Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Addition To The Shannara World
For the final books in Terry Brook's Paladins Of Shannara series of novella we have a catch up with Shea Ohmsford, the legendary last heir of Jerle Shannara and have an all new adventure with him.

It's been a year since the events in the Skull Kingdom but all is not right with Shea Ohmsford, the half elven heir of Shannara. He's home back in Shady Vale but...
Published 5 months ago by Gizzimomo Wilson

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very short story
Interesting divergent story but I felt it was a bit short and lacking much in substance. I preferred the weapons master short story as it had a stronger storyline and caught my interest more consistently.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Addition To The Shannara World, 27 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
For the final books in Terry Brook's Paladins Of Shannara series of novella we have a catch up with Shea Ohmsford, the legendary last heir of Jerle Shannara and have an all new adventure with him.

It's been a year since the events in the Skull Kingdom but all is not right with Shea Ohmsford, the half elven heir of Shannara. He's home back in Shady Vale but he's not sleeping, tortured by horrific nightmares of his battle with the enemy. His brother Flick is getting increasingly more and more worried about Shea, to the point that he visits a woodswoman in a bid to ease Shea's suffering. She gives him a potion to give to Shea and Flick in turn gives Shea the potion, hoping and praying that it will help his ailing brother., to a degree it does begin to work until Shea and Flick's old friend Panamon Creel appears in the Vale. Creel had helped Shea during his mission to defeat the Warlock Lord and his assistance proved to be invaluable. Now Creel has a mission of his own and needs Shea's help in retrieving a personal and invaluable artifact but is there more to this mission than meets the eye.

This is a novella is a bit of an oddity as it's the third book in the Paladins series but actually fits into the timeline before the second and just after TSOS. In this case I really think that you need to read this in conjunction with The Sword Of Shannara so that you have a good basic knowledge of the mission Shea and Flick undertake in that book with Creel's help to give you a better understanding of what Creel is asking of them in The Black Irix.

Final Thoughts:

As with the other books in the Paladins of Shannara series, this is another rich and detailed novella of just 40 pages. In this book we delve into the meaning of friendship, loyalty and duty to your friends and we see how these values effect your friendships in a more long term sense as we see Creel begging for Shea's assistance as payback for help he'd given them in the past and how Shea feel obliged to help regardless of whether he really wants to help or not.

The imagery is as epic as usual with Brooks and Shannara and once again I'm amazed at how much detail Brooks can squeeze into such a small novella, it's truly impressive work BUT I do think that this books may be the weaker effort of the three as it feels a little disjointed to me, almost like two stories in one 40 page package, you get Flick trying to help Shea and then Shea trying to help Creel but they don't really merge together is a satisfactory manner for me personally. It's good but not quite as good as the previous two novellas.

Definitely NOT a standalone novella this time around, you need The Sword Of Shannara to give you the background needed to read and understand this novella properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the black irix, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
An iteresting hort story that just seems to fade without a satisfying ending, which is a shame as I enjoy Terry Brooks books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Not on par with usual writing, characters and storyline weak, also very short, not long enough to create a decent enough story. Love his series of books so disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Irix, 16 April 2014
By 
P. Moren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Although very short book still another enjoyable book by Terry Brooks, can be read as a standalone as well as part of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great short story, 10 April 2014
By 
Diana (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
A nice short story that can easily be read in no time. It's especially great for those times when you are waiting for Terry Brooks to write another book and you just need to satisfy your fantasy cravings. However, it can also be read by people totally new to Terry Brooks's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Love the book and looking forward to reading more great books from terry brooks. A great read if you love short stories. Love the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's my author of choice, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Great read, pity it is so short but it gives another slant on the already read main volumes.

Another Kindle acquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Brooks keeps on getting better, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
If you haven't tried the master storyteller you don't know fiction let the master take you on an amazing journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Brooks what more can I say, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Tasker (Crumlin, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I collect all of Terry's books in hard back and couldn't miss out on reading these short stories on kindle. I just hope they get published preferably in a hard back editions so I can add them to my collection. A great story teller, thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good short story, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paladins of Shannara: The Black Irix (short story) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed going back to Shea and the Sword world. This is a good addition to the Sword of Shannara. I bought all the three short story and I haven't been disappointed. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The High Druid's Blade: The Defenders of Shannara
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (77)   
Buy new£4.49
Available for download now

Paladins of Shannara: Allanon's Quest (short story)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (49)   
Buy new£0.99
Available for download now

Witch Wraith: Book 3 of The Dark Legacy of Shannara
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (146)   
Buy new£4.99
Available for download now