Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing Don't Believe Him Donna Take It Easy Baby.
SOLDIER BOY THE SCEPTOR RECORDS STORY 1961 - 1962
contains 40 great tracks now in the public domain which means that the rights are any ones.
This is a chance to buy a whole lot of original recordings tracks for a fiver.

This is not a review but Amazon have 'lumped' all the tracks together making it hard for a person to actually see what's on the...
Published on 18 Jun. 2013 by Glenn Cook

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but Ace it ain't
If you only know the Scepter label through its biggest names like the Shirelles, then this is an inexpensive introduction to the rest of its earlier (public domain restrictions) output. The sides are varied and interesting, although there aren't many I'd put in the category of forgotten gems. Novelty and pop mostly, less sophisticated than the better-known artist. It's...
Published 13 months ago by Pismotality


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing Don't Believe Him Donna Take It Easy Baby., 18 Jun. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
SOLDIER BOY THE SCEPTOR RECORDS STORY 1961 - 1962
contains 40 great tracks now in the public domain which means that the rights are any ones.
This is a chance to buy a whole lot of original recordings tracks for a fiver.

This is not a review but Amazon have 'lumped' all the tracks together making it hard for a person to actually see what's on the CDs
So I ve cleaned it foe you and made it easier to read.

If you cut and paste please ignore track 21 on disc two!

Their greatest hit and breakthrough was probably in 1960 with the Shirelles hit 'Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?'
But the rest are really worth listening to and at this price are great value/

CD1

1. Soldier Boy - The Shirelles
2. Didn't I Tell You - Tommy Hunt
3. Don't Make Me Over - Dionne Warwick
4. Don't Believe Him Donna - Lenny Miles
5. Why Why Why - Don Crawford & The Escorts
6. Uh Oh - The Imps
7. To Make A Long Story Short - Eddie & The Starlites
8. Hasten Jason - The Singing Roulettes
9. Helplessly - Jackie Hayes
10. Face Of An Angel - Joey Dee & The Starliters
11. Boys - The Shirelles
12. Who's Gonna Mention My Name - Lonnie Sattin
13. Faded Roses - Matthew Reid
14. Take It Easy Baby - Rufus Beacham
15. If You See Bill - Tammy Montgomery
16. Human - Tommy Hunt
17. Symbol Of Love - The Titones
18. Seymour - Lori Rogers
19. Jimmy's In A Hurry - Valli
20. Dedicated To The One I Love - The Shirelles

CD2

1. Will You Love Me Tomorrow - The Shirelles
2. I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself - Tommy Hunt
3. Ugly Duckling - Don Crawford & The Escorts
4. That'll Get It - The Imps
5. Pretty Little Girl - Eddie & The Starlites
6. Shimmy Baby - Joey Dee & The Starliters
7. The In-Between Years - James MacArthur
8. Invisible - Lenny Miles
9. I Smiled Yesterday - Dionne Warwick
10. No Man Is King - Rufus Beacham
11. Baby It's You - The Shirelles
12. Cupid's Arrow - Del Marino
13. Goddess Of Love - Lee Mareno With The Regents
14. It's Mine - Tammy Montgomery
15. Wouldn't It Be Goin' Steady - The Singing Roulettes
16. I'm Your Soldier Boy - Soldier Boys
17. So Lonely - Tommy Hunt
18. It's Love That Really Counts - The Shirelles
19. The Movies - The Titones
20. Summertime - Rufus Beacham
21. Hello Sailor- Stevie D'Or and the Dockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but Ace it ain't, 19 May 2014
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
If you only know the Scepter label through its biggest names like the Shirelles, then this is an inexpensive introduction to the rest of its earlier (public domain restrictions) output. The sides are varied and interesting, although there aren't many I'd put in the category of forgotten gems. Novelty and pop mostly, less sophisticated than the better-known artist. It's also worth saying, for those who have been spoilt by the production values of the likes of Ace Records and Bear Family, that sound quality is no more than just-about-adequate for some tracks, so if you're expecting to luxuriate in the arrangements, anaylsing them piece by piece, think again, Buster. But there's a limit to how much you can complain at this price - even cheaper at a certain record shop at the time of writing. I was glad to hear it but I don't think I'll be returning to it very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A year in the life, 1 July 2013
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
Scepter/Wand Records began in 1959 and the first single was called Ugly Duckling.So here is a pretty complete listing as appears on Global Dog.
The label ran till 1970 and licensed a lotta stuff such as the Kingsmen,the Guess Who and Mark Wynter.Maybe there'll be a Volume 2.
Precious little was issued in the U K and it passed from one licensee to another
So in other words no Chuck Jackson,Maxine Brown or B J Thomas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
Great albums from the 1960s love all music from that decade ,Because I was a 1960s Teenager.Music you could listen to..
Not like the rubbish played to-day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holds a light, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
Great label, so soulful, crisp, at times a touch of studio distortion, some classics and some new to my ears, love this labels output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old 60's pop, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. R. Smith "sasky" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
What great value if you love old American pop from the early 60's. Brings back fond memories of when I first started my vast music cllection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
excellent sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Label collection, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story (Audio CD)
Mostly good stuff even though I have a lot of it on other CDs. Worth the price for filling in the gaps in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story
Soldier Boy the Scepter Records Story by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews