Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloaked in atmosphere
I cannot praise this show highly enough. A totally different take on the dead rising from the grave scenerio, it makes for a suspenseful, well paced story cloaked in atmosphere. The show is filmed on location in the French Alps, so that ensures beautiful scenery, and a heightened sense of isolation, which suits the later episodes very well. The main actors are totally...
Published 16 months ago by Fred Flintstone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No ending until series 2?
The series starts really well, with a family's daughter returning home three years after her death! She is totally unaware that anything is amiss and the reaction of her family upon her appearance is entirely believable and not cheesy.

Then it transpires she is not the only one who is returning. For several episodes it generates tension and mystery with...
Published 4 months ago by R. C. Harris


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who watched the TV series, a chance to go over it again and try and work out the mystery. I'm getting there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece., 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't be put off by French sub titles this is a gripping tale that will get you guessing from the start and keep you glued to the screen crying out for more, each episode is addictive you have to watch one more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful television series, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because I'd read good reviews of the television series but hadn't been able to watch it. I think it's very gripping and I can't wait to find out how it ends (or when it ends - I think there's at least one more series left to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I don'tspeak french, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
However I am taking up with this series and who knows it may teach me to learn the language with pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows of the year, 8 Aug 2013
By 
KRB (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The Returned is a great, intense, gripping, well-written series which leaves a very chilling atmosphere after every episode. I first saw it advertised, and I thought that would give it go, and just after seeing it's first episode, I was amazed, and I had to see the whole series.

The show has eight episodes, the episode are:

1) Camille
2) Simon
3) Julie
4) Victor
5) Serge et Toni
6) Lucy
7) Adele
8) La Horde

All of eight are amazing, it is really hard to pick a favourite.

There is not one cast member who I thought delivered bad acting, there performances were one of the many things that made this drama so special and why it deserves a 5 star rating. Almost every episode ended on a great cliffhanger which go us exited for the next episode. All the characters are very well-written, and in each episode we find out something new about every one of them. The fact that it is in French with English subtitles makes it no less enjoyable or entertaining and it should not be a reason for not watching or buying this. It is very, very well-written, but by no means confusing, throught, it has really good music and pacing and for the number of weeks this was on for, I've really enjoyed myself.

Now, there are a few a disturbing scenes that make us cringe throughout the series, but that does not make this series bad or terrible, and it there is more to the series than these scenes, so there is not to much to complain about.

Overall, I have really, really enjoyed the first series of The Returned and I am looking foward to the day this DVD is released (09/09/13) and when series 2 airs sometime next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just mesmerising, 31 July 2013
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I can't recommend this highly enough especially if you like David Lynch's work as the influence has been readily admitted and it shows in the slightly surreal nature and the photography. Superbly written, superbly and subtly acted with atmospheric music and stunning scenery. It's nothing like a Zombie series - one of the delightful things about it is that "the returned" or undead act a lot like the living although they do have some special tricks of their own. Clever, absorbing, endlessly twisting plot - seen all 8 episodes in Series 1 and still happily baffled; it created a lot of discussion and theorising. All the actors are top class but a special mention must go to "Victor" who is surely the creepiest child ever and for a large part he doesn't even say a word. Can't wait for Series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French with Subtitles - but utterly gripping., 9 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
french spoken, with subtitles, but soon got used to hat and thoroughly enjoyed the stories which had the bonus of twists and turns giving mystery as well. Really hope they do a Sequel, for although all storylines were covered, they left room enough for a second follow-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another never ending story, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I’m a fan of French TV series and enjoyed this one too, but must say that I’m a bit tired of watching TV shows (not only French) that fail to provide concrete solutions or proper answers. The Returned is a gripping story, well performed, that successfully conveys its dark atmosphere. It’s not a zombie-style story (enough of those), but rather an exploration on how people would react and cope with the returning home of… their deceased loved ones!
An original idea spoilt by the usual script that leaves you there, waiting for season two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is absolutely amazing. Brilliantly and beautifully shot. Very compelling - very strange - very interesting. Really can't wait to see the next series once they've made it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, it deserves to be dubbed into English, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD is yet to be released so my comments are, as with all the other reviews so far, based on having watched all 8 episodes of the TV series shown this summer on Channel 4.

The story is, for once, relatively fresh and different. It must be hard to come up with new concepts for TV drama but The Returned qualifies. Yes, it's about dead people coming back to life but it's not a conventional zombie/ghost story, and it plays heavily on the personal grief that different families suffered years before the present-day events - when the dead started to return.

There's so much to see on the screen that it is a little frustrating to have to read the sub-titles. I'm reminded of other excellent foreign dramas such as The Killing or Wallender; they were so good that big-budget English-speaking versions were made later but the atmosphere of the originals was lost. I think the best solution is old-fashioned dubbing, not least because the actors and actresses in The Returned - particularly the actresses in my opinion - would be very hard to match.

Maybe the DVD will have some entertaining extras, I don't know yet, but the main story - spread across 3 DVD discs that I would estimate to be about 320 minutes in total length - is definitely worth investing your time and money in. If you haven't seen it yet, you're in for a treat, and if you have, it's still worth seeing again.

There is also a film version called The Returned [DVD] but it is totally different and although I have not seen it, most people seem to think it is not as good as the Channel 4 TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Returned - Series 1 [DVD]
The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] by Anne Consigny (DVD - 2013)
£10.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews