Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Verdian soprano in a class of her own.
There aren't too many sopranos adept in Verdi these days, especially when you think of the past 2 decades, when even the MET could not secure a prima donna of this genre in Angela Gheorghiu and Karita Mattila.
From Russia, Anna Netrebko stormed the western operatic scene with high hopes of a lirico spinto soprano in the making with her early triumph as Violetta...
Published 16 months ago by Abert

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all convincing
Netrebko's timbre is very beautiful, her technique has considerably progressed over the years. But it is not by any means enough to sing Verdi's dramatic roles. Her Lady Macbeth is not very far from sounding like an operetta role: the singer seems to have no understanding of the role's tragic dimension. Her voice is too light and the colour isn't appropriate to sing it...
Published 16 months ago by Naty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Verdian soprano in a class of her own., 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
There aren't too many sopranos adept in Verdi these days, especially when you think of the past 2 decades, when even the MET could not secure a prima donna of this genre in Angela Gheorghiu and Karita Mattila.
From Russia, Anna Netrebko stormed the western operatic scene with high hopes of a lirico spinto soprano in the making with her early triumph as Violetta Valery in Russia. Anna kept the houses waiting for 1 more decade.
The waiting can be said to be worthwhile, as this summer, when Netrebko issues her first studio recording in 5 years to commemorate the anniversary of Giuseppe Verdi. This album includes works from Macbeth, I Vespre di Siliciani, Il Trovatore, Giovanna D'Arco and Don Carlo. Giovanna D'Arco, Macbeth and I Vespre are relatively less performed on stage these days. Netrebko's assumption of these relative rarities are highly welcome indeed.
The switching from a coloratura soprano to Verdi especially as Lady Macbeth, a considered mezzo-soprano role, require preparation as well as guts. Netrebko does not disappoint, for though she can never be considered as the same type as Maria Callas in terms of fach, as a lirico-cum-spinto type of lyrical soprano, the timbre has sufficient range to accommodate the vocal demands of these roles. Throughout this album, Netrebko is able to command a consistent tonal production for the different scenes and arias, with varied timbre: no bulging notes, no abrupt change in registers, no shrillness that easily associates with these pieces. In short, she handles the vocal demands with real competence, and with perhaps a little tightness in the most demanding piece from 'Il Vespre', it could even be said that she tackled her problem with considerable musical aplomb.
As for characterisation, she may not be totally successful in differentiating Lady Macbeth from Leonora, or Elisabetta, et. al. But this may only be a marginal problem, for the scenes, if put in context, would fit the plot as glove to hand on stage, aided by efficient acting. If you ask for the `verismo type' of dramatic interpretation for these Verdi pieces, however, look elsewhere.
It needs reminding that, with Anna's recent release, that the operatic world has not had a full Verdian soprano album for some years, since the last issue by Sondra Radvanovsky, more a dramatic soprano than a Verdian spinto.
This is a musically lovely album, and will surely please aficionados greatly, if not all connosieurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all convincing, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Netrebko's timbre is very beautiful, her technique has considerably progressed over the years. But it is not by any means enough to sing Verdi's dramatic roles. Her Lady Macbeth is not very far from sounding like an operetta role: the singer seems to have no understanding of the role's tragic dimension. Her voice is too light and the colour isn't appropriate to sing it. The sound, beautiful as it might be, is quite monotonous, and the phrasing is also very much so: what's the difference between Elena and Elisabetta? I have not made it out from this recording. Arias from "Il Trovatore" seem to sound better. I can't believe this CD is really the result of a five-year work. If it is really so, Netrebko does not have any insight into Verdi dramatic roles, I am afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Major Disappointment, 13 Aug 2013
By 
M. E. OUTLAW "Fuorilegge" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
If this disc is intended to display the new richness and variety in Netrebko's voice then it fails. Unlike another reviewer, I was delighted when I saw the repertoire that is included on the disc since I am a great fan of Verdi's demanding roles for the soprano drammatico d'agilità, represented here by arias from Macbeth, Giovanna d'Arco and I vespri siciliani. Regrettably, I find that Netrebko is 'over-parted' in all of them.

There is nothing new on this disc for Nebtrebko that is welcome: her high notes are sounding forced and the chest register is an unattractive growl. She seems to have lost the ability to float a high legato line and some of the coloratura passages are untidy. Most of this repertoire was done much better thirty or more years ago by Caballé, Deutekom and in the case of Lady Macbeth, Shirley Verrett. The long and beautiful aria from Don Carlo is sung without colour or nobility by Netrebko and comes nowhere near the beauty achieved by Caballé or, in French, by Karita Mattila. And I have a recording of 'D'amor sull'ali rosee' from Il trovatore, made a hundred years ago by Celestina Boninsegna, which is preferable in every respect to Netrebko's version.

It is a mistake made by many singers that they do not know where their strengths lie, and they are driven by ambition or who knows what to tackle a repertoire which is beyond them. That certainly seems to have been the case here. I too am a long-time fan of Netrebko, but I was worried by her performance in the DVD of Donizetti's Anna Bolena, where she is outshone by Garanca. I'm afraid those worries are confirmed by this latest disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ill-advised, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
When I heard Netrebko in the MET HD Theater broadcasts of "Puritani" and "Romeo et Juliette," I was impressed -- a lovely lyric soprano who, while not a natural coloratura, had enough technique and musicianship to sing these parts very well, and enough histrionic skill to be credible and moving in both. That was half-a-dozen years ago, and now Netrebko has decided that it's time to take on bigger parts. On the evidence of this disc, that's bad mistake: this is a very disappointing recording. At the bottom of her range -- which is frequently deployed in these selections -- the voice is warm and firm, but when she moves up into the real soprano territory, the voice sounds pushed and edgy, and the vibrato at the top is perilously close to a wobble. I don't believe that at any point in this recital she shows the ability to float a high note softly. One sometimes hears that done at the end of the Sleepwalking Scene in "Macbeth," but not here. In fact, that scene, one of Verdi's greatest, is almost perfunctorily dispatched. I'm also not too impressed by the interpretations in general -- these pieces are sung far too straight, with phrase not bound to phrase in a way that creates any musical tension, and there's not much success in "building" an emotional arc to the selections. That might be a matter of unfamiliarity with the roles -- maybe this recital would have been better postponed until she had done more singing in roles like these. Any redeeming features? The "Trovatore" selections through the "Miserere" aren't bad (but they're not great); unfortunately, she adds "Tu vedrai," the cabaletta that requires some florid singing, and she's just not up to it -- it's lumpy and labored, as it was in the "Macbeth" florid writing too.

The recording is a bit close, and that might contribute to the edginess -- but the orchestral work seems routine to me, and in the "Trovatore" prison scene, at the end, when Manrico and Leonora are singing their last lines, the chorus almost disappeared from my headphones, so the engineering seemed less than optimal too. I'm sorry to be so negative: this is a singer whom I've enjoyed in the past and hope to again, but this is a great disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who chose this repertoire?, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
When I first heard this recital, I found it hard to believe that it was actually Netrebko singing. I am saying this, because the voice has indeed grown bigger and at times I had the feeling I was listening to a Caballe-ish sort of sound. This is heavy dramatic repertoire and I hope she knows what she is doing, otherwise she will end up destroying her lyrical instrument, just like Katia Riciarelli did in the -not so distant-past. However, she does not get away with this repertoire, as Katia did at the beginning. Her voice sounds forced and the vibrato is too often uncontrolled. I would not go as far as to say that there is a wobble, but there is definitely a lack of control in her vibrato. She is not always 100% in tune with the orchestra and as a result the whole sound grows tiresome to the ear after some time. I think the only aria that is acceptable for a singer of this status is the "Merce..." from I Vespri (it is not accidental, I think, that it was the only one pre-released). Now, this is a singer who has brought many people closer to the opera house. She has a good-always by today's standards- voice, a very strong stage presence and she is very beautiful. She was very lucky to have partnered with the greatest tenor around (Rollando Villazon)and she was wise to make a good choice of repertoire. She has been overrated, yes, but she was never bad. Here,I am afraid, she is below average. And if she sounds like that in the studio, what will happen in the theater? I remember how everyone praised Gheorgiu's Tosca recording and how she was completely wiped out in real life by Bryn Terfel and, of course, Puccini's score, in 2006. This is a very sudden and unexpected display of bad taste from Anna. I sincerely hope that she understands it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
As a casual listener to Opera, I thought this was excellent. All the tracks good and beautifully sung. If you want an introduction to Verdi then I'd suggest that this is an excellent place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Netrebko, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Anna Netrebko shines and excels on this cd, the sound quality is superb and the choice of tracks is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but only just, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
We expect a lot from the great Netrebko, but listening to this fine recording, it is clear that she has her limits and should not try the heavier repertoire too soon.....or at all. Hubris has destroyed many a voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the five year wait................., 12 Aug 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
UPDATE: After having another reviewer { M. E. OUTLAW } confirm there were no issues with his CD I bought track 2 in Studio Master Quality FLAC from linnrecords dot com and can confirm that there is nothing wrong with the actual recording, it appears to be a badly pressed or faulty disc I received. I can also say that the Studio quality FLAC plays with a wider sound stage and is more 'open' and better to listen to than the CD version. IMHO if you want to buy this recording and you can play back 24bit 96khz FLAC files then I would consider the more expensive download. May I suggest visiting this site and listening to the samples of each track prior to purchase.

>>>>>"I am giving this disc only one star because the disc I have been supplied seems to have intermittent quality issues with some 'crackling' and noise which only lasts a second or two but should not be there. Also the disc sounds compressed with a narrow stage. Even on headphones this recording does not sound very good, as if it is out of phase. Perhaps I should try swapping my speaker cables to see if it improves the sound. I am going to contact amazon for a replacement but my concern is I will get one from the same batch." <<<<<

The repertoire itself is very much a matter of taste, if this disc is aimed to show us how Anna's voice has become richer and darker over the past few years then it succeeds but I'm afraid the contents of this disc will have minority appeal. Obviously if you know exactly what you are buying then fine, however if you hope her first studio album in five years will contain popular songs then think again. With regards to her voice I must say that I preferred her earlier work from the late 90's to the mid 2000's as although she has developed a more dramatic, deeper and richer toned voice it does sound IMHO to be strained and somewhat forced. Please note that this is my own opinion only and seems to be at a disagreement with many professional reviewers.

Wouldn't it have been a real treat for the vast majority of Anna's fans to at least release a studio recording that they would like to listen to more than once rather than as a demo disc of the current development of her voice in technical terms. This album is self indulgent and aimed at a minority of fans. I am a huge fan of Anna Netrebko, I think I have just about every CD and DVD including some from Russian TV. I can honestly say that this is the worst CD of hers I have ever bought, however I am sure the critics will love this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verdi
Verdi by Anna Netrebko (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews