Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crowning achievement
Every since her 1999 debut 'Dog leap Stairs' through the Mercury nominated 'Little Black Numbers' and he collaborations with neill MacColl and myriad other projects, Kathryn has been one of the UK's most consistently excellent singer songwriters. This album, her tenth, seems to be the culmination of all of her work so far. There is a deep emotional strength in the music,...
Published 9 months ago by DogFacedBoy

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite live up to the hype.
I tried to pre-order Kathryn's new album being a long time Geordie fan who was hooked all those years ago by 'Dog Leap Stairs'. Her last album 'The Quickening' was, for me,the most sublime example of Kathryn's exquisite songwriting which showcased her unique voice perfectly. Something went wrong with my pre-order, and I have only just received 'Crown Electric'. While...
Published 9 months ago by A. D. Sefton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crowning achievement, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Every since her 1999 debut 'Dog leap Stairs' through the Mercury nominated 'Little Black Numbers' and he collaborations with neill MacColl and myriad other projects, Kathryn has been one of the UK's most consistently excellent singer songwriters. This album, her tenth, seems to be the culmination of all of her work so far. There is a deep emotional strength in the music, the wonderful string arrangements that make the single, 'Heart Shaped Stone' fly with its catchy chorus (and bonkers video!). Highlights include the two tracks co-written with Ed Harcourt 'Morning Twilight' on which their voices harmonize beautifully and 'Sequins' underpinned by a lovely piano figure from Ed as Kathryn's moving and witty lyric confronts death with calm resolve and a smile. There are many sentiments expressed on the album that those striving to cope in the workaday world can relate to whether its the ennui of 'Monday Morning' or the feeling that time is slipping away and needing to make each second 'Count'.

For those already fans and those wanting a mature, reflective slice of melancholy, this album is a cause to celebrate. Against stiff competition this is the best album of her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best work yet, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Crown Electric marks the welcome return of one of Britain's great songwriters. If you've never heard of Kathryn Williams, you're in for a treat. She's often critically acclaimed for her work (she was Mercury Prize nominated for her album Little Black Numbers). This latest collection of bittersweet, supremely melodic tracks finds her in superb form. From the opening track Underground, and all the way throughout, there is much to love. Listen out and you'll hear songs that remind you of the Beatles, Burt Bacharach, even Dido. Everything is measured, beautifully composed and recorded and lent with gorgeous vocals. This really is a great record and once you've heard it, you'll want to keep on playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like putting on your favourite coat..., 1 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Alexander Mcculloch "Alex Mc" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
I very rarely write Amazon reviews, but this album is just lush. I have listened to it a couple of times on Spotify and had to buy a copy. Warm and witty with more accessible songs than I have heard from KW before. Do yourself a favour and buy a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully melancholic, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
I dithered between giving this 4 stars or 5. But,on the third play, I succumbed to the beauty of this album. Like all of Kathryn's music it rewards most fully when given total attention - as it received on it's third play. The later tracks are perhaps even better than the first few,with 'Sequins' a lovely standout.
Is it the best album of her career? It's the most mature. But the best? For me,the magnificent 'Old Low light' beats it. But,then again,that album beats almost everything in my collection. Perhaps after a dozen plays,'Crown Electric' will be up there with it.
I am,obviously a big fan of Kathryn's music. Which,considering that my first love is 70's soul and Motown,perhaps indicates just how impressed I am by her music. I really shouldn't be! But,the cream has to rise to the top,doesn't it?
The warmest voice since Brook Benton,to continue the soul theme. His Platinum collection - celebrating 60 years of Atlantic records - is possibly the best cd this century. But, I digress...
To finish, I can only pose the question "Why on earth is this woman not better known and appreciated?!"
'Crown Electric' should be in your collection. Along with at least 3 of her other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sounds, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
This vastly under-rated artist delivers a quality album once again. In relation to an indespensible back catalogue Crown Electric is a worthy bed-fellow. A album of beauty and integrity. Kathryn Williams and Crown Electric cannot be recommended highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, enchanting, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Kathryn has produced one of her greatest CDs, and I should know as have them all! You can just playing and playing this.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's addictive!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Heard Heart Shaped Stone on a couple of Radio 2 programmes and wanted to hear more from the album. Have got a couple of KW's other albums ( Little Black Numbers and Old Low Light), so knew she had talent!
This album has not disappointed. It hooks you. I find myself humming tracks such as Underground, Monday Morning, and Count although I think my favourite is Sequins. Wasn't sure about the Crown Electric track but like it more with each listen. I may have this album worn out soon as I am playing it so much.
As another review has mentioned, I can't understand why KW is not better known. Maybe this album will change that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Nothing bad to say about this wonderful album, sincere and beautifully crafted, every song is strong. Her voice swims amongst the gorgeous melodies, lush arrangement all the while shadowed by the melancholy lyrics which balances the album perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Crown Electric is just as it title says Electric ...the lyrics are beautifully written and the music wonderfully composed..overall production is fabulous. For me there is not one bad track on the album every song is a winner. Having been a fan Of KW since her Mercury nominated record "Little Black numbers."which is regarded by many in the music and audiophile industry as one of the finest records ever made, I can honestly say that Crown electric is her best yet and can't wait to see her live in Kinross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matchless, 6 July 2014
By 
Neil Barnes (Norwich, Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crown Electric (Audio CD)
Darkness Light is, I think, the best track on here... But as someone almost wrote above, although it's pretty nigh impossible to imagine it, given the quality of her back catalogue (Old Low Light, Little Black Numbers, all the way back to the amazing Dog Leap Stairs), this is perhaps Kathryn's best album yet. She's the best thing to happen to the British singer/songwriter genre in at least 25 years. Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crown Electric
Crown Electric by Kathryn Williams (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews