Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This Guinness Record-breaking live show is excellent, motivating and haunting as an icon in British ...
ROBBIE at his peak...This Guinness Record-breaking live show is excellent, motivating and haunting as an icon in British music history, and got Knebworth remembered by fans all around the world. Although it's like a wild dream to see this in 1080p HD, it's still a far hotter anticipation for us to know when ROBBIE will be back----with his new album.
Published 1 month ago by HAN XIAO

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Mastering went totally wrong!
The concert was recorded in european HD-standard 1080i50 and therefore released in 2003 on DVD with 50 frames per seconds in 576i50.

For the Blu-ray release 10 years after the concert though, something went seriously wrong:
The 1080i50 production was converted for no reason to NTSC standard 1080i59,97 and what's even worse: Using totally unprofessional...
Published 13 months ago by A. Neubert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Mastering went totally wrong!, 3 Aug 2013
The concert was recorded in european HD-standard 1080i50 and therefore released in 2003 on DVD with 50 frames per seconds in 576i50.

For the Blu-ray release 10 years after the concert though, something went seriously wrong:
The 1080i50 production was converted for no reason to NTSC standard 1080i59,97 and what's even worse: Using totally unprofessional processing.

The new videoframes of the target NTSC format have been generated by just mixing the nearby neighbouring frams of the recording format.
That results in pumping of the sharpness depending on the time-distance between original an newly generated frames.

Such conversions are necessary when live sports broadcasts from the US are aired in the UK, because TV-stations only use one fixed framerate depending on the country.
And: Even expensive hardware converter-boxes offer way better quality than the software that was used on this release.

For Blu-ray mastering though the conversion is totally pointless:
Every Blu-ray player can play both systems (PAL+NTSC)!

I've got the original DVD from 2003 and I've bought the Blu-ray to finally get the concert in HD-quality.
Due to the faulty video mastering, a lot of the fantastic original production quality has been spoiled.
While steady scenes are slightly oversharpened, scenes with movement and fine details (crowd, hair, ...) look strange.

The audio isn't too good eigther:
The drums could be more compact, guitars tend to be too loud and isolated, and the brilliant horn arrangements (KIDS!) sound horribly thin.
Expecially the baritone sax sounds like a kazoo!

Universal has delivered a poor job on this release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird image quality, better on dvd, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Bostero (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I owned the dvd version since its release and was amazed with both sound and picture quality. Although audio sounds good in BR (uncompressed audio should do), the picture quality is really bad. Moving images look blurry and out of focus. I suppose it is due to the transfer process. In short, I'd rather play my dvd on my Oppo player than this BR version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Talking about moments of mass distraction..., 16 Aug 2013
Received the Blu-Ray a couple of days ago, watched it yesterday. What can I say. The audio's great, the video's great when the picture's steady. When anybody (or anything) on the screen moves (like 125k people waving their hands), the judder is unbearable and it literally hurts your eyes. Sorry, Rob.

Hope the upcoming "Take The Crown Live" Blu-Ray won't suffer from the same - BAD - mastering/transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor Picture, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a disapointing release this is. Bad picture. Fast scenes are blurry. I am waiting for a new release on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking bluray transfer, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whoever did the bluray conversion / processing needs shooting. See other comments about poor picture quality. Some scenes make your eyes go funny, especially when crowd is jumping, just as if cameras don't focus properly. Some stage scenes when moving to other band players get the same treatment. I am returning my bluray to Amazon for a refund until such time as a better quality transfer is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars almost unwatchable!!, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Charlie (N.West. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this concert so thought i would upgrade to the blu ray version. I remember the concert being filmed in HD so i thought this would be great quality.
I dont know what has gone wrong with the mastering but at times its almost unwatchable, especially when the camera pans there is a jumping/ staggering movement to the whole picture which really affects the viewing. Great concert ruined by very bad blu ray video mastering. Very Disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SAME DVD in another case, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A couple of months ago, I bought "What We Did Last Summer" which is Robbie Williams live performance at Knebworth.
I decided to buy this, I was ever so disappointed, It is the same DVD in a cheap plastic case with a 3 PAGE BOOKLET!!!

I bought this for £10.45 and you can buy the original: What we did last summer DVD for 1p on Amazon and 75p and most CEX stores

Save your money and buy the normal DVD which came out after the concert!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Guinness Record-breaking live show is excellent, motivating and haunting as an icon in British ..., 2 Aug 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Knebworth [Hardback Book + 2DVD + Blu-ray + Deluxe CD] (DVD)
ROBBIE at his peak...This Guinness Record-breaking live show is excellent, motivating and haunting as an icon in British music history, and got Knebworth remembered by fans all around the world. Although it's like a wild dream to see this in 1080p HD, it's still a far hotter anticipation for us to know when ROBBIE will be back----with his new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ROBBIE, 26 April 2014
If you have never seen or heard Robbie Williams perform a live show then watch this he is magicly superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sorry, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cant review as I bought them for a gift for a friend off mine in London I am not a Robbie Williams fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Knebworth [Hardback Book + 2DVD + Blu-ray + Deluxe CD]
£52.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews