Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Original, ambitious effort. In these times of mp3, how great it is to hear a band so concerned with SOUND. Best record of 2013, no contest
Published 11 months ago by jaime nuñez

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Barren field
Without doubt, one of the dryest albums I have ever heard. Where is the emotion? I get the impression that "joie de vivre" is not a concept that exists within the Puritans` universe. This album may "sound" interesting, but I find it depressing. I`d hate to be stuck in a lift with these guys. Cheer up and maybe listen to some George Formby.
Published 7 days ago by David Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
Original, ambitious effort. In these times of mp3, how great it is to hear a band so concerned with SOUND. Best record of 2013, no contest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. L. Stone - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
After hearing them live bought the CD and am having to stop listening to it to avoid overhearing the album. The sounds and songs are very different and the album flows very well, better perhaps then the previous albums (?) this is stated in the sleeve notes (I think). If you like the band this is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field of Dreams, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
Frankly I'm amazed that there aren't a lot more rave reviews on here for this extraordinary release. As Pollo has pointed out above any fans still mourning the loss of Talk Talk and the ongoing silence from Mark Hollis should prepare to rejoice; Field of Reeds is a magnificently beguiling piece of work built on layers of complex acoustic instrumentation and possessed of great emotional depth and beauty. The arrangements are stunning - by turns melancholic, nostalgic and wistful they remind me in mood and complexity of Adrian Mcnally's formidable work with The Unthanks. I'll come clean here and say that despite being intrigued by the reviews of TNP's earlier releases and the band's obviously considered and intelligent approach I didn't really warm to their sound. This however is something else altogether, an abundance of harmonic riches which anyone with an appreciation for the elegant soundscapes of David Sylvian, minimalism or the aforementioned Talk Talk should be hastening to acquire. Easily one of the high-water marks of 2013 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good find, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
I will go to see them as a result of listening to this CD. New and very interesting - reminded me a bit of F Zappa in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite perfect, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
Do swirls of alchemic mist float across Canvey Island to inspire such greatness? For me, finally, we have the heirs to Talk Talk's throne. No surprise to see engineer Phil Brown eliciting the perfect sounds from this lot.
Dedicate an hour to yourself, prepare your favourite tipple/accompaniment, dim the lights and lose yourself in this mighty piece of work.
I don't look for weaknesses in albums. Who am I to judge!? But for those who do, you won't find any here.
Bettered only this year by Fire! Orchestra's Exit! album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
Meticulous and clever without being condescending - it's simply an album that exists within it's own space with no obvious reaction to what's happening in contemporary music; it gets better with each listen. it's been an interesting journey so far to witness Jack and co's constant devotion to their craft, from Beat Pyramid to Hidden to this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Field of Wonders, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
These New Puritans are easily one of the most exciting bands around at the moment. The bands evolution has been impressive, their debut was a nice blend of electronica and post-punk, while the superb follow-up 'Hidden' sounded like Medieval dance music. 'Field Of Reeds' dives right into the classical aspects that had only been touched upon before and its this new change in style that makes everything work. The instrumental arrangements are fantastic throughout, the lyrics are nicely mysterious evoking images of misty countryside and Jack Barnett's subdued delivery fits in strangely well.

Opener 'This Guy's In Love With You' sets the tone perfectly,balancing out a delicate piano tune with haunting half-masked vocals and a majestic climax. 'Fragment 2' is the most accessible song here flowing on a catchy piano rhythm, upbeat drumming and vocals about ''something there''. 'The Light In Your Name' might be my favourite song here based on its amazing atmosphere. Barnett's low growl and the downtempo pianos mix brilliantly, building into something darkly evocative. The 9-minute 'V (Island Song)' flies by thanks to its excellent melody and driving percussion, again having an atmospheric climax. The evil sounding 'Spiral' comes next, the incredibly low bassoon-esque instrumentation, clashing violins and swirling vocals create some beautifully demonic melodies.

'Organ Eternal' is the closest thing to the ''old'' Puritans sound. Based around an upbeat synth tune, with a great mix of low and chiming sounds cut up with some truly wonderful instrumental sections. 'Nothing Else' flows along calmly with the occasional threat of eruption, yet remains subdued and is quite lovely to listen to because of that. The isolated vocals of 'Dream' give it a haunting edge as the twisting dark melodies sooth and disturb. The final title-track contains some impressively low bellowing vocals broken-up by some soft Barnett vocals and some beautiful instrumentation.

'Field Of Reeds' is another excellent album by These New Puritans, changing style yet again has worked perfectly. The influences of Steve Reich and Laughing Stock era Talk Talk are never far behind, but its impressive how unique the album sounds.It takes a few listens to fully open up, but it is extremely rewarding on repeated listens and flows so well as a whole as albums should. I can't wait to see what the Puritans have in store next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but Majestic, 28 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
The new album from These New Puritans is dark, and very atmospheric at points, but it is some album.
This album has fantastic depth to it, and the spirit of this record is probably what I like the best. The way that tracks are deconstructed and left bare, before building up again is sublime at times. A good example of this is on 'Organ Eternal' where only the strings are left after everything else cuts out before the track builds again.
My favourite track, I think, is 'Spiral'. It's got a very dark feel throughout, and Barnett' vocals are excellent, as is the accompaniment throughout. Another worthy mention is the starkness of 'Dream' which has an almost ethereal beauty to it, with it's slight dissonance in the bassline and haunting vocals.
It's a difficult album to describe well, and an even harder job to make sound good. It's a dark album, and some will certainly find it tough going, but if you sit and listen, the rewards are certainly there. The textures, production, instrumentation, and composition are absolutely first-rate.
So, while this may not be the easiest album to listen to, and it's certainly not background music for a party, it is really very good. Give it a chance and I really hope it rewards you as it has done to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way I Do, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Jack Barnett has a strong vision and this record bears witness to that. More cohesive, quieter and darkly beautiful than ever before, TNPs make a timeless and unforgettable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treasure!, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field of Reeds (Audio CD)
I feel you can really hear the growth of this bands music through their albums. They persist in their excavation of music like archaeologists and they seem to always find the fossil the were looking for. Bit by bit joining together the parts to reveal a creature that never even existed or has yet to. Im always reading of a new influence of theirs...I don't know if i just trying to hear them where they are not but i feel they do wear these influences on their sleeves and are great for it. You hear David Fanshawe's field recordings in the fa d das of 'field of reeds', the Stochausen in 'The light in your name', The Glass/Reich in 'Organ Eternal' oh and that Harris Hawk im gonna say Jeremy Deller even though they recorded the song long before Dellers work, the Hidden in 'Fragment Two' ah :). I mean what i thought i heard make up maybe 1% of the album so i wouldn't take the names to seriously Theres so much more to it. Its like someone scored an opera and an avant gard musical at the same time. The lyrics are poignant, a lot of looking at nature and being in nature, being nature even. Some kind of love between to people or conflict between islands maybe England and The Falklands . No doubt my nonsense rambling has put you off the album. Im sorry dont read this just 'SHUT YOUR EYES AND LISTEN!... and the way to get there, lar ldeaeerlaa louaaa la dleeer laaaaaaAAAAAAHHHHHH!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field of Reeds
Field of Reeds by These New Puritans
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews