Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better and better!
Swap Force is a fantastic update to the Skylanders series.

There are now absolutely loads of things to do in addition to the main story line such as many different puzzles and mini games. The puzzles are varied and enjoyable and the mini games, which take elements from other popular games, are very enjoyable. One minute you have a 2D platform level like...
Published 11 months ago by D. Callaghan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great buy
My 9 year old son completed 50% of this game within a week, and wasn't on it all that much. The other 50% of the game seems to be on mini games, but he has lost interest in it. It seems like a waste of money to go and get more of the characters, on top of the additional ones we have already bought. I was not impressed with this game.
Published 7 months ago by Sharon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better and better!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
D. Callaghan "Engineer" (Alcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Swap Force is a fantastic update to the Skylanders series.

There are now absolutely loads of things to do in addition to the main story line such as many different puzzles and mini games. The puzzles are varied and enjoyable and the mini games, which take elements from other popular games, are very enjoyable. One minute you have a 2D platform level like Mario, the next you are sliding down a rainbow collecting coins like Sonic, the next you are blasting baddies with a very fast gun from something like a tank.

Pros
- Encourages problem solving with a large range of puzzles either as mini games or as part of the main story line
- Countless hidden areas to find and explore
- A large number of enjoyable mini games
- Enjoyable main story line
- Characters can be customised to suit the challenge
- Good graphics
- Improved my son's reading and arithmetic skills

Cons
- You can't cancel character conversations. This is annoying because they had this feature in Giants.
- You need to buy extra characters to do everything in the game.

In short, this is the very best game for younger children available. It can get expensive but in play per £ it beats anything else hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Skylanders game!!, 24 Oct 2013
By 
SNS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game runs on the exact same idea as Skylanders 1 and 2 (Giants) by which you have a USB connected PORTAL (a close range scanner) which you place a toy on and that character appears in the game.

You then level up that character through story missions, arena battles and challenges.

You can swap that character out at any time with another toy and do the same and each one saves the progress for that unique character onto a chip inside the toy!

The main difference this time, is that the new "swap force" characters are in two parts; a top and a bottom and the TOP and BOTTOM have separate abilities to learn and unlock. Level progression is saved to the TOP half though!!

And it works and it is a lot of fun to interchange different movement styles with different attack styles. There is a total of 250 combinations if you have all swap force characters. These swap force characters are also quite large and about the same size as GIANTS.

If you are an experienced Skylander player you will already have lots of character to use and to access all in game areas, but if you are new to all this you may find the massive number of toys excessive, but you don't need them all to complete the game.

Pros -

- The visuals (while still not next gen) have had a massive improvement and you can tell.
- A very long storyline compared to a lot of other games released.
- The controls are still spot on, for the most part.
- The swap force technique works great.
- You can use the GIANTS in the game and it actively encourages it by having chests that only GIANT can open.
- Small improvements to the user interface and menu system.
- They individual story missions are a lot longer and varied.
- We now have challenges in each story mission depending on the movement style of the character.

For instance the squid who comes with the start pack can walk up walls and some story missions have sections where you have to move up a wall and avoid objects coming out. While others may involve flying through loops on a time limit and so on. Those are fun, but can be frustrating.

- You can also now JUMP which feels natural and adds so much.
- You have 'Portal Master' levels for yourself and as you level up you can unlock extra things in game.

Cons -

- This time they have GATES which can only be opened by a correct combination of swap force characters (i.e fire and water, etc) and challenges requiring a certain movement type. Those are fun, but it does pressure you to now invest in one of each element AND one of each movement style.

- Still no bank in game to hold character gold?
- Still no online co-op or arena fights?
- Yet another new portal is needed.
- The ever increasing number of Skylanders.
- Still we cannot skip NPC conversations.
- Some of the side challenges (like shooting ranges) are just too hard.

But ultimately the game is fun, improved upon and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing not to like about swap force, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My boy of 9 has the last two Skylanders and wanted this one desperately (his words). He hasn't played the giants game as much as the first as he thought it two simple without enough levels, I was reluctant to buy this one but succumb to his pleading.

The big difference is the characters can be body swapped, legs and heads can be swapped so the skylander can perform different, i.e quick legs mean the character will move quicker, simple. Not all the characters that you buy are swappable, make sure you check before you buy the characters. they have swap on the box.

The bodies are connected by a magnet, very clever how the game knows what going on.

The game it self is pretty much the same as the last two installments, I liked the idea that the old Skylanders can be used on the game but they don't have the swap feature which will mean more characters being purchased, more figures sitting near the console and less money in my wallet.

My boy also has theDisney Infinity Starter Pack (Xbox 360) which I personally prefer as you can identify with the characters, although Skylanders missions are far more challenging.

There is nothing not to like about swap force, its additive, fun, challenging, just a shame its going to cost me more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sylanders, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Purchased as a present for my 7 year old twin boys. Waiting until Xmas day to see if it is good. Product received promptly. Happy with what I have seen so far. Product has been well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This product was very cheap compared to shop prices, so very pleased with it.
well worth the money so thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 18 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a joint Christmas present for my boys who already have the skylanders giants. So they haven't used it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The item itself is exactly what you would expect from skylanders. My issue has been with Amazon and is still not resolved., 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I pre ordered this so I could get the free Hex character for my son. Unfortunately it arrived without it. Spoke to Amazon, no problem we'll send it out again. What did I get? Another skylander starter set and still no Hex. I have now returned one of them but to this day am still missing my free character. Won't be pre ordering again as obviously too complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it..., 14 Feb 2014
By 
AndyL (Cambridgeshire/ Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My eight year old son loves it, has done it and keeps doing it again and again. As with all Skylanders games be careful - in order to complete the game you will need to spend two or three times as much on new characters...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but..., 27 Oct 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game is great, my son loves Skylanders however the graphics are terrible comparing to Giants and Spyro Adventure. Sometimes there is a problem with portal figures show up on the screen but then disappear, when you lift them and put once again the problem is gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skylanders Swap Force - Starter Pack (Xbox 360)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews