Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Vision
I found a great deal to enjoy in Austra's 2011 debut 'Feel It Break'.
This had everything and more to do with the voice of Katie Stelmanis;
a bit of a 'Marmite' instrument, truth-be-told, with its pronounced
Bjork-ish timbre and dramatic vibrato in her upper register but one
which becomes more approachable with greater familiarity and exposure...
Published 14 months ago by The Wolf

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars olympia view
not as good as the first album. lacks a couple of stand out tracks. 7/10. Feel it it Break 9/10.
Published 13 months ago by the noise 76


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Vision, 18 Jun 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
I found a great deal to enjoy in Austra's 2011 debut 'Feel It Break'.
This had everything and more to do with the voice of Katie Stelmanis;
a bit of a 'Marmite' instrument, truth-be-told, with its pronounced
Bjork-ish timbre and dramatic vibrato in her upper register but one
which becomes more approachable with greater familiarity and exposure.

Back for a second crack of the sonic whip, Ms Stelmanis and her fine band
of minstrels have become more listener-friendly in this collection of
twelve new compositions. The beats are stronger and the arrangements have
greater form and solidity than their earlier work. The affectionate nods
and winks to the eighties and a more pronounced electro-pop sensibility make
'Olympia' seem set to win this talented ensemble a whole lot of new friends.

Standout tracks include opening number 'What We Done' which emerges from
the clicks and crackles of its introductory bars in a cloud of warm brass,
grumbling bass and some nicely crafted harmonies; 'Painful Like' with its
bubbling Moroder-esque ostinato, crisp disco high-hat and sparkling synths;
'Home', an elegant melodic invention which delivers what is almost certainly
Ms Stelmanis' finest vocal performance and following a melancholy and strangely
affecting first subject 'You Changed My Life' discovers a dark and undulating
groove which propels the song towards an unsettling and ambiguous conclusion.

There is substantial development evident in the evolution of Austra's vision.
Keep them in your sights; I sense that there will be even greater things to come.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Moyes replacing Sir Alex Ferguson, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
How do you follow an album like Austra's first CD, Feel It Break?

It was one of those unexpected moments in an exhausted world of music where you feel that you are hearing something as special as The Smiths or Pixies. Not the music is anything like those; all that it shares is that X-ingredient (can't bring myself to say X-Factor anymore!). It was an unexpected masterpiece in amazing electronic music.

So what about Olympia then? Anybody who was fearing a Feel It Break Lite II as a follow-up can breathe easy. They have expanded considerably but you can still recognise them instantly.

This CD doesn't headbutt you in the same way as Feel It Break but cor blimey, it doesn't take long to realise that you are listening to a leap forward from a genius act
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars olympia view, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
not as good as the first album. lacks a couple of stand out tracks. 7/10. Feel it it Break 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 7 Nov 2013
By 
D. M. VICTOR (Cornwall , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
This is not a bad album, but it is also not great. I absolutely loved the first album and still listen to it whenever I can. I had high expectations for this follow up, but all I can say is that it is pleasant...and that's it. No real standout tracks. Hope for more with the next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
I won't write much about this album, because the other three reviewers (The Wolf - always a reviewer I take note of - Bobby Chariots and Scott Davies), albeit with differing viewpoints, kind of sum it up.

For me, this isn't as instantly attractive and listenable as 'Feel It Break'. Having said that, I never expected it to be. Yes, the voice of Katie Stelmanis is as brilliant as before and the lustre is there. The melodies again all seem to be in minor keys - no bad thing and something I find attractive in the band.

The album has a couple of standout tracks for me, notably 'Sleep' which really does hit the spot for me, as do 'You Changed My Life', `Fire' and 'Home'. I expect the others (all good) to grow on me much more as I continue to get into it. However, I can understand Scott's viewpoint that this is the second album slump, but if this is the slump, just wait until they hit form again. Three stars for a slump isn't bad going.

No, what this album does for me is say that Austra has produced a very good album, with an increase in confidence, and continue the tight quality of vocals, arrangements and instrumentation to produce a very good set of material. I'll continue to play this and I am sure it will be a constant in the car, MP3 and CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars austra, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
I discovered this group and cd with amazon and his reviews very interesting and I enjoy always every time I listen the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stuff, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
A great fan of Feel it Break ( which I discovered through the remix of The Beat and the Pulse from Orbital's Pusher soundtrack ), what's pleasing about this album is that it develops their sound ( adding live instruments and a more organic, fluid sound ), pushes Katie's vocals and lyrics into more personal and intimate areas, and doesn't feel like a carbon copy of their popular debut. They have a very particular sound, not just down to Katie's extraordinary and often beautiful voice, but also to the style of music and instrumentation and the way the arrangements play around the vocals. This album feels a little more polished, and while it certainly lacks a stand out song such as The Villain or Lose It, it loses nothing for it - feeling like an album as a whole; intimate, heartbreaking, funny, and fragile. Standout songs are What We Done? and the heartbreakingly gorgeous Home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A few good tracks, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
I loved the first album and played it to death, but there are only a few tracks that strong here. Those are great and sustain the album, but it feels like "a difficult second album" to me. One for existing fans, such as myself, rather than quite such a revelation for newcomers as the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
A unique vocal and fresh music sound, mesmerizing and hypnotic. Great atmosphere and good to play whilst driving! Was looking for something different and this is it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tiny bit disappointing, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympia (Audio CD)
After the icy brilliance of "Feel It Break" (a classic debut album if ever there was), expectations were unsurprisingly high for the follow-up. The instrumentation is more varied and there is a dance-vibe, of sorts. Unfortunately, the songs just aren't as strong as before and over the course of 12 tracks, only three really set the pulse racing. Would of made a good debut, ironically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Olympia
Olympia by Austra
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews