Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LISTS, VIKTOR, LISTS
The aftermath of an Eastern European war is that young girls are forced into prostitution. Angel (Rosie Day) is a young mute girl who is taken to such a place. Viktor (Kevin Howarth) who runs the place has taken a liking toward her and has her in charge of shooting up the other girls. She befriends one of the girls who knows sign language.

The soldiers who come...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch for anyone interested in the realities of the evils what goes on around us mostly unknown
It is a good film and starts off shocking, which considering the subject matter, i feel it should be shocking to watch. left me feeling frustrated and not getting closure by the end of the film. worth a watch if you are interest in the evil that is human trafficking and forced prostitution.
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Christopher Walkden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LISTS, VIKTOR, LISTS, 30 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
The aftermath of an Eastern European war is that young girls are forced into prostitution. Angel (Rosie Day) is a young mute girl who is taken to such a place. Viktor (Kevin Howarth) who runs the place has taken a liking toward her and has her in charge of shooting up the other girls. She befriends one of the girls who knows sign language.

The soldiers who come there are mean and cruel. Angel, makes Fiona Apple look obese, as she crawls through air vents like my cats do when I yell at them for changing the channel. The first half of the film is slow establishing the characters and scenario.

This is not the exploitation film one expects from the cover and title. I enjoyed the dark irony of the ending which was worth the wait.

Worth a view if you liked " The Whistleblower".

Parental Guide: F-bomb, rape, male rear nudity. No female nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has to be the most disturbing movie of the year, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Froud (County of Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seasoning House [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie left me a nervous wreck, talk about graphic in your face brutal violence, was going to give it 3 stars because it was so horrific, but deserves 5 stars for portraying the horrendous events that took place during the Serbian war.

I had to turn it off a few times and come back to finish it in pieces it was that horrible to stomach, really feel sorry for the poor girls and what they had to endure, graphic rape / prostitution and terrifying retribution.

Believable and and well made.

Don't watch if you have a weak constitution, you have been warned, it's extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BOLD AND BLOODY THRILLER..", 18 Aug 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a bold and shocking movie filled with brutal rape and violence towards young girls so not everyone's type of movie, despite being horrible in content it is a very well made film and amazing to watch, the story is about girls who are snatched and taken to a remote house where they are drugged and prostituted to military men, one of the young girls who works for the man in charge is mute and branded with a facial birthmark making her unusable so she looks after the house as a prisoner, then one day she finds her moment to fight back and get revenge on them all for what they have done, then the movie gets real bloody, there is some brutal gore scenes in places, the cast is amazing the lead girl Rosie Day is fantastic, and Sean Pertwee is brilliant as always playing a badass soldier who's a bit of an evil man, overall this is a little gem and for a small budget film its well worth the money if the subject matter doesn't put you off, great picture quality and has features, commentary and behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good lower Budget Thriller, 19 Aug 2013
By 
E. W. Sharman (Ilford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
I got this dvd after reading a couple of reviews and was not disappointed a brilliant performance by Rosie Day and Sean Pertwee with good support from the rest of the cast. The bleakness of the situation and the tension as the film progress's keeps you watching the gore is well done and right for the scenes. Worth getting an intelligent film but also edge of the seat in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pigs Have It., 5 Oct 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
The Seasoning House of the title is a Balkans Brothel, it’s 1996 and young girls are being kidnapped during military attacks and sold to the owner of the Seasoning House. One such girl is Angel, a death and mute sufferer who the house owner takes a shine to and uses her as his assistant. When Angel strikes up a friendship with one of the girls, it is the catalyst for violence unbound.

A thoroughly bleak and distressing viewing experience, but in turn it’s also bold and brilliant film making. Debut director Paul Hyett paints a grim portrait of an all too real problem in certain parts of the world, but thankfully he never once lets the material slip into exploitation territory.

The brothel is unsurprisingly an utterly desperate place, rife with squalor and abject misery. The windows are boarded up with crooked pieces of wood, the beds are filthy, the walls stained with years of dirty grime and the after effects of vile human actions. The girls are battered and bruised, chained to the beds and injected with drugs to make them compliant towards anything the human monsters so wish to do to them.

For practically 70 minutes we the viewers are holed up in this awful place along with the girls. Daylight is only briefly glimpsed through the window shards, we can smell the fear along with the dankness, and claustrophobia is rife. Angel (a brilliant Rosie Day) is our conduit as Hyett builds relationships between her and the two other main characters. Viktor (Kevin Howarth) the ruler of this vile kingdom, and inmate Vanya (Dominique Provost-Chalkley), the latter of which is deeply touching and superbly crafted by those involved.

Film then switches in tone after some truly awful scenes have paved the way for what transpires in the final third of the story. This switch to more conventional horror cinema has proven divisive, but the way Angel moves about the house, how she finds fortitude, is fascinating, and she has well and truly earned our utmost support as she seeks to erase some dastardly evil wrongs from history (headed by a suitably scary Sean Pertwee). This is not a cheap rape revenger movie, it’s a survivalist horror, and some of the horrors inherent in The Seasoning House are tough to stomach, but necessary to balance the art and the reality. Stunning. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Astounding, Brutal, Nerve Shredding, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastically well directed film from Paul Hyett, the performance he produces from Rosie Day is second to none.

As a keen horror fan it is a pleasure for me to recommend this brutal film.

Directed to a tee and with some graphic and disturbing violence this is a clear front runner for British horror/shocker film of the year.

I will be following Paul's work with a keen eye and after seeing a press release for his upcoming film I am as excited as a kid at Christmas!

5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not About Salt and Pepper, 7 Dec 2014
By 
James Koppert (Scarborough England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House (Blu-ray)
Bleak, grim and upsetting although this goes on in every country in the world with women kidnapped as sex slaves. I hope people watch this then give to the charities that help these women instead thinking its fiction. Turns in to a great survival/revenge thriller with plenty of violence. Not a pleasant watch but great film all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch for anyone interested in the realities of the evils what goes on around us mostly unknown, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
It is a good film and starts off shocking, which considering the subject matter, i feel it should be shocking to watch. left me feeling frustrated and not getting closure by the end of the film. worth a watch if you are interest in the evil that is human trafficking and forced prostitution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
A good present for my daughter, no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars until then was going to give it 5 stars its got good gore but not, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seasoning House [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Really was impresed with this movie until last 15 to 20 min which spoilt the movie. until then was going to give it 5 stars its got good gore but not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seasoning House [Blu-ray]
The Seasoning House [Blu-ray] by Paul Hyett (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews