Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloaked in atmosphere
I cannot praise this show highly enough. A totally different take on the dead rising from the grave scenerio, it makes for a suspenseful, well paced story cloaked in atmosphere. The show is filmed on location in the French Alpes, so that ensures beautiful scenery, and a heightened sense of isolation, which suits the later episodes very well. The main actors are totally...
Published 8 months ago by Fred Flintstone

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another never ending story
I’m a fan of French TV series and enjoyed this one too, but must say that I’m a bit tired of watching TV shows (not only French) that fail to provide concrete solutions or proper answers. The Returned is a gripping story, well performed, that successfully conveys its dark atmosphere. It’s not a zombie-style story (enough of those), but rather an...
Published 2 months ago by Morgana


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, it deserves to be dubbed into English, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD is yet to be released so my comments are, as with all the other reviews so far, based on having watched all 8 episodes of the TV series shown this summer on Channel 4.

The story is, for once, relatively fresh and different. It must be hard to come up with new concepts for TV drama but The Returned qualifies. Yes, it's about dead people coming back to life but it's not a conventional zombie/ghost story, and it plays heavily on the personal grief that different families suffered years before the present-day events - when the dead started to return.

There's so much to see on the screen that it is a little frustrating to have to read the sub-titles. I'm reminded of other excellent foreign dramas such as The Killing or Wallender; they were so good that big-budget English-speaking versions were made later but the atmosphere of the originals was lost. I think the best solution is old-fashioned dubbing, not least because the actors and actresses in The Returned - particularly the actresses in my opinion - would be very hard to match.

Maybe the DVD will have some entertaining extras, I don't know yet, but the main story - spread across 3 DVD discs that I would estimate to be about 320 minutes in total length - is definitely worth investing your time and money in. If you haven't seen it yet, you're in for a treat, and if you have, it's still worth seeing again.

There is also a film version called The Returned [DVD] but it is totally different and although I have not seen it, most people seem to think it is not as good as the Channel 4 TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another never ending story, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I’m a fan of French TV series and enjoyed this one too, but must say that I’m a bit tired of watching TV shows (not only French) that fail to provide concrete solutions or proper answers. The Returned is a gripping story, well performed, that successfully conveys its dark atmosphere. It’s not a zombie-style story (enough of those), but rather an exploration on how people would react and cope with the returning home of… their deceased loved ones!
An original idea spoilt by the usual script that leaves you there, waiting for season two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed nonsense, beautifully done., 17 Jan 2014
By 
M. B. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series lives up to most of it's accolades. It is beautifully shot; like a piece of art. The soundtrack is perfect, the acting is mostly good and it is captivating, haunting, shocking etc, etc, etc. I actually recommend watching it. However, we are being duped here and I think too many people are rating it highly before finishing the series. It promised so much. The writer Fabrice Gobert has done many interviews and he didn't write a second series until he was asked. This story was never going anywhere and I realised this after four episodes. He asked so many tantalising questions that it became obvious it wasn't going to be tied up in any coherent way. Everyone is forgiving the fact that almost none of the questions have been answered because they're waiting for the second series. Gobert had no grand plot and our answers won't all be revealed and tied together in a spectacularly clever way in the second series because it's all just disjointed nonsense, albeit shot in the most stunning way. All style and very little substance. I think it's offensive to expect an audience to swallow that no matter how pretty it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best series. I hope the American verison lives up to this one. It's going to be a hard act to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely creepy, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
"Les Revenants" is a well shot and soundtracked TV series with similar production values to a decent ITV drama. That said, both the cinematography and the music (by Mogwai) do seem to get somewhat repetitive as the series (10 hour-long episodes) wears on. The repetitiveness of the former may is possibly explainable via the story.

The feel of "The Returned" is somewhere between the "Twilight" film, "Donnie Darko" and "Lost". Vaguely targeted at a younger audience, it's certainly entertaining and should be watched to the end - as some apparent plot deficiencies are ultimately explained, although if you're looking for a neat ending then you won't get one. For me the quality of the first few episodes isn't quite sustained across the whole series and I'm not too sure how good series 2 (which I understand is in the works) - if it is to be based on the same characters - will be.

For those of a squeamish disposition - there's no gore for its own sake but there are some nasty bits but nothing that you can't avert your eyes from for a brief moment or two before picking up the story again.

One minor technical problem with the DVD (or it may be my player): it seems to keep defaulting to the no subtitles option. Not a massive difficulty but it's annoying when, with a sense of anticipation, you've played the first couple of minutes of an episode only to have to go back to the beginning (depending on what options you have on your DVD machine) when you realise the captions aren't on.

Good quality French TV and something a bit different - recommended to anyone who likes watching stuff which is comfortably scary and/or is trying to learn French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great looking series..., 1 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
So what's the deal with no blu-ray edition. Completely bonkers decision... I've watched it in HD on Ch4 but now I come to buy it and there is only an ancient DVD set available?

Good way to lose a lot of sales, like most people I'll be waiting for a bluray edition to eventually turn up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Blu-ray release = no purchase, 30 July 2013
By 
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this series and am already looking forward to season 2. However in this day and age where HD TV's are fast becoming the norm why aren't Universal releasing this on Blu-ray? I watched all 8 episodes in HD so am not going to PAY to own/watch it in standard definition. If a Blu-ray version is released then I'll amend this review accordingly. (my 4 star rating is purely for the show itself)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Series 2 will have some answers, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Andrew Davis (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful scenery and good acting but and this a big BUT don't expect any answers to your questions.
Each episode focuses on one character however trying to see how this fits into the overall plot is a challenge.
I felt cheated out of the time I watched this as I upset that it was all for naught just to set up series 2 with such a long gap between over a year.
Wait for the second series before you watch this or risk disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I will never get those hours back again..., 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Holy heap of turd batman...told how great it was and found out how pointless it was. Awesome if you like tracey emin style installations. Pointless if you expect to get something out of 20 hours of your life. The good news is I can now sell if for the price I paid for it on amazon. Who wants it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Serie, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Hello at all the people who are interested,

the serie, the returned" is one of the best series at the moment. I'm waiting for the part 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72308ac)

This product

The Returned - Series 1 [DVD]
The Returned - Series 1 [DVD] by Anne Consigny (DVD - 2013)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews