Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- I Don't Think So My Love?
At the time of writing this review there was no track listing given.

I put the tracks on to tell potential buyers what's on the CDs.

I think most reasonable people would agree that if you thinking of buying a compilation set then it is important to know what is on the Cds?
But Amazon finally get around to putting the track listing, and in this...
Published 13 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap
There is a sizeable number of compilations available tracing mid-20th century girl group pop. This 60 song effort - which is comprised of A- and B-sides released between 1960 and 1962 - adds to that list. It boasts a few of the very best and most well-known examples of that oft-derided genre: The Crystals' 'He's A Rebel'; The Marvelettes' 'Beechwood 4-5789'; The Chiffons'...
Published 8 months ago by S. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- I Don't Think So My Love?, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
At the time of writing this review there was no track listing given.

I put the tracks on to tell potential buyers what's on the CDs.

I think most reasonable people would agree that if you thinking of buying a compilation set then it is important to know what is on the Cds?
But Amazon finally get around to putting the track listing, and in this case the ability to hear snippets of the tracks.
This makes my original listing look silly.

So please excuse this duplication?
Here is the review.

This is bound to be one of the more popular releases in the fabulous run of old record labels.
Simply put ther really isn't a bad track on here.

These sets really are a steal at this price.

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished.

Now these sets really are a mixed bag.

Some tracks and artists you will know- others not.

But that is the real joy- you just might discover some tracks you have never heard and enjoy if not then the FF feature is just for you-but I really don't think you'd want to miss a single track.

The set is excelent BUT really recommend that you get this collection while you can.

Enjoy.

CD1

1. He's A Rebel - The Crystals

2. Tell Him - The Exciters

3. Beechwood 4-5789 - The Marvelettes

4. Soldier Boy - The Shirelles

5. Let Me Go The Right Way - The Supremes

6. Don't Hang Up - The Orlons

7. Look In My Eyes - The Chantels

8. Over There - The Bobbettes

9. Hard To Get - The Blossoms

10. The Duchess Of Earl - Bobbie Smith & The Dream Girls

11. You're A Hard Guy To Please - The Contessas

12. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman - Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles

13. Come On Let Me Try - Linda & The Del Rios

14. Let Me Be The One - The Paris Sisters

15. Silhouettes - The Ronettes

16. Doctor Of Hearts - The Chiffons

17. You Should Have Told Me - The Angels

18. He's Sure The Boy I Love - The Crystals

19. Everybody Loves A Lover - The Shirelles

20. My Dream - The Sharmettes

CD2

1. Chains - The Cookies

2. Son In Law - The Blossoms

3. My Baby Won't Come Back - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas

4. Mama Said - The Shirelles

5. What A Nice Way To Turn Seventeen - The Crystals

6. I'm Blue (The Gong-Gong Song) - The Ikettes

7. Playboy - The Marvelettes

8. You Bet I Would - The Ronettes

9. Cry Baby Cry - The Angels

10. Summertime - The Chantels

11. Mr Magic Moon - The Kim Sisters

12. Your Heart Belongs To Me - The Supremes

13. You're Gonna Pay - The Neevets

14. Never Never - The Chiffons

15. Joey Baby - Anita & Th' So-And-So's

16. The Wah-Watusi - The Orlons

17. The Things I Want To Hear (Pretty Words) - The Shirelles

18. No One Ever Tells You - The Crystals

19. Are You Satisfied - The Bobbettes

20. Believe Me My Angel - The Veneers

CD3

1. Uptown - The Crystals

2. Time Changes Things - Diana Ross & The Supremes

3. Too Strong To Be Strung Along...- The Marvelettes

4. Tonights The Night - The Shirelles

5. On The Wagon - The Charmaines

6. A Little Tear (Was Falling From My Eyes) - Linda Martell And The Anglos

7. The Search Is Over - The Blossoms

8. I Don't Like It Like That (pt. 1) - The Bobbettes

9. Still - The Chantels

10. Trouble On My Mind - The Ikettes

11. I'll Have To Let Him Go - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas

12. Hard Way To Go - The Exciters

13. Pop Pop Pop Pie - The Sherrys

14. Mighty Fine - O'Nita Hammond & Group

15. Tell Me - The Sharmettes

16. I Don't Think So - The Shirelles

17. No More Tomorrows - The Chiffons

18. Stranger In My Arms - The Cookies

19. My Love - The Shondells

20. He Knows I Love Him Too Much - The Paris Sisters

21. Cookies -Stephanie D'Or And the Dockers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for sixties soul, doowop and girl group fans., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
If you're a sixties soul or girl group fan you'll probably have a lot of these tracks already. But in my opinion this set is worth getting for the one track My Dream by The Sharmettes. I'd never heard this before and it's an absolute classic doowop song. (Up there with Little Darlin' by The Diamonds etc). If you like doowop, soul and sixties pop you should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, 6 Jan 2014
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
There is a sizeable number of compilations available tracing mid-20th century girl group pop. This 60 song effort - which is comprised of A- and B-sides released between 1960 and 1962 - adds to that list. It boasts a few of the very best and most well-known examples of that oft-derided genre: The Crystals' 'He's A Rebel'; The Marvelettes' 'Beechwood 4-5789'; The Chiffons' 'He's So Fine'; The Shirelles' 'Soldier Boy'; The Chantels' 'Look In My Eyes', and The Cookies' 'Chains'. They offer compelling evidence that sweet harmonies, intelligent musical arrangements, and emotionally simplistic lyrics can sometimes be a winning combination. He's A Rebel is also graced with a smattering of half-forgotten gems as well, like The Ronettes' 'Silhouettes', The Donays' 'Devil In His Heart', and The Ikettes' 'Trouble On My Mind'.

But this cheap-looking, cheaply-priced compilation doesn't convince often enough. That is reflected in the fact that many artists aren't represented by their best material: The Paris Sisters, The Supremes and Martha Reeves & The Vandellas are better than 'You Bet I Would' 'Let Me Be The One', 'Time Changes Things', and 'I'll Have To Let Him Go'; as their big hits 'I Love How You Love Me'; 'Baby Love' and 'Dancing The Street' - which aren't included here - prove. Whilst the presence of so many indifferent B-sides - like 'No One Ever Tells You', 'Too Strong To Be Strung Along', 'The Things I Want To Hear (Pretty Words)' and 'You Should Have Told Me' - spread out across this unwieldy 3CD package also doesn't aid much matters either. Issues with playing the CD's through media player's, difficult-to-read liner notes and occasionally very poor mastering solidify the feeling of a brilliant opportunity maybe only half-realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits and failures, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
Girl group collectors are spoilt with the vast amount of comps which are of 3 kinds-the hits,the failures and the kind that One Day specialize in namely a mix of the two.Though the Chantels' version of Summertime was on the Hot 100 its a first on CD as even the recent double on Jasmine missed off this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Groups of the Sixties, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
What caught my eye when looking for a cd of 60's girl groups was the photograph of the beautiful and sexy Ronettes on the cover.
I looked through the itinerary and was amazed at the range on this cd. All the well known groups are there with their biggest hits, but what atracted me was some of the lesser known girl groups singing songs I had never before heard. Some of these were a revelation and goes to show that the Americans had something that good old Blighty could never hope to come close to.
there are 60 classic songs spread over 3 cd's and for the price this compilation is too good to miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Girl Group purchase, 24 April 2014
By 
J. S. Lloyd (Auckland, Auckland New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
Excellent price makes it a must for both afficianados and those new to the genre. Its worth buying as a present for someone yet to discover this era and style(s) of music.
It's an interesting range of big hits from the best known groups (He's a Rebel by the Crystals & Tell Him by the Exciters) through lesser known tracks by the same big groups (Let Me Go The Right Way by the Supremes or Doctor of Hearts by the Chiffons), includes some well known tunes from lesser known groups (I Sold My Heart to the Junkman- The Blue-Belles) and best of all includes some obscure tracks that you might never have heard before and will then wonder why they aren't standards.
For me A Little Tear by Linda Martell & The Anglos would be reason enough to purchase this collection on its own. Although Linda went on to be the first African American hit country artist with a later album (soon to be rereleased on CD), this track is not available anywhere else and is a gem that should be in collection of the genre. If you purchase this its hard to believe you won't discover a similar track yourself.
As another reviewer has indicated this is all public domain material and although the packaging is quite attractive-who could complain about Ronnie & the girls, and all their hairdos gracing the cover-it is certainly not of Ace, Varese or Bear standard in terms of the almost non-existent track or artist information.
But who cares, for this price you get an eclectic set of 60 great tracks that include some stuff thats just not available anywhere else. Anyway, if this turns you on to the girl group sound you can always find out more on the web, and if you are already hooked, you'll just be thrilled to have added some hard to find tracks to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 20 April 2014
By 
D. Allison (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
I just love this album, so glad I got it. I already have the Be My Baby album, which comprises of many hits from the same era, but the big difference with this CD is that a lot of the songs and groups are far lesser known, but so 60's. This makes for a pleasant change to hear songs that are less familiar than hits. There are three CD's in the set with a total of 60 great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little collection (but is only £3 in the supermarket), 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
Great value (but even better value in the supermarket. Hate giving money to supermarkets as they are killing towns, but Amazon's hardly innocent of that ....)but not as good value as the Shirelles CD I bought from Amazon (I take it all back, Amazon!) for A PENNY.
This music is great. Think of 'American Graffiti', 'Quadrophenia', 'The Wanderers' etc etc. It just oozes hormones and will make your bubblegum pop.
Ideally you want all this stuff on 45s and a Dansette or a Black Box to spin them on, but, hell! this is so much more convenient and you can play it in the car.
I think you have to be barmy not to like this stuff. Just listen to 'Wah Watussi' by the Orlons for instance - absolutely and gloriously mental!
Yeah, it's soppy, trite,at times maudlin, hysterical - but it's fun. There's a lot of talent there too, featuring great musicians such as Hal Blaine and King Curtis on the backing tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
Nice mixture of the very well known and lesser known tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's (Audio CD)
This 3 cd release from One Day Music is a companion CD to Will you Love Me Tomorrow ,The Girl Groups of the 50s-60s [ See My Review] . It has the same overall feel and my thoughts could apply equally to both releases . It's a pity that this release was not restricted down to two CDs as again we are presented with numerous clunkers spread over the three discs .
CD1 kicks off in fine style with the Crystals ,He's a Rebel but of course you all know it was not the actual Crystals singing .Written by Gene Pitney Spector could not wait to get the number recorded, with the Crystals out of town ,what the heck ,I own the Crystals name thought Phil ,lets get The Blossoms to record it and with the fabulous Darlene Love[Wright ] on lead it was a big hit ,probably not with the real Crystals though who heard the disc with their name on it ,firstly on a car radio .
Other strong songs on this disc are Tell Him by The Exciters who could have perhaps made it big in the UK had it not been for the fact that nearly everything they released was weakened by inferior cover versions
Soldier Boy ,The Shirelles and Dont Hang Up ,The Orlons ,He's Sure The Boy I love ,The Crystals ,all well known tracks .
Track 10 gives us The Duchess Of Earl not the copy answer record by the Pearlettes but a great doo-w*p offering by Bobbie Smith and the Dream Girls . This Detroit group released around 10 records from1959 through to 1965 on various labels ,their story is long ,to long for this review ] they were very acomplished ,appeared at the Apollo but somehow did not quite make the real big time in the girl group scene . Written by Maron Mc Kenzie Duchess has a different tune and words to the Gene Chandler hit but trouble was in store , Chandlers management kicked up a stink and demanded the writer credits as For Duke of Earl ,there was a capitulation from The Dreamgirls management who also lost heart in the record and stopped promoting it .
The Ronettes give a strong version of the old R&B number originally done by The Rays ,Silhouettes ,
Disc 2-3 Here we have old favourites such as Chains ,The Cookies ,He's so Fine ,The Chiffons The Wah-Watusi ,The Orlons
Uptown by the Crystals bears the unmistakeable sound of Spector ,originally Philles 102 we also have the flip What a nice way to turn Seventeen .
The Paris Sisters are well represented here but not their big one I Love How You Love Me . Despite the soft murmurings of Priscilla Paris I doubt if they would have ever have achieved fame had it not been for Spector .After rowing with him they signed with MGM but were commercial failures .
The Chantels give us Look in my Eyes and Still ,without doubt the finest singing voices of the girl group genre ,if you like what you hear get their The Best of the Chantels on Rhino simply sublime .
So to round up a fairly good selection ,60 tracks ,pretty cheap will give plenty of listening pleasure ,,just keep your finger on the skip button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

He's  A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's
He's A Rebel: The Girl Groups of the 60's by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews