gravitas as a grizzly detective. This is an absoloute gem of a movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Fantastic, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
A great gutsy British film all actors were incredible why this film is not in the mainstream film display is beyond me, just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small town heist movie., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
Clever, quirky and life affirming - the lads have a great chemistry together. Humour in the face of a bleak background works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever plot, 26 May 2014
This review is from: The Rise (DVD)
Well acted, gritty, good twist and turns. Bleak backdrop. Pleasantly not too violent and good story telling, strong script. Top film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
great movie ...once I had stopped looking at the local "views" loved the film everybody must watch this ......what an ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb crime drama, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
Without a doubt the best film I have ever seen and I am hard to please. Brilliant ending that will keep you guesing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
This film has a nice twist at the end but it does have a little more than that. Characterisation is lifelike and the back stories of the main characters have enough accuracy to render uncomfortable the views of many older people whose own children may have faired better. A useful insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overreated, 22 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
If this is a 'strong contender for British film of the year' then it's a bit worrying. . .

I found myself shaking my head throughout this film, mainly because it's just not believable.

The main character, who's done a short time in jail, now fancies himself as an expert in crime having picked up a few things whilst doing time.

I won't ruin the story for anyone that hasn't seen it, but it's just not a plausible plot for a bunch of scallys. Ocean's 11 worked as the characters were much older and a lot more experienced in crime.

It's ok - but the characters and the story are punching way above their weight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
looked forward to watching this but its just like green street 3 not very good
Acting is poor and story lines terrible avoid and don't waste your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRIT FLICK, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise [DVD] (DVD)
LOVE BRIT FLICKS, WILL ALWAYS BACK EM, RECOMMENDED BY JOHNNY SNIPPER. NOT VIEWED IT YET BUT HIGHLY TALKED ABOUT FILM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rise [Blu-ray]
The Rise [Blu-ray] by Rowan Athale (Blu-ray - 2013)
5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews