Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful!
I first encountered Lucy Ward on a stag-do. Not what you might think as thankfully it was at the wonderful Priddy Folk Festival in 2011 when she managed the feat of standing out from all the other excellent performers (and not just for her striking blue hair!). Her wonderful voice, humour and presence stuck with me so when I saw a new album was on the way I placed a...
Published 14 months ago by Geoff27

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second album blues
Lucy Ward's second LP is a big disappointment. Her new songs lack any originality and the overall sound is same. The Highlight is a cover, Marching through the Green Grass. She remains an amazing talent, but in two years time, let alone a decade, she won't be performing a single track from this flat disappointment. Roll on album number 3.
Published 12 months ago by Terrence O


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful!, 19 Aug 2013
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
I first encountered Lucy Ward on a stag-do. Not what you might think as thankfully it was at the wonderful Priddy Folk Festival in 2011 when she managed the feat of standing out from all the other excellent performers (and not just for her striking blue hair!). Her wonderful voice, humour and presence stuck with me so when I saw a new album was on the way I placed a pre-order. Then the reviews started to come in and they promised good things but in my mind they are almost understated. This is a beautiful album that draws the listener in and stops you in your tracks to sit back and listen. I have had it on repeat since unpacking to on Saturday (now Monday) and am finding new nuances with each listen. Perfect, and hopefully there is much more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably good, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
This is a remarkably good album. Lucy Ward writes and sings original and very good songs which have real musical and lyrical substance and are also very good to listen to. Some, like For The Dead Men, have direct and stark political lyrics rather like the young, angry Billy Bragg. Others - Icarus, Honey and Velvet Sky among them - deal with relationships and more personal matters and are very beautiful, and some, like The Last Pirouette, are surreal and allusive but are no less powerful. There are also some strong echoes of traditional English folk in places, including a couple of traditional songs. It's excellent, varied material and it has a real depth to it.

Lucy Ward has a fine voice and can put over a song with genuine passion and emotion. Personally, I love hearing her strong Derbyshire vowels and am delighted that she hasn't adopted the bland, mid-Atlantic performing accent which is so prevalent in the pop world. She's a good guitarist and the production here is excellent; it is quite rich at times but always to the service of the song, and it allows the material to really shine.

I think this is an album of real quality, and it's one which I will be playing and enjoying for many years, I think. Very strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, highly recommended, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
I have seen Lucy Ward twice now, once at Priddy Festival and most recently at a Folk Festival in Bracknell. Both times her onstage presence was amazing and her music spellbinding...I have had this album on repeat ever since buying it. I love The Last Pirouette, Icarus and For the Dead Men. Buy this album, you will not be disappointed. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go see her!, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
I bought his for my husband's birthday, but I am a fan too. Had a couple of listens before seeing her live for the second time, and whilst I love Last Pirouette, For the Dead Men and Marching Through the Green Grass on the album, her live version of Shellback, with no other accompaniment other than her guitar was spine-tingling. She is a chatty, friendly and passionate musician, and should go further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year?, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. R. S. Beaupre "fairmeadow" (England and Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
What a superb album. In the first line of the first song there is a reference to Melanie Safka. And indeed in Icarus you sense a strong similarity between Lucy Ward's voice and that of Melanie. But only a similarity. Lucy Ward's voice, her song-writing and her singing are both stronger and deeper than those of her illustrious predecessor. In The Consequence there are echoes of Emily Portman while The Last Pirouette is particularly haunting. Overall you are left wondering just how good Lucy Ward can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars agood album by a talented writer & performer, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Flame (MP3 Download)
After seeing her at The acoustic festival 2014, I looked for a recent release by her. A recording is, as always, never as good as the act live but this is a fair representation of some of her work. I particularly love the track Icarus. She comes from the area in which I live so I will look out for other gigs. She is an excellent singer songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant set of songs, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
A lot of variety in this album by one of the rising stars of the folk scene. Lucy has made a name for herself in part because of her stagecraft which would be impressive in a performer twice her age. However the album shows the sensitive side of her writing and singing and demonstrates thoroughly that she is worthy of her developing reputation as an excellent singer-songwriter as well as performer. Each song is different to the next and is excellent in its own right. If you can get to see Lucy live - do so. But whether or not you manage to get to one of her gigs this album is highly recommended. Buy & enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lucy gets better and Better its wonderful to have seen her develop ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
Superb, Lucy gets better and Better its wonderful to have seen her develop from palying Derby festival in the annex a number of years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
Some lovely folky songs here from a very promising artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Second album blues, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Single Flame (Audio CD)
Lucy Ward's second LP is a big disappointment. Her new songs lack any originality and the overall sound is same. The Highlight is a cover, Marching through the Green Grass. She remains an amazing talent, but in two years time, let alone a decade, she won't be performing a single track from this flat disappointment. Roll on album number 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Single Flame
Single Flame by Lucy Ward (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews