Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is gorgeous
I've been listening to a lot of heavy rock so far this year and this album couldn't be further from that and by gum it is absolutely brilliant. Apparently this is an English "translation" of an album Asgeir released in his native Icelandic and hopefully it will be hugely successful. This is what people should be listening to rather than any X Factor rubbish the...
Published 16 months ago by Big Jim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous - but not necessarily in a good way!
Has its interesting moments but is a tad too poppy and gooey sweet for me. As other reviewers have said, it's all very 'gorgeous'! I think I was hoping for something edgier, a bit more múm and a bit less Bon Iver. Commendably well produced and performed, though.
Published 1 month ago by Tony T


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is gorgeous, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
I've been listening to a lot of heavy rock so far this year and this album couldn't be further from that and by gum it is absolutely brilliant. Apparently this is an English "translation" of an album Asgeir released in his native Icelandic and hopefully it will be hugely successful. This is what people should be listening to rather than any X Factor rubbish the only problem may be that it is quite difficult to categorise. It's a bit folk, (In the silence/Summer Guest) it's a bit jazzy, (king and cross) it's a bit electonica,(Going Home/Head in the Snow) It's a bit Paul Simony (In Harmony) - choose your own reference points, but one thing is for sure, it's all beautiful. The vocalisation is recognisably Icelandic/Scandinavian I suppose, it reminds me a lot of St Thomas, but there are also celtic lilts to some of the songs and I can't stop listening to it. It's on its fourth play already this morning and is already in the running for one of my albums of the year even though there are still 11 months to go. It will take some shifting as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ásgeir - Laugarbakki Calling, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
21-year-old Ásgeir Trausti is an Icelandic artist who has been shifting more units in his homeland than his more famous counterparts Björk and Sigur Rós. It is claimed that one in ten of the Icelandic population now own his debut album although if we note that the totality of human beings on this intriguing Nordic Isle is some 321,000 perhaps the statistic is not as mind-blowing as his record company would have us to believe. Still those who have purchased his music have on the evidence of "In the Silence" shown equal measures of good taste and common sense. This is a lovely album with echoes of Ben Howard, Paul Simon and Bon Iver. Behind it is the influence of the great American artist John Grant who has toured with him and assisted in the newly-translated English lyrics mostly penned by Asgier's 72 year old father in his native tongue.

There is a thread of melancholy that runs through the album that it gives it a slightly wintry feel although it also contains more joyous reference points not least the pounding piano driven "Torrent" which soars during the albums mid section. Asgeir's accent throughout has clear Icelandic inflection but like Bjork he uses it to massive advantage. Opener "Higher" is languorous piece of balladry with a woozy bass line and an excellent vocal. The song hooks you after repeated listens and this is repeated throughout "In the Silence". The title track does have Justin Vernon influences spliced throughout it but it is a great song. Another track worth seeking out is "Hide your head in the snow" where Asgeir rather obviously points out that "far up in the north... the cold takes its toll". Having never experienced the old polar vortex we shall forgive him that one for what is a genuinely lifting song. There is also some nice variation to be found within not least the funky single "King and Cross", where alternatively "Going Home" would not be amiss on a James Blake album. Overall this album shows considerable promise particularly on the outstanding acoustics of the final track "On that day" which is a real beauty.

In recent times Asgeir has been found covering Miley Cyrus's "Wrecking Ball". In this reviewers view its better than the original but at the same time a little patience is needed. While such covers draw more attention to a new artists the music contained on "In the Silence" is of such quality that it can stand on its own without such exercises. All in all this album will draw many admirers and no doubt fame will follow. The impact that this will have on Asgeir's home village of Laugarbakki (population, 40) in the wilds of Iceland, will be fascinating to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album to chill out to, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Brilliant album to chill out to.
Beautifully written songs, great production and an easy album to access.
Melodic with an icelandic feel to the music.
One listen and you will be hooked.
Album of the year for 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iceland meets England, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
Heard this Icelandic singer by chance on a television music show, one night. Listened to more tracks form him via You-tube and then ordered the CD. I have encouraged others to listen and purchase his CD and promote him more in the UK. I am following him on both Facebook and Twitter and will order any UK gig tickets. His voice is honest and smooth with the song matter being different and yet appealing to new fans. Please purchase this CD and enjoy this up and coming musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive harmonies from Iceland, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
Sabina (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
There is an instant lift with the opening number 'Higher,' and a beauty in the voice and harmonies, which do indeed sometimes remind you of Simon and Garfunkel. But the Icelandic flavour and Nordic imagery of its sagas (Gr La casts her spell...) and elements, mountains, forest, fjords, nighthawks and weather create its own poetry. There is "the joy of spring" in 'Summer Guest,' and "wind in battle through the night" in the exhilarating beat of 'Torrent.' Despite the wintery theme to some of these songs, the overall impression is of a clear wind blowing through the air, and an originality in the strings and Asgeir's voice which makes you want to hear it again right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop playing this album, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
Just gorgeous. Gorgeous melodies. Gorgeous singing. Every track on this album drew me in from the first time I listened to it. This is music to savour and lose yourself in, which manages to be calming and uplifting at the same time. I'm sure I can hear the influence of the great John Martyn in the the sound of the acoustic guitar. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting voice, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
Very mellow and reflective music delivered through a voice that is quite haunting at times. Strong collection of songs. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
Icelandic and Scandinavian music is a bit of an obsession with me at the moment. I'm usually hampered by my butterfly attention span in listening and tend to witch between tracks and CDs. This album is so very spellbinding that I have listened to it repeatedly, straight through, start to finish. There is no higher compliment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
E. Lang "amma" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
The music was everything I hoped; it took me right back to Iceland. Gentle but full of emotion, melodic and wistful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! UNTRUE! This is great, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Silence (Audio CD)
This guy has an amazing melodic voice. His lyrics are enspiring and conjour up beautiful images and thoughts. He's hot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Silence
In the Silence by Ásgeir (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews