Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Track Listing-It's Mine Sugar Dumpling!
Northern Soul Floor Fillers is one of those, to borrow Ronseal's ads, does exactly what it says on the tin or in this case the rear cover. All are original recordings by the original artists and are 100 per cent boba fide floorfillers!

Now if you really want to torture and make a Northern Soul fan go mad...
nail his feet to the floor and play this...
Published 16 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Floorfillers
Not what inside this one, there are 6/7 songs that you would go onto the floor for, put that's about it
Published 4 months ago by Adrian Doran


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Track Listing-It's Mine Sugar Dumpling!, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
Northern Soul Floor Fillers is one of those, to borrow Ronseal's ads, does exactly what it says on the tin or in this case the rear cover. All are original recordings by the original artists and are 100 per cent boba fide floorfillers!

Now if you really want to torture and make a Northern Soul fan go mad...
nail his feet to the floor and play this loud!!

But Amazon have 'scrunched' up all the tracks making it hard to see which great tracks and by which great artists are featured.

So I've compiled this list with the hope that it makes it easier to read.

If you cut and paste please exclude the last track on CD3.

CD1

1. Let Me Be Your Boy - Wilson Pickett
2. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow - Marvin Gaye
3. Comin' Home Baby - Mel Tormé
4. If Your Mother Only Knew - The Miracles
5. Sugar Dumpling - Sam Cooke
6. Disillusioned - The Tams
7. Miracle - The O'Jays
8. It's Mine - Tammy Montgomery
9. A Love That Can Never Be - The Satintones
10. Don't Let Her Take My Baby - Mitty Collier
11. Hide Nor Hair - Ray Charles
12. If You Don't Come - Patience Valentine
13. Catch That Teardrop - The 5 Royales
14. He's The One That Rings My Bell - Sherri Taylor
15. Earthquake - Roy Hamilton
16. The Wrong Girl - The Showmen
17. I've Got A Feelin' - Big Maybelle
18. Jaywalking - The Upsetters
19. You Threw A Lucky Punch - Gene Chandler
20. Your Heart Belongs To Me - The Supremes
21. Am I Falling In Love - Maxine Brown
22. What Good Am I Without You - Jackie Wilson
23. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby - Little Eva
24. Some Of Your Lovin' - Johnny Nash
25. How Long Can This Go On - Little Junior Parker

CD2

1. A Shot Of Rhythm and Blues - Arthur Alexander
2. Chaperone - LaBrenda Ben & The Beljeans
3. Don't Play That Song (You Lied) - Ben E. King
4. Fortune Teller - Benny Spellman
5. Baby Cakes - Dee Dee Sharp
6. A Miracle - James Ray
7. Hush Heart - Baby Washington
8. She's A Trouble Maker - The Majors
9. Jamie - Eddie Holland
10. Letter Full Of Tears - Gladys Knight & The Pips
11. Any Way You Wanta - Harvey Fuqua
12. (There Goes) The Forgotten Man - Jimmy Radcliffe
13. Street Of Tears - Etta James
14. Tower Of Strength - Gene McDaniels
15. This Little Love Of Mine - Buddy Ace
16. Gonzo - James Booker
17. I Let Myself Go - Geraldine Hunt
18. Way Over There - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles
19. Mojo Hannah - Henry Lumpkin
20. Don't Mess With My Man - Irma Thomas
21. Daddy Rollin' Stone - Jimmy Ricks And The Ravers
22. Mind Over Matter - Nolan Strong And The Diablos
23. Who's Gonna Mention My Name - Lonnie Sattin
24. You're A Little Too Late - Danny Owens
25. Any Day Now (My Wild Beautiful Bird) - Chuck Jackson
26. I left My Heart in a Cleethorpes Dance Hall- Stevie D'or.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly not Northern Soul, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
I bought this cd because I'm always on the look-out for rare tracks.
Now of course Benny Spellman's Fortune Teller is a top northern tune but let's be honest like another reviewer has said this compilation is not of the right genre. If anyone has been to Oistins in Barbados and watched the old time dancers then this is the era, 2 dancers arm to arm, not how I remember the Casino or Blackpool Mecca.
However, luckily over the years I have come to enjoy all types of good old soul music and there are some very good tracks making the small price paid worth it- Gene Chandler, Jimmy Radcliffe and Roy Hamilton. Of course most of these artists have made excellent northern soul tracks but these compilers need to understand that the artist is not what makes northern soul but the track itself!
I think the title will only serve to confuse any newcomers to the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Floorfillers, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
Not what inside this one, there are 6/7 songs that you would go onto the floor for, put that's about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
Great bit of music, bring me back to my youth, never thought anything would do that, thanks for this. great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stompers all the way, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
this takes me back to all those 'nighters and 'dayers I went to all those years ago, when petrol was much, much cheaper and you didn't have to lock everything up to feel safe...never mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back at the Wheel!, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
I used to go to the Twisted Wheel and other venues in Manchester in the 60's and ultimately, The Torch and the Casino. This collection of tracks stirred many a memory of all-nighters and popping home on the iconic SX200!.

Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance, dance, dance!, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
Some brilliant old dance tunes on this album and can't go wrong for the price.

I would recommend to all NS fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because i like 60s/ 70s soul music and a lot of these northern soul compilations do often include some missed gems as well as a lot of crap. This CD to me is too early to be classed as soul let a alone floorfillers most tracks being from the early 1960's and i think are simply pop music by mostly black artists. I doubt whether any more than 5 or 6 have been played at any northern soul venues. Brilliantly packaged but musically the title is very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. R. Brennan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
One of the best Northern Soul CDs I have in my collection. I would recommend it to any who keep the faith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Soul Floorfillers (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, brought back lot's of memories. Strange but you just want to get up & do a "Back Flip"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Northern Soul Floorfillers
Northern Soul Floorfillers by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews