Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for major Octonaut fans
I was very pleased to receive this so quickly and at an uninflated price from the seller (Fun Collectables). My children (aged almost 5 and nearly 3) love anything Octonauts, and I like to indulge this passion as they are some of the best non-violent super-hero-type characters. Like most of the toys in this range, the Octo-lab is good but a little extra effort from Fisher...
Published on 8 Jun. 2013 by Mrs. R. A. Randell

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fix for pump
It's actually an ok toy if you get it cheap enough ;) and I would give it a 3 or even 4 however they won't get read :D

Anyway, after 2 mins I realised that there was an air leak (the pump size is fine for this toy!)
Unscrew all the screws underneath and you can separate the top from bottom, including the floor. You will see there are 4 orange air tubes...
Published 18 months ago by Bryndalf


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fix for pump, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
It's actually an ok toy if you get it cheap enough ;) and I would give it a 3 or even 4 however they won't get read :D

Anyway, after 2 mins I realised that there was an air leak (the pump size is fine for this toy!)
Unscrew all the screws underneath and you can separate the top from bottom, including the floor. You will see there are 4 orange air tubes leading to the central switch (3 go to the accessory outlets and one to the pump). It is the central switch that is the issue.
Unscrew the plastic clip that holds the rotating switch and remove (you will see the air selector it falls into two bits, do t lose)

The issue is that the plastic retaining clip is not held down tight enough by the two screws. Simply pack the centre hole (the bit the dial fits too) with some cardboard rings so the clip can be tightened down. Reassemble making sure the sound button remains in place.
Bingo, one push sends the rocket a good two foot and the volcano actually erupts (it is a toy remember and we don't want to have to wear PPE :)

Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply does not work as advertised, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
Sadly this seems to be another Octonatus toy which fails to function as advertised. The pneumatic pump lacks the force required to active any of the 'peripheral toys' (volcano, vegebot & rocket launcher) with any meaningful force. The best my four year old Grandson could manage was to make the rocket fall off the end of the launcher, or the 'lava block' hop up and down rather half-heartedly inside the volcano. Luckily none of this seemed to stop him enjoying the toy, so we decided not to send it back. It is very disappointing, however, that such poor quality toys are being sold under the brand-name of such a popular BBC series. Really, this is a case of false advertising, as the product simply does not do what it states on the box - another of my Grandchildren was bought the same toy and suffered from exactly the same problem, so I am confident that this is a design fault rather than being simply a one-off defect. I would suggest spending your hard-earned money on something that at least works properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You know the air pressure aspect doesn't work?, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
As long as you know that the air pressure aspect of this toy doesn't work then this toy is an ok playmate for an Octonauts fan. But if you expect it to work as described and you think your child will be upset then don't bother. The octo-lab is a toy that my son can use imaginatively with his other Octonauts toys but it is worth hiding the tubes so your child just pays with the veggiebot, volcano etc. and is not disappointed with it when they realise the pump/tubes don't work. Because of this 'air failure' it s not worth the full price and the reason for the big reduction on this toy is obvious (when I say the air pump doesn't work I mean at all... The air pressure just managed to rattle the rocks in the volcano but that's it... No way is it going to erupt!). Also the lights didn't work.I know other kids who have this toy and they are the same, it is a design flaw (i suspect whoever signed off on this as a working toy didn't actually try it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 5 Sept. 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
My son received this toy for his 4th birthday in August. He had been really looking forward to using the air pump activated accessories but these have been a massive disappointment. As has been noted by other reviewers the pump is just too small and weedy to do the job. Our flare very occasionally flops sideways off the launcher (using adult pressure!) but most of the time it refuses to budge. The volcanic rocks merely jiggle a bit and never leave the volcano. The Veggiebot works okay but the kelp cake flops rather than flies out. We have resorted to blowing in the hole at the back of the rocket to launch the flare but this is hardly ideal. If you take a look at the promotional pictures for this toy the rocket is shown shooting off the launcher and the volcanic rocks are rising out of the volcano - this is what my son was looking forward to. Okay, the toy does pack away very nicely but this is hardly a feature which will impress small children or make up for the disappointment of the pump not working properly!
My son did not want us to return the toy so we ended up buying one of the additional deep sea rover toys sold separately in order to improve the play value of the set. The air powered saw which came with the additional set can be propelled (slowly!) by the pump on the Octolab but I resent the fact that we needed to spend more money on an extra toy to give it the play value it should have had in the first place.
All in all very disappointing and certainly not worth £40. I think Fisher Price really need to consider a radical redesign of this toy in order to make sure it works as intended. If you have an Octonauts mad child my advice would be to go for one of the other Octonauts toys like the Gup X or the Octopod which have heaps more play value and won't result in your child screaming with frustration every time they play with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What an utter disappointment!, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
Although pleased with the super fast efficient delivery, the product is a total disappointment. Gave to my son for his birthday - his main present from us - and initially he was absolutely delighted, having been hoping for this for months. However the main selling point of this toy DOES NOT WORK. One of the leads does not stay in and keeps falling out so this means the air pump doesn't work: The volcano parts don't move; the pump doesn't push the rocket launch more than a few millimetres; and the vegegot kelpcake doesn't move either. A very disappointed birthday boy (his 'dream present doesn't work and it has to be returned) and a very unhappy mum. "Blast! Launch! Fire!" Not at all - more like Deflate! Flop! Die! Get it right Mattell (Fisher Price) - no pressure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for major Octonaut fans, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
I was very pleased to receive this so quickly and at an uninflated price from the seller (Fun Collectables). My children (aged almost 5 and nearly 3) love anything Octonauts, and I like to indulge this passion as they are some of the best non-violent super-hero-type characters. Like most of the toys in this range, the Octo-lab is good but a little extra effort from Fisher Price could have made it lots better. There is an Octoalert button (you need to get 2 x AAA batteries) that plays relevant phrases/ sound effects and lights the headlamps. This is good. The pump action volcano works quite well, but the vegebot dispenses the solitary kelp cake in a disappointingly lethargic way, and the rescue flare barely travels one centimetre. The accompanying Shellington in his deep sea suit is nice. It would have been good to also have received a Dashi character as she is a key character in the Octonauts special that introduces the Octo-lab. Its a relief that Kwazi and Barnacles are not included this time as we already have about 5 of each!
The Octo-lab is a nice addition to our collection. I just wish that Fisher Price had made the pump more effective , included a sea creature other than just one jelly fish or made something glow in the dark. I am hiding the packaging from my children because it pictures a couple of Octo-buggy vehicles to buy separately which aren't yet available.
Overall, I'm pleased to have it, but the quality of the design does not match the high quality of the television series or the recent book "The Octonauts Explore the Great Big Ocean".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Toy does not operate as advertised - The pump does not work at all, 3 Jan. 2014
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
Extremely disappointing as it was a gift for our grandsons - they had seen it advertised and were very keen about the pump but this does not work - Would strongly advise any potential purchaser to think hard before proceeding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the range, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Ruth (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
The latest Octonauts structure is a great addition to the range. It seems more thought out and playable than the Octopod. When the lid lifts it raises the control platform automatically. The lid also means the whole thing can be carried around without losing figures out the sides. Only criticism would be the 'pump' is not very powerful but my 4.5yr old doesn't seem bothered. And all for less than £20 - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
This is a super toy. My son's favourite episode of the Octonauts is the one with the deep sea lab so he is delighted with his new toy. You do have to push down quite hard to make the pump work but he's getting the hang of it despite having only just turned three.
Couple of things I not loving though, the kelp cake has disappeared under my couch several times! A few extra kelp cakes would have been nice. The rocks that fly out the volcano are fairly similar to wotsits so we've had to put them aside for a wee while.
However, it's great that the two octobuggy toys we have are compatible with this, and another Shellington toy is good too. We all like the sounds and lights too, but might have been nice to have phrases from characters in addition to Captain Barnacles. It folds up well, and I like that everything fits in nicely. A solid buy, if not the greatest Octo toy ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad I only paid half price for this as the ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab (Toy)
I'm glad I only paid half price for this as the air pumps never really worked and it's only a little bit more exciting than what you could do with a cereal box and some tissue paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Octonauts Deep Sea Octo-Lab
£21.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews