Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars55
3.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2013
This isn't a Hollywood Blockbuster with an over inflated budget and A list superstars. This is a British film with a modest budget, a cast of fine young actors and some British acting royalty. With that in mind I highly recommend this film.

If you like fast paced action, violence and a great cast, you'll love it. Many of the cast went on to star in the excellent drama "Vikings" (this was made first) which just shows the quality assembled here.
With action from start to finish, twists and turns along the way, Stunning cinematography and direction, Hammer of the gods is well worth a watch. If you want big budget Hollywood floss, watch Troy. If you want red blooded British grit, watch Hammer of the Gods.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
There are a few things in life that are undeniably awesome. Ninjas, pirates, zombies and so on. Firmly in that list are Vikings! As a fan of many Viking-themed films such as Valhalla Rising and The 13th Warrior, I was really looking forward to checking this film out. Thankfully I was not disappointed.

Hammer Of The Gods is a fantastic film and I'd recommend it to anyone. It's full of action right from the start and has a great climax too. A descent plot that sees the Vikings venturing into the land of the Saxons, with plenty of tension and lots of gore too. The way the Vikings and the Saxons look is quite new too, which I really enjoyed. It's great fun! The lead actor is also very easy on the eyes too - which always helps.

Well worth checking out!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This movie was a surprise I was not expecting much but what a fantastic movie for a low budget movie it has a special felling the scenery of the countryside is good the story line about the vikings is good the story is highly believable and the caractors are very strong overall I really enjoyed this movie
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 September 2013
King Bagsecg (James Cosmo) is on his death bed. He tasks his son Steinar (Charlie Bewley) to find his older brother Hakan (Elliot Cowan) who had been banned. Steinar travels with a group of men to find Ivar (Ivan Kaye) who may know his whereabouts. Steinar has a brother (Finlay Robertson) and half brother(Theo Barklem-Biggs), neither of which are warriors.

Ivar prefers the companionship of young boys. The film utilizes grindhouse style in its introductions and fighting. Both the Vikings and Saxons have British accents. I thought the Vikings had thicker accents. There were numerous anachronisms in the speech, slang, and general ideology. The ending of the film had me scratching my head as it turns into a bizarre apocalyptic Mad Max scene.

I do not consider this a pseudo history in the same vein as the others that have been released, it is too far off the track.

Makes for an odd historical rental.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, no sex, nudity
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Utter, unmitigated tosh. With the lovely Alexandra Dowling(The Musketeers) in it I thought it might be half decent. How wrong could I be? With a script that a semi-literate fourteen year old could have written and a pathetically inane plot this film qualifies for the B movie of the year award. The film's one redeeming feature was the stunning scenery of Wales; at least the cameraman knows his game.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The writer of this movie must be an aficionado of quest type computer games like 'Baldur's Gate' because that is what this film is like. A group of warriors wandering the countryside on a quest, encountering odd characters to interact with and bad guys to kill. Apart from telling you that they are on a quest for a dying king to find his previously banished oldest son that's the movie in a nutshell.
There are no bad guys or good guys, just Vikings and Saxons with a slight nod to the incoming threat of Christianity.
The film looks gorgeous; I'm going to assume it was filmed in Wales because some scenes appear to have been spoken in Welsh, and the countryside is beautiful and well filmed. The characters all perform well and look authentically grubby, the violence is brutal and unremitting but the whole experience just left me feeling something was missing.
It was nice to see Alexandra Dowling who's part as Rosalyn Frey in Game of Thrones was so short and you'll spot some classic British actors here but unless you're into the aforementioned games or brutal violence it may leave you feeling the same way.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Hammer of the Gods is a seemingly gritty, blood-drenched, fun action-packed Viking send-up of Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness.

Centered on a motley crew of Vikings during the 9th century as young warrior Steinar (Charlie Bewley) is sent out by his dying father King Bagsecg (James Cosmo) to find the king's eldest son and heir to the throne. Cue a cross-country Lord of the Rings-style ramble with bloody fights and bloody cliché dialogue with cardboard cut-out characters taken from historical romps of 2000's films past.

It offers nothing new that we haven't already seen in films such as Ironclad, Centurion, The Eagle, King Arthur or Apocalypse Now. Nothing gels and so little shines with creative thought that you begin to do a count of what film you've seen it all in before. Each character is a role call of other historical character stereotypes, specialty weapons and all. You have the kill-crazy nutter, the doubting Thomas/traitor, the spiritualist, and the tough and attractive female slave-turned-warrior.

Steinar's arc, although blindingly apparent, is a fairly so-so launch pad for the rest of the paper-thin plot, and the fight scenes - and there are many - are competently composed and filled with spraying blood and gouging sound effects. So gore hounds will be pleased. Credit where credit is due though, director Farren Blackburn captures the British Highlands scenery in much intimidating detail and cold beauty as ever and, although it lacks a mystic etherealness, there are shots set up that add a grand scope to the film.

However, there is no true saving grace to the film it is stodgy, overtly clichéd to the point of lawsuits nearly being put out for bare-faced ripping-off. The movie just has so little going for it that it becomes almost forgettable to the point of non-existence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Whilst quite brutal,this film has left me disappointed. The story just lost it's grip on my attention at about the halfway mark.
The main story being a Viking warrior being ordered to find his brother and bring him home. This task means he has to trust people he'd rather not along the way and finding out just who is trustworthy in the long run. The action is great for the most part,but the story wanders some,as did my mind. It wasn't long before I stopped caring who was who or what or why. There are better Viking warrior movies out there and once you've got over the splashing of blood,this one doesn't have much to offer. Some might love this for the action and if the story keeps their attention,but I had to stop myself swinging a hammer at this movie,so that I can sell it off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Little disappointed, the film was not nearly as good as it seemed in trailer s. Think I've been spilt by The Throne s!!!! Definitely not Amazon s fault though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
A bunch of Viking thugs wandering aimlessly around the digitally enhanced Welsh countryside for far too long, occassionaly encountering and fighting with Saxon thugs. Lots of violence and the odd glimpse (for no apparent reason) of a topless woman. The 'extras' section clearly show the people involved to be so arty and up their own backsides that you hope they never get money to make a sequel. They are under the impression that this is a great example of the genre - the genre being rubbish film, in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)