Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% chuffed
Recently bought a new HD TV but couldn't get any Freeview HD channels with aerial in loft. Tried all sorts of things to improve signal but to no avail. Read some very useful reviews of this product so decided to try replacing with this aerial (but nervous of no improvement). Product arrived the next day, took about 5 mins to build, swapped it over with current aerial...
Published 9 months ago by Alexander Gage

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite SLx aerial!
I picked up this aerial a while ago now and used it for a few months in my loft. After a few months I decided to replace it with the SLx Digidome Aerial because I found this aerial to be very difficult to position well enough to get a consistently decent picture, due to its size and the fixings provided.

Although this aerial is cheap, I wouldn’t...
Published 4 months ago by Silvester


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% chuffed, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
Recently bought a new HD TV but couldn't get any Freeview HD channels with aerial in loft. Tried all sorts of things to improve signal but to no avail. Read some very useful reviews of this product so decided to try replacing with this aerial (but nervous of no improvement). Product arrived the next day, took about 5 mins to build, swapped it over with current aerial (took 5 mins too) and....I now have every Freeview HD channel, all other channels are perfect quality (a lot were unwatchable previously) and saved a packet on having to get a professional in to sort it. Thanks Amazon and Amazon reviewers - I now need to start obsessing about something else!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to assemble works well, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
Very good antenna which I placed in the loft .Only got 25 stations on old antenna ,this one gave about 100 with no
problems at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wide band TV Aerial, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
Excellent product. Gives clear signal even loft mounted( but I am only 2 miles from the Transmitter).
Is very big - If it is to be mounted outside additional kit required as only supplied with loft mounting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent aerial, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
I gave this 5 stars for the following reasons,

ease of use , design and construction, perfect picture quality.

this is a fantastic piece of kit for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple!, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
I am not very technically minded so deciding to install my own TV Aerial was slightly daunting. I didn't want to try and fail and then still have to call out an engineer!

On opening the box and seeing all of the parts it did little to give me confidence.

However, the instructions were very clear and very simple. I would say that it would be almost impossible to go wrong! All of the parts are really well made and fit together well. Once the aerial was installed (inside my attic space) the picture quality was excellent!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite SLx aerial!, 3 Mar. 2015
By 
Silvester (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
I picked up this aerial a while ago now and used it for a few months in my loft. After a few months I decided to replace it with the SLx Digidome Aerial because I found this aerial to be very difficult to position well enough to get a consistently decent picture, due to its size and the fixings provided.

Although this aerial is cheap, I wouldn’t personally recommend this aerial. In retrospect, I wish I had bit the bullet and spent a little more in the first place in order to get a better aerial.

*** What’s included ***

Aerial
Central boom
Reflector booms
Central mount bracket & clips
Dipole
Printed circuit balum with F-connectors
Rubber boots and tilting mast clamp
Loft mounting kit
10m digital coax cable & clips
Coax plugs
Twist on f-plugs with rubber boots

*** Pro’s ***

✓ Relatively cheap for an aerial.
✓ Easy to follow assembly instructions.
✓ Provides a reasonable signal when positioned correctly.
✓ Integrated 4G filter removes interference and channel loss from your TV caused by 4G mobile phone signals.
✓ Comes with 10m digital coax cable & a handful of cable clips. Realistically however, for most people you will need more cable and more clips, however these can be picked up fairly cheap.

*** Con’s ***

X Takes up a lot of room - I found it much easier to assemble the aerial in the loft as it would have proved difficult getting it through the loft hatch once assembled.
X Difficult to position due to size. I struggled to position the aerial in my loft.
X Flimsy materials used. Can easily be bent. I wouldn’t personally want to use it as an outdoor aerial for this reason.

*** Note ***

Amazon suggests purchasing the Philex SLx - 27867R Digital TV Signal Strength Meter with this product. I didn’t purchase this item with this aerial, however I did purchase it separately later. For an aerial like this, I feel this additional item does make it much easier to position the aerial in the best direction, however I still found it difficult to position correctly due to the fixing included. Also, by the time you've added the cost of this meter onto your purchase, you've almost paid the cost of the SLx Digidome Aerial which is much easier to set-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
Delivered quickly and on time. Purchased about a month ago. Used in the loft for a 7 yr old television in the kitchen. My husband installed it in about an hour. Picks up Freeview channels perfectly. Great Value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reception!, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
Great uninterrupted freeview reception with this in loft, in an ok reception area.
Quite a big unit and most will need assemble in loft itself unless have very big hatch.
Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loft installation working well, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
Installed in a loft and getting a good signal with transmitter 13 miles away. Some slight pixeliation of the picture at times but thats what happens when installed in a loft. Id recommend yhis peoduct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money but beware if outdoor fixing required!!, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SLx 27985K4 4G 64 Element Aerial for Digital TV Kit (Electronics)
More an indoor than outdoor TV aerial and fixing pole etc is NOT designed for outdoors. Ad should have made that clear but? Fixing co-ax to aerial can be fiddly as easy not to get 100% connection and took me 3 attempts to get it right. Picture quality and number of channels view-able now increased and for that I would give 5 stars. It's just the lack of info regarding outdoor fixing and need to purchase another "pole" that makes this product just an overall ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews