Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trying to create a balanced review.
I read some of the negative reviews and found them to be completely ludicrous as they did not state legitimate criticism, therefore I have decided to write my own review to give potential buyers the information they need when considering a buy.
Plants vs Zombies GW is a third person, online-only shooter based on the Plants vs Zombies universe. It features many of the...
Published 4 months ago by JoeBanana

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
OK, but was expecting something a little different. Will give it more time to see if I 'get into it'.
Published 8 days ago by K. White


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trying to create a balanced review., 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
I read some of the negative reviews and found them to be completely ludicrous as they did not state legitimate criticism, therefore I have decided to write my own review to give potential buyers the information they need when considering a buy.
Plants vs Zombies GW is a third person, online-only shooter based on the Plants vs Zombies universe. It features many of the plants and zombies found in the tower defense games and has the same aesthetic and sense of humor. There are three main gameplay modes: team vanquish which is much like team deathmatch from other games, gardens and graveyards which is where one team defends an objective and one attacks said objective, and garden ops which is a co-operative game mode where you defend a garden against waves of computer controlled zombies. While the game is family friendly and would be suitable for younger players, it is surprisingly deep. It is still however a casual shooter and does not have the barrier of entry that Call of Duty or Battlefield does. The levels are quite open and cheesy tactics like camping and other frustrating things are luckily absent for the most part. There is a simplified progression system where you level up and improve your different characters on both the plants and zombie sides. You can unlock customization and consumable items with in-game currency which you cannot buy with real money but only with points you earn from playing the game. The customization options are extensive and would be enjoyable for younger players to collect and is one of the major reason to play the game as there is a constant sense of collection and you always want another silly hat for your soldier zombie. YOU NEED XBOX LIVE GOLD MEMBERSHIP TO PLAY IT! There is no single-player offline mode. And that brings me to the weak point of the game and that is that it is a bit weak on content. Hopefully there is DLC on the way because with out more content I don't know how much longer I will be playing it. However I am an avid gamer with the attention span of a gold fish and I think that for many and especially for the demographic which this game targets, it will be sufficient. I am not a huge fan of EA and while this is obviously a cash-in on the PvZ brand, it is none the less good clean fun and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a breather of somber, drab military shooters and for parents who would like to play with their kids as this has split screen. There are no subliminal messages as one reviewer states. He is obviously deluded. That goes without saying. I have rated this 5 stars but in reality I would give it a four. I just wanted to counter act the silly negative reviews from the deluded, the un-informed and from the sony fanboy. I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plants vs Zombies@ Garden Warfare Review!, 4 Mar 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
I'm amazed at how much fun this games is. Plants Vs Zombies is a co-op based, 3rd person (over the shoulder perspective) shooter. Graphics look really good especially when you realise it was originally designed for the iPhone. The levels themselves are massive so the content on offer is awesome, added to that the fun customization you can do to the characters and you'll be laughing yourself silly. So guess what if you didn't already know, you can play as either plants or Zombies in this with each type having 4 characters. Each character has special abilities that you can unlock along the way. The chilli bean bomb is epic fun to use as are many of the weapons on offer and each looks cool when you use it. The Dig ability is my personal favourite meaning you can go underground for a short while and pop up right behind the enemy.

There are a few different modes in this game including "garden ops" which is where you have to survive the endless waves of zombies, tip. keep an eye out for the potted plants! There are a few multi-player modes too including a team death-match mode called "team vanquish", "gardens and graveyards" is my favourite mode and the best way to describe it would be like domination or capture the flag only you're job is to capture gardens. There are also classic modes of the same game types and the only difference is you don't have an special abilities.

Pros: Insane fun * graphics suit this game well * game-play is smooth * lots of content * Sticker packs * Surprisingly it's very tactical * People of all ages will love this * playing with friends is a barrel of laughs * Boss mode (you basically play as god and can see the whole map from above and drop health..etc) * brings out the child in me while playing (Smiley face) * No micro transactions

Cons: no map while playing so you can get lost but also you have no idea as to where your friends are * No Melee * You can't crouch behind a wall (although you can built one tall enough)

Verdict: This is a game for everyone regardless of age or gender. It's massive fun and even someone like me that usually goes for mainstream shooters has become addicted.

EPIC FUN & RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a tower defence game!, 28 Feb 2014
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Just like the title says this isn't a tower defence game this is a Team Fortress style online squad based shooter with plenty of silliness and things to unlock. Since it is online only you'll have to have Xbox Gold membership, just like Killer Instinct or the forthcoming Titanfall.

Don't buy this game if you like PvZ on your iPad, buy this game if you like the idea of a shooter that takes itself considerably less seriously than CoD or Battlefield and most importantly, always read professional game reviews before spending your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Game, 28 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Played this game 5 hours straight yesterday because its so much fun, if like me your not great at multiplayer games then don't be too alarmed as I found the games to be more fun than over competitive and I never got more deaths than kills in most matches.
There are 2 game types , garden ops and multiplayer ( there is NO singleplayer so you must have xbox live !!). The garden ops is a co-op based play style where you team up with 3 others and you have to defend your garden against crazy zombies and at randon you have to take down big bosses in the middle of the challenge, team work is essential in this mode aswell as choosing the right characters as all the characters have different abilities, one person might be a sunflower that has the ability to heal others while another player is a pea shooter like an assault type character taking down all the zombies that are trying to destroy your garden.
The other mode is 24 player multiplayer, there are 2 modes ( as far as I can tell as only played the game yesterday) and they are team vanquish and garden vs grave yards ( like conquest mode in battlefield) again its lots of fun. For us noobs there's a map that let's you play the team vanquish mode for the first time to let you get used to it. And at first the worse you do the more points and upgrades you get for your playable character.
The character are fantastic fun and all their abilities are different like the "all star" zombie. He shoots american footballs from like a home made chainsaw looking gun and he has the ability to stick american footballer shape defenses in front of him so he can use cover behind them and then as you play more games you get more rewards for that character and you will get more upgrades.
All in all this game is so much fun graphics and the game sounds are great.
Id recommend this game to anyone that likes multi player games. ( even if you're not great at them)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fun you can currently have on an XboxOne!, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
This is a surprisingly good game! Yes, it's only online - but that's where the fun is generated - uncertainty!

I can honestly say I've NEVER put so many hours into a game - and over the years I've certainly put many hours into playing video games!

Great variety of characters mean that even the best players will get caught out by some of the characters abilities - makes it more of a level playing field than such as BF4, COD etc - and when you get 'vanquished' (the word kill or death is never used on this game), more often than not it is with a smile on your face rather than with annoyance!

All DLC for this game will be free and there are (currently) no in game purchases - which makes a refreshing change! The first lot of DLC was added in March, and adds quite a few new features and modes to the game.

Must dash ..... time for another game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. S. Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
what a brilliant game once you get into it . My kids have stopped playing ghosts and have this on all the time . The daughter says its the best game she has ever played . It really is good , buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for all!, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Road Apple "who brings the mustard?" (Mean Gene's Bar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Amazing graphics, fun sound effects, balanced and unique character classes, tons of unlockables, very funny, good controls...what's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plantsnfall... Titanzombie..., 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
A breath of fresh air, in a stale universe of overhyped FPS games.
It never takes its self seriously, the sheer enjoyment you get from seeing 3 zombies launch into the air after a well placed Chilli Bomb is enough to warrant a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great game, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
great fun game I cant stop playing it love it but not worth 5 stars but great multiplayer game been plaing since release enjoyed so uch I got 360 version to play with other friends aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic game, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) (Video Game)
This is one of the most fun games that I have played in a long time, this is a must buy. With the promise of regular free dlc additions this game will get better and bettter.

Ignore the one star haters as they dont own an xbox one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One)
Plants Vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (Xbox One) by Electronic Arts (Xbox One)
31.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews