Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars191
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2013
Don't go expecting oscar winning acting, because it's not what you'll get.
This is a budget film made for laughs, parts might make you cringe but all in all the boys had fun making it and it is a must to put in your Quo collection.

The soundtrack is great, with some great tracks that would definately not be accotiated with Quo. There is Samba, Reggae, Hawaii flavours and also some great Rock numbers with some lovely lead guitar work from Francis Rossi.

Anyway, buy to enjoy!!!!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Maybe 3 stars is a bit generous. The plot is silly. The band play themselves in a fictional story involving gangsters. in Fiji. It is probably just as well that it is meant to be a comedy because it could never be taken seriously, and the acting isn't that great, but the music is good and it is quite entertaining.

If you like Status Quo then you will enjoy it, but I wouldn't bother if you aren't a fan. It's about 40 years too late really, but it's not the worst pop movie by a long way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Hi All,

Well when I heard that Quo were making a movie I guessed what it would be like. Great for Quo fans and everyone else would slag it off. I thought it was great fun with good music and a lot of Quo "in jokes" that only fans would understand.
They had a great laugh making it and lots of money went to charity. People who slag off this movie saying that Quo have reached rock bottom should remember that they are doing what they love to do, earning good cash and charity benefits.

I'm sure there are loads of people out there who would love to get great wages for something they love doing instead of the daily grind..........Good on ya Quo!!

Dave Sheppard.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Load of old froth and bubble as you might imagine, but good fun for all that. Sprightly paced with a fair number of sly jokes about rock'n'roll public relations merchants. It's well shot, so pretty to look at, although possibly fewer songs than you might expect. Several jokes at the band's own expense. It's not going to win any awards, but hey, for three quid I'm not complaining.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Good to see the band trying something different. Sure they would be even funnier if they had more input into the script.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Status Quo do what they do best with this film...put a smile on your face and make you feel good. The script could have been sharper and would have benefited from more input from Messrs Rossi and Parfitt to make their dialogue more authentic - but the premise was good and the scenery beautiful. The soundtrack was terrific - varied and in some cases quite a departure from the Quo norm. (Check out the Bula Quo album for tracks as diverse as Go, Go, Go, Fiji time and Run And Hide). Overall, extremely enjoyable and it would be interesting to see how it might compare to any subsequent project now that they've got the first film under their collective guitar straps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 November 2013
And does not necessarily mean it is a GOOD film. What can I say? As a very long standing QUO lover I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Contrary to some opinions I thought it was well photographed, but the script is pretty dire, and the "acting" by Quo is what I expected...Nuff Said!. The DVD quality is very good and there are "Promo" extras. The bottom line is...Did I enjoy it? Yes, I did. My wife didn't, and she loves Quo too. Can I recomend it? That's hard. Perhaps to Quo fans and those of an inquisitive nature who might, just might, get a pleasant surprise. By the way,never thought I'd say this, but Craig Fairbrass is surprisingly good!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I cannot fathom the 5 star reviews on this site for this film excepting the fact that the majority of reviewwrs are big fans of Status Quo, and going by the reaction here and on Quo forums, perhaps overly biased. Impartial, unbiased reviews have trashed the film as hokey and exceptionally badly written - Mark Kermode of the BBC gave one of the most entertaining reviews I've ever seen for a film; he was simply flabberghasted at the surreality of it and wondering how and why did this exist!

'Bula Quo' of course is "a bit of fun"; which seems to justifying it's 5-star status among Quo apologists; all I can tell you is that as a film fan, of all genres including the slightly wacky comedy caper, this one comes up short in every department. Any unbiased review would echo the sentiments that the writing is atrocious; Quo are not exactly good actors but that wouldn't matter a whit if the writing had been there. Throughout the film - and in the cinema I saw it in, only one laugh was heard throughout; most were simply silent, it was a surreal experience and a very surreal movie - throughout I was astounded how badly written, edited, and directed it was. No matter what genre it fits into, I felt it was an appalling film, a comedy without laughs, situations so contrived and badly written to make it one of the most unreal and puzzling film experiences I've ever witnessed.

It could have been so much better; in the hands of a much better writer and director Quo in Fiji idea actually held promise; unfortunately what resulted was a mess, and perhaps worst of all for a comedy - very boring.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I have to say that the person posting the review on here that says this is utter tripe has obviously no idea what this film is all about. The guys from Quo DON'T profess to be actors (let alone great ones) and made it plain from the start that this film is just FUN. As a Quo fan of some 40 years I obviously enjoyed it but my wife and my friends wife who are not fans of the band thoroughly enjoyed it.Don't expect a 'Classic' film or a Hollywood style movie, just watch it with an open mind and a relaxed sense of fun and it's a really good film. Good on you guys!!
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Bula Quo DVD is 'light hearted' action comedy, with gangster as 'godfather figure' game of Russian Roulette, bodyguard, tour arranger all thrown in, the scenery is really good, chase scene with golf buggies etc, but I am not sure where this film fits in ie 'Cliff Richard' Summer Holiday or Sid James and the Carry on films 'time will tell', shame was lack of Quo music.. The DVD is worth couple of laughs and good value from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)