Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So happy
I am very happy with this product I finally get to watch my best film over an over again :D
Published 22 months ago by Theemilyplan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Pagemaster dvd
Arrived on time and in excellent condition but didnt realise it couldnt be played on my British DVD and it wasnt stated on the ad that it may not play in certain areas it does however state region 1 but i wasnt aware of region until a friend explained so wasted money, would cost more to send back, wont be ordering again.
Published 12 days ago by Rhonda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So happy, 8 Nov 2012
I am very happy with this product I finally get to watch my best film over an over again :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pagemaster [1994] [Blu-ray] [US Import], 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pagemaster [Blu-ray] [1994] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
The Pagemaster [1994] [Blu-ray] [US Import] LIVELY! VIVID! APPEALING TO ALL AGE GROUPS!

Enter a magical world of adventure and fantasy! When Young Richard Tyler [Macaulay Culkin] takes shelter from a storm in an empty library, he is suddenly transported into the wondrous world of The Pagemaster! Face-to-face with some of the world's most fearsome literary legends - mighty Moby Dick, treacherous Treasure Island pirates and even a fierce fire-breathing dragon – Richard Tyler must conquer his greatest fears, or he'll never get back home! Co-starring Christopher Lloyd, and featuring the voices of Whoopi Goldberg, Patrick Stewart and Leonard Nimoy, this live-action/animated adventure provides inspiration to the imagination and entertainment for the whole family!

Cast: Macaulay Culkin, Christopher Lloyd, Ed Begley, Jr. and Mel Harris

Voice Cast: Macaulay Culkin, Christopher Lloyd, Patrick Stewart, Whoopi Goldberg, Frank Welker, Leonard Nimoy, George Hearn, Jim Cummings, Phil Hartman, Ed Gilbert, B.J. Ward, Dorian Harewood, Richard Erdman, Fernando Escandon, and Robert Picardo

Director: Joe Johnston [live-action], Maurice Hunt [animation] and Pixote Hunt

Producers: David Kirschner and Paul Gertz

Screenplay: David Casci, David Kirschner and Ernie Contreras

Composer: James Horner

Cinematography: Alexander Gruszynski [live-action]

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 2.0 Dolby Digital Surround and French: 2.0 Dolby Digital Surround

Subtitles: English SDH and Spanish

Region: Region A/1

Running Time: 75 minutes

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Fox Searchlight

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Richard Tyler [Macaulay Culkin] is a kid with an overactive imagination... of the wrong kind. He's obsessed with accidents and injury statistics, and as a result he's afraid to do just about anything other than cower in his room, which is plastered with warning posters of all kinds. Then one day while out on his bicycle, he's caught in a sudden downpour and takes shelter in a nearby building, which happens to be the library. To the chagrin of the librarian, he's uninterested in the books that line the shelves, until a touch of magic sends him into the world of the books themselves. Befriended by a swashbuckling novel named Adventure, he begins a voyage home that will call on him to face his own fears and discover inner strength.

‘The Pagemaster’ is mostly an animated feature, framed by live-action sections. I enjoyed the style of the hand-drawn animations, which are fairly simple without being simplistic. Each of the three main book characters, Adventure [Patrick Stewart], Fantasy [Whoopi Goldberg], and Horror [Frank Welker], has a highly individual and creative appearance that matches perfectly the way the voices are done. The voices are, in fact, uniformly excellent, which shouldn't come as a surprise given the slate of actors assembled: apart from Stewart and Goldberg, we also get Leonard Nimoy and Christopher Lloyd in supporting parts.

However, after watching this film, I have come to the conclusion that Macaulay Culkin may be famous, but he is a lousy actor. Or, at any rate, but this time he is really good in ‘The Pagemaster’ and with his live-action performance characterised by slightly wooden facial expressions and unconvincing body language. This became apparent to me at the point in ‘The Pagemaster’ when the film switches to animation: I suddenly realised that the animated character of Richard Tyler was doing a significantly better job of acting than the live Macaulay Culkin. Not good. Fortunately, the animated portion takes up most of the film, and Macaulay Culkin does an adequate job of providing the voice for the cartoon boy.

It's hard to criticise a film that takes as its premise "reading is good"... but the truth be told, I really don't think that The Pagemaster does much with that premise. Look at it this way: if an alien visitor to the planet Earth saw this movie without some cultural explanations (we'll assume that our hypothetical alien speaks English) it would conclude that "books" are rectangular-shaped cuddle toys. Book-shaped objects are found throughout the film's scenes, and of course several of the main characters are, literally, books, but there are no scenes anywhere that involve actually reading these books. As I said, this may seem like splitting hairs unnecessarily, but it seems to me that The Pagemaster should have (and easily could have) gone just a step further in embracing its theme.

At only 75 minutes, ‘The Pagemaster’ is a really good length for its main target audience of children, and the story keeps moving along at a very lively pace that should keep them interested more than usual. I don't think there's a whole lot of substance for the adult viewer, but it's moderately entertaining at least to keep the adult audience interested. Readers who enjoy the works of Robert Louis Stevenson in particular will be tickled to see the number of references or actual story elements drawn from his books.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘The Pagemaster’ is presented on Blu-ray courtesy of Fox Searchlight with a beautiful 1080p transfer in 1.85:1. This is a solid if just slightly underwhelming looking transfer that benefits from elements with only very minor damage. Balancing that is just slightly tepid looking colour, though perhaps ironically the few CGI elements seem to have weathered the storm of time better than some of the traditionally drawn cell animation. There's a completely natural layer of grain in evidence here and if the transfer looks slightly soft a lot of the time, it's not necessarily a distraction, especially in the longer animated section, where things look kind of "old school" anyway. Line detail remains reasonably sharp in this long section and colours, while not quite as vivid as some may hope, are nicely saturated and certainly very varied. As with the animated sequence, the live action bookending moments look just slightly soft, but feature are good detail in close-ups and accurate, nicely saturated colours.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – ‘The Pagemaster’ sounds brilliant in its 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround mix and is nicely immersive, though it's perhaps just slightly less rambunctious than some might expect from a fantasy film like this one. Things get off to a good start in the storm sequence, when the roar of thunder gives the low end a real workout and the pelt of rain and hail fills the surrounds. Once the animated section takes over, there are some great sound effects, including some spooky moments in the graveyard leading up to Jekyll's house, the nice sea sequence which find Richie chasing Moby Dick, and the fun treasure hunting sequence with Long John Silver. The two featured songs nicely fill the surround channels as well. The mix here is a bit on the noisy side at times, and unfortunately the tendency is to place all the dialogue in the front channels, where it only sounds more crowded, especially when characters are talking over each other. That said, fidelity is excellent and dynamic range is very wide.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Music Video: “Dream Away” [4:47] features Babyface and Lisa Stansfield (of early-'90s mega-hit "All Around the World" fame).

Exclusive Behind-The-Scenes Documentary [23:10] is what I assume must have been a half hour television special, hosted by Christopher Lloyd. There are some decent interviews here and a look at the voice recording and storyboarding process. There's also a brief look at the CGI elements (wait until you get a look at the old style CRT monitor!).

Theatrical Trailer 1 [1:04]

Theatrical Trailer 2 [1:02]

Finally, ‘The Pagemaster’ is technically the movie is to me an unqualified triumph. While the live action special effects are impressive, the animation appears somewhat rushed. It's certainly not the worst to have graced the big screen in the past few years (that distinction probably goes to FenGully), but certain sequences, most notably those involving ‘The Pagemaster’ who resembles Gandalf from the animated The Hobbit looked unfinished. On the other hand, the fire-breathing dragon is suitably imposing and menacing. The characters of Fantasy, Adventure and Horror are wonderfully acted and supplied with some cheeky repartee by producer-writer David Kirschner. "How'd you like to curl up with a good book?" takes on an altogether different meaning when Adventure suggests it to Fantasy. The animation is not up to the standards set by Disney's "Beauty and the Beast," but it's cheery and comical enough to keep the little ones interested. Despite a lot of negative reviews towards this film, I personally think it is totally brilliant and enjoyable romp, despite the fact that I have never been a great fan of the precocious Macaulay Culkin and his previous films, but this one hits the mark 100% and ever since I had this on a Region 1 DVD, I have enjoyed this type of concept of live action combined with animation and to now have it on the Blu-ray format, brings this film to even greater heights of enjoyment and I know with each viewing I will love this film even more and that is why I am so pleased to add this to my ever increasing Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watching the mystery and adventure unfold, 8 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This was a film that I watched many times with my daughter. It tells the story of a young boy who does not seem to fit in - he discovers a world of mystery and adventure while sheltering from the rain in a library.
Watching this film had two positive outcomes (1)this film inspired my daughters imagination and (2)it encouraged her to read many more books than I ever did when I was her age.
Years later writing this review of a film that I have long enjoyed.....I consider this film to be the film that inspired my daughter's imagination. This film is probably now lost to us who would recommend it as the Harry Potter phenomenon has taken over. However, I would still recommend this movie to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!!!...When will it be out in the UK???, 15 Jan 2008
By 
K. Chauhan "KayJay" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Probably the most under-rated family movie of all time. If you want a fantasy film to watch...get this!!!

It does everything a Disney movie (Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, Jungle Book, Fantasia) does and much, much more. Macaulay Culkin does his best performance!! Everything about this movie is perfect...the songs touch your heart...the story is enchanting...the acting is superb...the dialog makes you believe...the animation is better that anything Disney made at the time (and Disney is the standard)...and the atmosphere is indescribable! Also listen out for the voices of Whoopi Goldberg, Patrick Stewart and Leonard Nimoy (yes, this is not Star Trek)!!!

Now when will it come out in the UK????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is a fantastic therapeutic metaphora for childrens, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
Many of us, parents that try to educate our childrens,sometimes do not know how to help our soons to win their fears: the metaphoras are one o the best way to do it,since they put a little seed of change that, if germinate, can provide a big change whit a little effort.Buy this movie to your soons, and let your love do the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pagemaster dvd, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time and in excellent condition but didnt realise it couldnt be played on my British DVD and it wasnt stated on the ad that it may not play in certain areas it does however state region 1 but i wasnt aware of region until a friend explained so wasted money, would cost more to send back, wont be ordering again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with my film it was in great condition many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth ordering for you and the family, 29 Jun 2014
Loved this movie as a kid so glad I could get it so mine could watch it. Took a few weeks to come but plays perfectly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love the film but beware., 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself is just as excellent as i remember but beware if purchasing from UK it does not work on all DVD player hence region 1 only but works on most modern DVD players which play nearly all regions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did what was said, quick to arrive and is was in good condition! Great service and I would use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pagemaster [Blu-ray] [1994] [US Import]
Pagemaster [Blu-ray] [1994] [US Import] by Macaulay Culkin (Blu-ray - 2013)
Used & New from: 7.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews