Customer Reviews


7 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Witchbreed
Golden Witchbreed is astonishingly good. If you have not read it, you should first read Ursula LeGuin's The Left Hand of Darkness, the archetypal SF novel of an ambassador to an alien world where the people seem like us, but are not.
The ambassador here is female and her blonde hair is enough to make the superstitious dark-haired people she meets suspect that she is...
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by Clare O'Beara

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so.
Nothing wrong with this, but nothing much right either. The story trundles along - no real build up or climax. Nothing to inspire you to go on to the rest of the series.
Published 7 months ago by Morag O'donoghue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Witchbreed, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Paperback)
Golden Witchbreed is astonishingly good. If you have not read it, you should first read Ursula LeGuin's The Left Hand of Darkness, the archetypal SF novel of an ambassador to an alien world where the people seem like us, but are not.
The ambassador here is female and her blonde hair is enough to make the superstitious dark-haired people she meets suspect that she is one of the previous ruling class, the golden witchbreed as they are now known. These aliens are derived from reptiles and still reproduce by laying an egg which the male incubates in a pouch, though the delicate nature of her mission means that the ambassador is afraid to ask right out about reproduction or other personal matters. Instead she travels from place to place around the world of Orthe, observing, experiencing the climate and culture until, like LeGuin's ambassador, she finds herself receiving unfriendly attentions.
The planet is very well described and we really feel what the characters do and fear for their lives. Read it. The second book Ancient Light is also good but ends unhappily, I warn you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing adventure, 1 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book, it is one of the most vividly written fantasy novels I know of. I felt like I was living on the world of Orthe. Amazing, atmospheric description of this alien world and the fascinating complex society of the Telestre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold all the way, 13 July 2013
By 
Smask "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Kindle Edition)
A superb read, literally takes you to another world. Some beautiful characterization, and amazing descriptions. A much loved book that has only just appeared on kindle, hopefully the others will soon join it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, couldn't put it down, 17 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Hardcover)
A fast moving and well written book. I had great difficultly putting this one down. She manages to keep you interested with hints of deeper plots and a fantastic history as a backdrop. The characters are instantly empathised with and just enough detail given to make you want to know more about them. It's great to find a book that has enough material in it to be expanded to two or three books but hasn't been! If you like sci-fi or fantasy fiction and you haven't read this then it's one you will treasure in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Kindle Edition)
One of my favourite books, I have it in hard copy but wanted it on Kindle to have anytime on my phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great but too many typos!, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Kindle Edition)
This has been one of my favourite books since it was published over 30 years ago. It was only recently that I realised that there was a sequel. So I decided to re-read the original again before I started on the follow-up. The story is just as exciting as I remember. My only criticism is that the Kindle edition contains a lot of typing errors, especially in the last 3rd of the book. Words have been missed out and names are spelled wrong eg. Maric suddenly becomes Marie! It doesn't spoil the story for me but it is annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so., 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Witchbreed (Kindle Edition)
Nothing wrong with this, but nothing much right either. The story trundles along - no real build up or climax. Nothing to inspire you to go on to the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Witchbreed
Golden Witchbreed by Mary Gentle
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews