Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has to be the most disturbing movie of the year
This movie left me a nervous wreck, talk about graphic in your face brutal violence, was going to give it 3 stars because it was so horrific, but deserves 5 stars for portraying the horrendous events that took place during the Serbian war.

I had to turn it off a few times and come back to finish it in pieces it was that horrible to stomach, really feel sorry...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. Stephen Froud

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i'd hoped
Forced prostitution is a fairly uncomfortable and, one would imagine, difficult subject for a film-maker to tackle. The Seasoning House uses this subject matter to create a disturbing and unpleasant atmosphere which seems rather believable to the viewer (as believable as you can get with Sean Pertwee doing a Russian accent).

The problem with the Seasoning House...
Published 5 months ago by patrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has to be the most disturbing movie of the year, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Froud (County of Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie left me a nervous wreck, talk about graphic in your face brutal violence, was going to give it 3 stars because it was so horrific, but deserves 5 stars for portraying the horrendous events that took place during the Serbian war.

I had to turn it off a few times and come back to finish it in pieces it was that horrible to stomach, really feel sorry for the poor girls and what they had to endure, graphic rape / prostitution and terrifying retribution.

Believable and and well made.

Don't watch if you have a weak constitution, you have been warned, it's extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BOLD AND BLOODY THRILLER..", 18 Aug 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a bold and shocking movie filled with brutal rape and violence towards young girls so not everyone's type of movie, despite being horrible in content it is a very well made film and amazing to watch, the story is about girls who are snatched and taken to a remote house where they are drugged and prostituted to military men, one of the young girls who works for the man in charge is mute and branded with a facial birthmark making her unusable so she looks after the house as a prisoner, then one day she finds her moment to fight back and get revenge on them all for what they have done, then the movie gets real bloody, there is some brutal gore scenes in places, the cast is amazing the lead girl Rosie Day is fantastic, and Sean Pertwee is brilliant as always playing a badass soldier who's a bit of an evil man, overall this is a little gem and for a small budget film its well worth the money if the subject matter doesn't put you off, great picture quality and has features, commentary and behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good lower Budget Thriller, 19 Aug 2013
By 
E. W. Sharman (Ilford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
I got this dvd after reading a couple of reviews and was not disappointed a brilliant performance by Rosie Day and Sean Pertwee with good support from the rest of the cast. The bleakness of the situation and the tension as the film progress's keeps you watching the gore is well done and right for the scenes. Worth getting an intelligent film but also edge of the seat in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LISTS, VIKTOR, LISTS, 30 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
The aftermath of an Eastern European war is that young girls are forced into prostitution. Angel (Rosie Day) is a young mute girl who is taken to such a place. Viktor (Kevin Howarth) who runs the place has taken a liking toward her and has her in charge of shooting up the other girls. She befriends one of the girls who knows sign language.

The soldiers who come there are mean and cruel. Angel, makes Fiona Apple look obese, as she crawls through air vents like my cats do when I yell at them for changing the channel. The first half of the film is slow establishing the characters and scenario.

This is not the exploitation film one expects from the cover and title. I enjoyed the dark irony of the ending which was worth the wait.

Worth a view if you liked " The Whistleblower".

Parental Guide: F-bomb, rape, male rear nudity. No female nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Astounding, Brutal, Nerve Shredding, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastically well directed film from Paul Hyett, the performance he produces from Rosie Day is second to none.

As a keen horror fan it is a pleasure for me to recommend this brutal film.

Directed to a tee and with some graphic and disturbing violence this is a clear front runner for British horror/shocker film of the year.

I will be following Paul's work with a keen eye and after seeing a press release for his upcoming film I am as excited as a kid at Christmas!

5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i'd hoped, 9 Mar 2014
By 
patrick (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
Forced prostitution is a fairly uncomfortable and, one would imagine, difficult subject for a film-maker to tackle. The Seasoning House uses this subject matter to create a disturbing and unpleasant atmosphere which seems rather believable to the viewer (as believable as you can get with Sean Pertwee doing a Russian accent).

The problem with the Seasoning House is its restrictive budget. One has to believe that this film could have been so much more if the director had more spondooliks to spend.

The acting is excellent throughout. From the young mute girl who yearns to escape the clutches of an evil and violent pimp, to the cruel Russian soldiers looking for some sordid fun; everybody plays their part excellently. Sean Pertwee is his usual brilliant self, his character equal parts tantrum-throwing brat and terrifying mad man.

Another thing that I particularly appreciated about the film was the violence. This may sound a little twisted, but you have to admire a film-maker who doesn't shy away from using realistic violence and allows the blood to gush freely.

In summary, an interesting, unique and brutal film, let down by cheap looking settings and a slightly dragged out finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully horrible, 21 Jan 2014
By 
crliege (Guildford, Surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
My review's title perhaps sounds a bit odd, but it is that and so much more.

Firstly, it's dark, bleakly horrid and a desperate portrayal of the sad, hopeless plight of the young girls who are the centrepiece of a film which is pretty much all about men's brutality to just about anyone they can dominate, whether that's physically or mentally. The saddest part about this film is that it is based on fact. Victors tidying up at the ends of wars and conflicts down the ages have, unbelievably, done a lot worse than what is portrayed here, whether out of spite or hatred seems to matter little. From it's chaotic opening scenes, which then slide quickly downhill where the poor, defenceless girls are shown, in no uncertain terms, that their lives are all but over, turns this film into a glum, distressing watch. Most of the action is in a house in the middle of a wood, guarded over by uncaring and ruthless people providing thier prisoners for the pleasure of the depraved, brutal and uncaring paying riff raff. That they can do pretty much anything with these girls speaks volumes, although the state some of them were in after a few "visits" beggars belief why anyone would want to pay good money to get their rocks off with such pathetically damaged goods. However, that's a lot of what the story is about.

The much-needed revenge, which is worth waiting for, only kicks off when the girl in the starring role (Rosie Day) sees the kind folks who picked her up in the first place. When that happens, you can imagine the pent up rage she's likely to feel - you'd have to be somewhat dead between the ears not to punch the air for the home team when this happens.

There are three bitter-sweet twists at the end of this film; the first I saw coming, the second, just after was a pleasure and very fitting for what had gone before. The final scene was a real surprise: my "favourite" twist, if you could call it that, was the second to last.

I'd highly recommend this film, if you've got the stomach; be warned, though, this is not for the faint-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing Balkans Thriller, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't much enjoy this, largely due to content, but it is very well made, superbly acted and gripping in places.
It starts slowly and seems as though it will never really get going, other that to concentrate on the brutality inflicted on young girls.

Once the plot thickens, the horror is extreme and the tension is knife edge.
The violence and associated scenes are sickening and it is not a film Id watch again. That said, its an excellent British effort on a low budget. For those who tolerate graphic violence, coupled with a believable story, this is a fine example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not That Good!, 15 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. M. Hutchings (Somewhere on the planet!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seasoning House [DVD] (DVD)
I only bought the DVD as I'd allowed my own car (a Lada 1500) to appear in the film, and I did find it, for all of 5 seconds! Apart from that, I don't think the film is much good; the dialogue's banal and badly recorded & I didn't think the film worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Seasoning House (Blu-ray)
I was really disappointed with this film. It tried to portrays the horrors of a group of young women, but I thought it failed miserably. Low budget, grim and depressing. It could have been much better done. I am surprised by all the good reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seasoning House [DVD]
The Seasoning House [DVD] by Paul Hyett (DVD - 2013)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews