Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2013
'Body Music' is the début album from electronic duo AlunaGeorge.

What happened to pop music? Is it just regurgitated boy-bands? Hyperbole ridden talent-show wasteproduct and their resultant fairytale-cover-albums? Specimen A and Specimen B.

Fortunately not! Here is a fantastic pop album - complete and fulfilling.

Body Music is the genius pop-product of the not so genius pseudonym AlunaGeorge, the colloboration of Aluna Francis and George Reid. Without having made the cut to win the BBC Sound of 2013, Francis and Reid will still be one of the most successful of the long-list. Body Music doesn't necessarily possess the originality of Chvrches but what it does do, it does very very well.

Unable to get enough traction from 'Your Drums Your Love', it was their work with in-vogue Disclosure that brought this duo back into the spotlight. The key to this collboartion was to set AlunaGeorge into a sphere away from the obvious similarities of Ellie Goulding and Katy B and into the post-dubstep realms of SBTRKT.

Aside from the more forgettable moments of the album i.e. the awkward 'This Is How We Do It' re-hash, 'Body Music' is a recipe for success. Each track is lusciously layered by Reid who manifests the foundations for Aluna's cute yet affirmative vocals; in an album rich of relationship anxiety it is the marriage of Aluna's voice and George's production that sets this record on the path of success into what may be the actual sound of 2013.

Listen To: Outlines, Lost & Found, Just A Touch
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Amazing album,can't stop listening to every song.Melodies keep popping up in my head and have to search which tune it belongs to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This is a group that promised much and has partly delivered.
The song writing and production range from excellent to good. The singe, attracting flies, as well as the collaboration with disclosure hinted at a cool electro R&B group that err on the pop side of the tracks.
The album starts off brilliantly and continues in much the same vein.
The biggest issue I have is that the production never varies from safe, almost MOR electronic pop. By the halfway point you almost stop listening to the beats.
The songwriting does stay strong enough but I feel Aluna's vocals, also, never stray too far from safe and wispy - beautiful, but never exciting.
So, this is quality album that will sit perfectly for lazy afternoons at home but it's not going to surprise or excite you
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Such a great album with lots of hits that you prob know, great driving album and to sit back and chill on a summers day :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Note this rating is with reference to presentation of the 'Deluxe' version of this CD not about the music:
The 'Deluxe' CD came in a cardboard case sealed with plastic wrapping which was hard to get into. Disappointed with presentation - not what you expect when you pay more for a deluxe addition. When I buy a deluxe CD I don't expect package that you'd find on a 'free' giveaway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I was encouraged in buying this by other peoples comments about the album. There's only one song I don't like and that's the cover version, all the others are really easy to listen to. They're not all quite as funky as the everything you exhale song if that's a useful guide!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I love these two and I'm an old man :-D (Well, my kids think I am at 47). Simply awesome album, Aluna's voice staying just the right side of fey without sliding into annoying, really well-crafted songs and a fantastic cover of "This is how we do it"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
It should be the winner for the Mercury prize. Such a diverse album with every track standing out on their own. The amount of tracks worried me fearing loads of fillers but there are none!
Love it. Do da do dada da do..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Definitely recommend it. Great summer vibes. Interesting compositions. Very chillful album. Money well spent. If you like AlunaGeorge in general, you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Arrived at time and in a good condition.

I really love this record. Is full of great songs... Makes you feel like you wanna dance...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.00
£13.53

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)