Customer Reviews


658 Reviews
5 star:
 (485)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Beautifully designed, Top Quality. Great Car Mount!
Wow! Amazing little device. Top quality materials and very clever design - it holds my iPhone perfectly in place. I bought mine from the Apple Store, but was so impressed I ordered a second one for my wife’s car.

Here’s why….

What is it?
--------------

Measuring just 2.5 inches long by an inch deep and weighing...
Published 13 months ago by John Ryan

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good qaulity but unsure what sets it aside price wise
This is a good quality product, not doubt. But after deciding 'not to buy cheap' and get this holder, which has recieved overall good reviews, I'm left wondering if it's worth the cost. It grasps my phone well... a bit too well really, it's a bit too hard to pull open to place your phone inside and you need to make sure you're holding the unit onto your airvent otherwise...
Published 13 months ago by Matt H


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Beautifully designed, Top Quality. Great Car Mount!, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
John Ryan "One man and his Kat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Wow! Amazing little device. Top quality materials and very clever design - it holds my iPhone perfectly in place. I bought mine from the Apple Store, but was so impressed I ordered a second one for my wife’s car.

Here’s why….

What is it?
--------------

Measuring just 2.5 inches long by an inch deep and weighing almost nothing, it’s a tiny little device, cleverly designed to hold your iPhone or Android phone firmly to the vent in your car. An absolute must have if you use a Tom Tom or similar navigation app. Difficult to explain, but you can slot your phone in with one hand, just push and slot it in place. Despite going over several bumps and winter pot-holes it’s been held firmly.

There’s lots of You Tube video reviews - just search for “Kenu Airframe review you tube”.

What’s good about it?
----------------------------

* Holds a massive range of phones firmly in place (see below)
* Works on almost any car (see a list below)
* Can be used to fix your phone one handed
* Top quality materials - very well built
* Very small, compact and well engineered

What’s not so good?
----------------------

* It is expensive. (But I've bought and binned 3 cheaper car mounts so far)

Will it work in my car?
---------------------------

I wanted to be sure so checked through the Amazon reviews, and the following were highly rated. After a while I decided it would fit just about every car on the planet, so gave up checking. Needless to say it works beautifully for me and the wife!

Astravan
Audi A1
Audi A3
Audi A4
BMW 3 Series (2003)
BMW 530i
Ford Fiesta (1999),
Ford Focus (2013 and 2008),
Ford Focus ST MK2
Ford Focus with vertical grills
Ford S Max
Honda Civic
Honda Jazz (2003),
Hyundai Getz
Mercedes B class
Mercedes Sprinter Van,
R56 Mini Cooper with its awkward shaped vents
Seat Ibiza
Skoda Roomster
Vauxhall Zafira (2001),
VW Golf
VW Golf (2013)
VW Golf Mk5
VW Volkswagen Polo

Will it work with my phone?
----------------------------------

The following phones were quoted by other reviewers as having been held in place. The only negative comment was from one reviewer who thought it wouldn't be big enough to fit a Galaxy Note, but was fine for their Galaxy S2.

The Kenu website says it will fit any phone up to 4.8 inches in size.

Blackberry Z10
Galaxy S2
HTC One (in it's clear case)
HTC Sensation
iPhone 4
iPhone 4s
iPhone 5
iPhone 5s
Lumia 920
Nexus 4
Nexus 5 (with a slim spigen case)
Nokia Lumia
Samsung Galaxy S4
Samsung Galaxy S4
Sony Z1 (inc. case)

In conclusion
---------------

Beautifully designed, well engineered, it’s expensive compared to the cheaper options, but it works brilliantly.

Hope you found this review useful, do click below if it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good qaulity but unsure what sets it aside price wise, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a good quality product, not doubt. But after deciding 'not to buy cheap' and get this holder, which has recieved overall good reviews, I'm left wondering if it's worth the cost. It grasps my phone well... a bit too well really, it's a bit too hard to pull open to place your phone inside and you need to make sure you're holding the unit onto your airvent otherwise it will ping off. THis is a problem given you then need three hands. One to hold the unit in place, the other to pull it open and a third to place the phone inside!

It is not that well suited to phablets phones. I have an Experia Z1, which barely fits in. The unit has actually damaged my phone chassis due to this and the fact that it holds it so tight.

Another issue is that the unit swings about a bit. The much cheaper holder I bought when I had my iphone had an extension part that held the holder in place against the airvent housing to prevent movement. This is a minor issue but one that a much cheaper unit had already sorted. Would not recommened for the cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not without its flaws, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Length:: 1:49 Mins

Positives:
Doesn't rotate too freely unlike other cheaper mounts
Locks into vents fairly well, even in an R56 Mini Cooper with its awkward shaped vents
Holds the phone securely
Gives good access to ports

Negatives:
The combined weight of the holder and the phone will more than likely cause your phone to drop/angle forward, unless you can wedge the positioned phone against your dashboard
Not really feasible to rotate between portrait and landscape if you wanted to (e.g. for sat nav)
Price - a subjective point, but surely this could have been half the listed price

Overall I'm reasonably happy, it replaced a Brodit pro-clip which just got in the way in my car, and reduces the bulk of the combined assembly. The design of my car means it's difficult to position this somewhere that the Y cable will stretch to, and therefore even with an extension it's obscured by my steering wheel. If you've got the place to position this in your car in full sight, it's probably worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
perfect for Iphone 6 plus !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more suction cups, 23 Sept. 2014
By 
555 "555" (555) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I use it for my iphone 5s with an otterbox defender case and this opens enough to hold it.
The jaws have an excellent grip thanks to a soft rubber inlay plus the spring on the jaw is so tough, that sometimes i have to put the phone in first and then mount it onto the airvent.
The base rotates and has slots for both thick and thin vent ribs, never had it fall out of any vent i used it in, tried this in my rover and couple transit and sprinter vans at work it did fit in all of them.
Bought it as it is recommended accessory by apple, even expensive it does a great job, is high quality made, really very compact and light, i carry it in my pocket sometimes and i barely notice it.
Finally don't need the suction crap anymore and have a full unobscured vision of the windscreen.
Tested it on iphone 4s, 5s and Sony Xperia U with and without cases and it had good firm grip on all of them, none of them fell out however bumpy the road was and the airframe didn't fell out of the vent either and the base never rotated by itself.
I do recommend these mounts, but test it in your car as it may doesn't fit all cars airvents or doesn't fit properly and if it doesn't work for you, just return it, really easy with amazon's return policy.
You just have to test it for your vehicle or look for more reviews to confirm if it fits for your vehicle,
i am very happy with it, bought 2nd one so i don't have to carry it over from car to van all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for IPhone 5s, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
A perfect minimal style product that securely holds my phone. I like that it is discreet and functional. I use it in my BMW X3 with my iPhone 5s and it looks great (mostly because I really only see the phone). The build quality is superb and clamps have internal rubber pads to not scratch my 5a sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy product. My car-vent felt a bit flimsy, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
O. Mathisen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sturdy product. My car-vent felt a bit flimsy, which meant the mount moved slightly out of position. This is no reflection of the product itself, but after trying various position, I've finally found a good position where it stays in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didnt quite do what I wanted., 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Ok, just be aware before you buy it - some car vents are fixed (the outer parts of the vent doesn't rotate or move) and some car vents do rotate (ie the outer part does move fairly freely)
You need to check this first.
I could not recommend this product if your car vents rotate, ie if the part of the vent you are clipping the Airframe to moves freely.
I clipped it on to my car vents and while it did stay on the vents my phone wasn't stable.
This in fairness was not the fault of the Airframe but was in fact caused by the vents themselves (Suzuki Grand Vitara) which are inclined to rotate if you touch them.
So if I tried to tap the phone (Lumia 520) the movement would be transferred to the vent and the screen would move.
So I removed the piece at the rear of the Airframe which clipped to the vents, small screw holds that on.
This allowed me to screw the Airframe to the dashboard so it became a permanent fixture.

It worked fine for a week or so and I was impressed but unfortunately I used a 4mm (M4) screw which did go through the hole in the centre of the Airframe but probably put too much pressure on the black plastic piece in the centre of the Airframe. The whole unit fell apart and I couldn't send it back as I had adapted it for a use it was not intended. My fault entirely.

So could I recommend it?
Yes - if your vents are fixed, ie they don't rotate.
If you are considering "adapting " the Airframe like I did to fix it too the dash permanently then use a smaller screw, a 3mm (M3) should do but be aware if it breaks its not covered by warranty.

Id say its great if your vents are fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective (mostly), 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Nice and compact gadget, you can take it out and rotate so your phone is vertical or horizontal but doesn't really move when it place (pro or con you decide). Mine was a bit scratched upon arrival but other than that a good but of kit. Takes a bit of getting used to and seems underwhelming at first but it's elegance lies in it's simplicity.

As you can see from the pictures it's more of a clip than a "holder" so if you break harshly your phone might be forced out so four stars not five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality bit of kit, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenu Airframe Portable Car Mount - Black/Grey (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I've been looking for a phone holder for a while without success. My dashboard is too textured for the suction variety and I didn't want a screen mounted one because I don't want to advertise to the world that my phone is in the car. So having looked at the possibilities I came across this one. Initially I was a bit reluctant to go with it because of the negative reviews, so I spent a bit of time checking my air vents to assess whether they would be strong enough. I have to say that I'm really pleased with this item. It fits my vents well and they show no signs of breaking as a result of this item.

This item is well packaged and I was quite taken aback by just how small the holder is, but as we know in life, size isn't always important. It feels well made and is quite a nice object to touch. The size of this unit keeps it discreet when it's not in use and it certainly doesn't advertise itself to the casual observer. Living a crime ridden country this is important to me!

The phone sits in it very nicely, I have a Galaxy S3 with a cover and it fits very well. The phone is solid once the car is moving with no rattles or shakes.

All in all I'm very happy with this and would heartily recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews