Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happily held up
A great little read in post civil war England. A man with a grudge and a sense of honour. Great new hero.

Well written and captivating adventure. More please.
Published 17 months ago by Mark I. Grant

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highwayman Ironside
The story line was a strong one but it was never developed to its full potential by the author which is a pity.
Published 6 months ago by Marsh Harrier


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happily held up, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mark I. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
A great little read in post civil war England. A man with a grudge and a sense of honour. Great new hero.

Well written and captivating adventure. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable short read, 18 Jun 2013
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
I raced through this ebook in one sitting. Arnold writes with beautifully descriptive language while keeping up the pace of an action-packed novella of intrigue and disguise. Set in a time of political unrest and a society torn in half Highwayman Ironside captures the struggles of someone trying to marry his personal life with his political ideals. I was hoping to see a second in the series - I want to carry on the adventure with highwayman Samson Lyle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class short story, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
HIGHWAYMAN - IRONSIDE Michael Arnold.

Generally I am not overly fond of short stories, if they are good then I tend to be disappointed with the brevity of the tale but if the author is top notch then I will read what-ever their output. This is certainly the case with Michael Arnold, I have now read several of his novels and this new series is of the same standard as his previous work.

There has been a recent renewed interest in historical fiction set in the 17th. Century and particularly The Great Rebellion but Mr Arnold has chosen to make the subject of this series a little different and feature the 'Gentlemen of the Road' the mounted highwaymen who were at their most prolific after the English Civil War.

The storyline is good, a well written absorbing read and the author has included some historial notes which are well worth reading first if the reader is unfamiliar with the era.

I look forward to the next adventure of 'The Ironside Highwayman'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Intriguing, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend downloading this, I've read Michael Arnold's series on the English Civil War, (and am eagerly awaiting book 4 - due very soon!) so thought I'd take a punt on this. It's another well written and engrossing read that I think could well develop into another series. A good mix of Historical fact/setting with a great set of characters.
An absolute bargain for less than £2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and sharp. Read it!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
Highwayman Ironside is a real snorter of a short story. I devoured it in a couple of hours and I loved every minute. In his new hero, Lyle, Mike Arnold has created a wonderful character and I look forward to the next instalment in his adventures. If you like fast-paced historical fiction this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing short story, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
Great feeling for the period and the conflict, no-one has the exclusive on truth and the adventure is pacy and despite that fact there really is not justification for being a highwayman you are on his side. Michael helps to add colour and flavour to the muddy water of ten civil war. Read it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an exciting story - well researched, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
It,s exciting descriptive story.
As I read it, I was there-fighting,galloping and flirting
Bernard Cornwall at his best, and then some
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new characters, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
Review
This is a short story (before anyone complains about not getting a full book for their £1.99) It is however a blooming splendid short story. Michael Arnold writes this era better than anyone in the genre, his books just reek of cordite from the guns and resound with the clash of steel and the pounding of horses hooves. This short story is no different from the Stryker series in its power and accuracy, but its characters especially his new protagonist Lyle. A man haunted and angry, but a man who if not controlled by honour at least controlled by a need for vengeance against the very people he worked for and with.
This splendid little tale is the beginning of what i hope will be a very long running series, a chance to take a hit of Michael Arnold's skill between each and every fabulous Stryker novel.
The new one due July 4th (UK)
(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highway Robbery? - not this book!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
This is Arnold's first foray into the eBook format and what a debut!
I read the short Historical Note first as I'm not that knowledgeable about the period of Cromwell's Protectorate. I recommend you do the same. I never liked Cromwell; he was a tyrant and a dictator (not, as some have claimed, the greatest Englishman who ever lived!)
I have read and enjoyed all the books in The Civil War Chronicles and eagerly await the next in the series. I fervently hope Major Samson Lyle becomes a second focus for Michael Arnold's undoubted talents. We all have a smattering of knowledge about the English Civil Wars and of the Restoration in 1660. But what of the intervening years? Arnold's short story gives us a little history and a point of view to consider. The rule of the County-based Major Generals, enforced by local militias; the suppression of supporters of the old regime; censorship and the closure of theatres and other entertainments; religious intolerance. Into this landscape rides Samson Lyle, former Parliamentary soldier, now disillusioned and war-weary. He has seen the atrocities Cromwell perpetrated in Ireland and his own family was destroyed by Parliamentary troops searching for him following his desertion.
No more spoilers!
The writing is taut. The action is breakneck. The story is alive with terrific characters (some with ridiculous names!)
Let's hope it doesn't take a year for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding non stop action, 24 May 2014
By 
Robi Kemp (Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highwayman: Ironside (Kindle Edition)
Too short! I so want to read more about Major Lyle and his companions. What an epic film it would make. James Purfoy could be Lyle. I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highwayman: Ironside
Highwayman: Ironside by Michael Arnold
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews