Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well with the Kindle Fire HDX
Nice bit of kit. Simple to setup and update the firmware. Just need to push and hold the side button and then wait until the white light starts to blink, wait a few seconds and then let the button go and then it goes into update mode. Connect your laptop to the Push2TV network, connect to http://192.168.3.1 and away you go...

The reason for 4 stars is that...
Published 11 months ago by D. Merrett

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complete streaming freedom... at a performance hit
Customer Video Review     Length:: 5:44 Mins
Script from the video:

Time for one of my favourite programmes.

Should I watch it on the tablet...

...or on television?

Smart Device technology continues to evolve and one of the more recent developments is the ability to wirelessly stream content from your tablet or smart phone to a smart television...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complete streaming freedom... at a performance hit, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
Length:: 5:44 Mins

Script from the video:

Time for one of my favourite programmes.

Should I watch it on the tablet...

...or on television?

Smart Device technology continues to evolve and one of the more recent developments is the ability to wirelessly stream content from your tablet or smart phone to a smart television. But if you don't have a smart television you can get a device like this.

It's a Netgear PTV3000 which is a wireless display adapter. It plugs into the mains for power and into your television via a HDMI cable. That sorts out the receiver. The transmitter is, obviously, your smart device and this must support something called Miracast.

If it does you can do this with, for example, a Nexus 7 2013 tablet.

Go to settings and then choose the display options. At the bottom of this screen is something called cast screen. Press that and then in this next screen press the three dots in the top right hand corner and check the 'Enable Wireless Display' option.

If the wireless display adapter is on the tablet should pick it up. Press on the device to connect the two together. The process is very much like pairing two Bluetooth devices together and once you've succeeded, the content on the tablet is transmitted directly to your television.

This isn't Chromecast where only certain applications are compatible, this is a direct mirror of your android device on your television.

When the two devices are connected you can swipe down on you notification tray to quickly disconnect the android device and the wireless adapter. But now the connection has been established, it's very easy to connect the two again by swiping down on the top right of the tablet to bring up quick options and selecting the cast screen option.

And that's all you have to do to get your content onto a television. Whatever you do on your tablet, the wireless adaptor will show it to you on your television. That includes rotating from portrait to landscape mode.

A couple of important and positive points to note at this moment are that this does not impact on the wifi capability of your android; it doesn't lose internet connection. And not only is the visual content streamed to your television, sound is too and it syncs perfectly.

In principle this is a fantastic addition to your gadget collection, but unfortunately it's not quite perfect yet. If the resolution of your android device differs from your television then you might encounter borders like you can see here with my hand up against the right edge of the television.

Secondly, applications can detect whether you are using wireless Miracast and can block the signal. For example, you can't use the SKY Go application to transmit SKY from the android device to your television, so you need to make sure the apps you use don't block Miracast.

Finally, there is a slight delay of maybe a third of a second between the android device and what's actually displayed on screen. This doesn't affect sound as that is delayed too but it does mean that playing games is impossible. But when you think about it, trying to play touchscreen games without looking at the touchscreen is just downright stupid anyway.

However, for those of you looking to use emulators and other interactive applications, this isn't really the solution. Wireless adaptors are designed to work with passive entertainment, which basically means watching stuff on your big television.

I'm afraid to say the technology doesn't seem to be consistent with different devices either. First of all, the connect method is always different depending on which android device you use. For my Samsung Galaxy S4 for example I had to go to my connections and choose screen mirroring.

That's acceptable of course; every android device has its own quirks. But what's not acceptable is the atrocious lag I experienced using this device.

You wouldn't want to watch that for long and when I tried to use Youtube, it just flat out refused to work. Even when using the BBC News app you can see the terrible delay.

So, in short, we all want wireless connections and the ability to watch stuff on big screens. But at around £50 the Netgear PTV3000 is gamble due to its patchy performance.

Give it a year though, and I think this technology will be perfected and readily available.

If you have any questions about this device or things you'd like me to test, let me know and I'll give it a try. Thanks for watching and I'll see you all again soon in another VGJFelix video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well with the Kindle Fire HDX, 1 Jan 2014
By 
D. Merrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
Nice bit of kit. Simple to setup and update the firmware. Just need to push and hold the side button and then wait until the white light starts to blink, wait a few seconds and then let the button go and then it goes into update mode. Connect your laptop to the Push2TV network, connect to http://192.168.3.1 and away you go...

The reason for 4 stars is that the Samsung S4 (which should work) does not connect...

Also, I'd suggest running it from the USB on the TV and setting the time out feature to off, that way after 30 minutes it will not go to sleep. The timeout is a feature of the most recent firmware update (2.4.26).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on for Kindle Fire HDX, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
Looking to stream your new Kindle Fire HDX, to that huge HDTV. Look no further, and just get one of these. Just set it up, and bingo! What a impressive little gadget. Simply brilliant! Anyway, I'm going to stop talking, and leave you alone to buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant if you don't have Miracast in your TV, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
I bought this because my Panasonic Viera Plasma didn't have Miracast in it. Hence me buying it. It works very well with my Kindle Fire HDX on the mirroring in the menus. It is easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Push2TV PTV3000. I could be a nice device if it would stay on. In practical terms though it is useless., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
On the surface, the Push2TV PTV3000 seems like a good device. You plug it in , simple, turn on and tune the TV and then tune the Kindle Hdx to it through a series of straightforward steps. The TV picture is good quality and mirrors the image on the Kindle. However, what made this device practically unusable was that each time we turned off either the Kindle Hdx or the TV we had to reset the PTV3000 (via a button on the PTVbox) before it would function again. That is all well and good if you dont mind getting out of your chair and walking over to the TV to do that each time, maybe 2-3 times in the evening, but if you are an 80 year old with mobility issues it become a serious problem. We did update the firmware to the latest, a simple task, that we really hoped would cure this very fundamental flaw but it didnt. We also found that the PTV 3000 would just stop working after a period and would again need to be reset before it would function again. I must say that I am very disappointed with Netgear for selling a device which clearly needs further development. I gave it 2 stars because in essence it works but in practical terms it is almost useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Piece of Gear, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
Received today to enable me to Mirror my Kindle Fire HDX. Connected to TV no problem. Then it told me to do a software update and the address to get on their website, no problem. But a bit hit and miss working out the sequence to download and install with my desktop computer even though I am reasonably computer literate. Succeeded and after looking how I had done it, it looked pretty straight forward. Could be a problem for someone who is not knowledgeable. Don't think you really need to do the update if using an Android device.
Bought mine direct from Amazon at half the price it is showing from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle HDX, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
I guess some people may have trouble connecting this up, I'm not commenting about everything. For me I got this to miracast movies from my kindle HDX to my TV which is a few years old now. It works just fine for that task. Small size doesn't take up hardly any space and wireless seems to pickup ok. I'm sure there are other devices that will miracast your kindle HDX to the tv but all I can say for certain is this unit will do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly with my Nexus 7 (2013)., 11 Jan 2014
By 
Kevin Swindells (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
Firsly a word to the wise - install the latest Firmware from the Netgear website (as advise on a piece of paper in the box) - I initially found that the picture quality was awful and the signal would keep dropping

Since upgrading the firmware the connection works very reliably and is of excellent quality, for those wanting to play games there is a slight lag - but for consuming music/video content this isn't a concern.

The only minor gripe I have with it is that the picture doesn't fill the TV screen as the Nexus 7 isn't a 16:9" display and neither Android or Netgear offers scaling - rather annoying on videos which are already letter boxed - there is a black bar about 6cm wide to the left and right of the picture on my 32" set - this therefore loses the device a star.

One minor irritation you may find if connecting to your TV via a HDMI switch - the signal won't stay connected unless the input of your HDMI Switch remains on the Push2TV constantly - this means if you quickly flick to the Sky box (say) to see the Football results you'll need to Cast the screen again (this is not an issue if the Push2TV is connected directly to a HDMI port on the TV) - this is probably down to the HDCP (copyright protection) handshaking.

Also, for those wondering - the various online guides make it look like you need to jump through a number of menus to connect to the Push2TV each time - on Android Kit Kat this fortunately isn't a problem - the first connection is still buried in the settings menus, but from then on you simply slide down the settings tray, tap cast screen and then tap your Play2TV device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great with compatible android miracast and intel WiDi devices, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
I have been using this for a few months now and bought it from Amazon USA and imported it to the UK as it wasnt available on amazonUK then and it was cheaper buying it from amazonUSA including delivery and customs etc than the price now on amazonUK.

This works great for mirroring the screen of Samsung Galaxy S4, S3, Note 2, Sony Xperia ZL and Intel WiDi enabled Dell Laptop. You can use this to screen mirror miracast enabled phones and tablets and Intel WiDi enabled laptops.

You can mirror your phone screen for casual gaming, video, google music, amaon music, Tune in radio pro, photo, streaming content from the net, netflix, xbmc, plex etc. Everything on the phone or tablet can be mirrored unless some apps are specifically blocked from mirroring by app developer like skygo, 4od etc See my video demo of it working fine on my phone for all of these functions on this video [...] or if this link is deleted by amazon mods then go to youtube or google and search for this youtube video watch?v=JxSJ57Q3zak to see how well it works. In my opinion watching a video review is much better than explaining it in words.

It works fine to mirror my intel WiDi enabled Dell laptop see video demo [...] or if link deleted by mods then search google or youtube for this video demo watch?v=UZaDe-P_74s Please update your laptop wifi drivers and widi drivers from intel website as explained in my video and video description where the links are given.

Miracast is built into many android phones, tablets, soundbars, TVs and bluray players and dongles like...
Sony Xperia (various models with Android 4.0.4 or above) Z, ZL,T, TX, Z ultra
LG Optimus G (Android 4.0.4 or above)
Samsung Galaxy S4, Samsung Galaxy S3 (Android 4.1.1 or above), Samsung Galaxy Note 2, Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1
HTC one (one X does not have miracast)
Google Nexus 4 (Android 4.2.1)
Various newer Sony, LG, Samsung TVs and Bluray players
Various laptops by Dell, Acer, Samsung, Sony, (please look for miracast or intel WiDi in specs)
LOADS more devices have miracast built in as well.

See video demo of miracast working fine on my LG Blu-ray player which might be another option for people wanting miracast mirroring devices instead of this dongle. I bought the bluray player from amazon as well [...] if link is deleted by mods then search google or youtube for this video watch?v=TRSVyxyuO_M

See video demo of it working fine on Samsung Galaxy S3 [...] if link is deleted by mods then search google or youtube for this video watch?v=Xkh2xbeA-qk

See video demo of it working fine on Samsung Galaxy S4 plus a long rant against Netgear sales and customer service in the USA and UK (website and phone) who I think are absolutely useless as they told me device wouldnt work in the UK as software is different for USA!!! when i called them and net chat via their website etc [...] if link is deleted by mods then search google or youtube for this video watch?v=MxZKpg3o-dk

Lag is about 250 milliseconds using the timer technique demonstrated on this video [...] or if link deleted by mods then search google or youtube for this video watch?v=J-5JJhKMph8

There are millions or miracast and intel WiDi enabled phones, tablets, and laptops already sold and I think Netgear are absolute fools for having missed a golden opportunity all this while in not marketing this device properly as even Netgear phone and web teams discouraged me from buying this device when i contacted them from the UK before buying the device. But I bought it anyway as I had a feeling the Netgear people i spoke with and chatted with had no clue how this worked.

The instructions arent great hence the many returns that can be found for further discounts in many USA shops like Frys (i found box loads of open box returns in some shops available at further discount in the USA). Go buy the open box returns and find an even greater bargain. I feel the returns are due to inadequate instructions on properly positioning the dongle. DO NOT put the device behind the TV or use a small adapter to connect it to TV. Use a HDMI cable to connect to TV and bring the dongle to the side or top of TV so that there is direct line of sight between transmitting phone or tablet and this dongle with no intervening objects in between and then lag and stuttering is very less.

I have had no problems streaming videos from XBMC in full HD and miracast mirroring it to my TV from my samsung galaxy s4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Kit, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear PTV3000 Push2TV Wireless Display Adapter - Certified for Use with Kindle Fire HDX (Accessory)
An excellent piece of kit for streaming smartphone and tablets to a big screen TV.

I've rated this with four stars rather than five because of the instructions.
Don't get me wrong, this is a relatively easy piece of equipment to set up, but, yes there is a but!
The instructions are very very simple and setting up this little gem doesn't require many steps, however not everyone is 100% tech savvy and the lack of a few extra words or clearer onscreen instruction can lead to some frustration for those of us that were not born in the more recent plugged in generation!

For the Kindle HDX. I can't comment on setting up other equipment because I'm using it soley to stream the HDX.
The instructions or lack of added an extra 45 minutes of set up and frustration.
Assuming the equipment is plugged in correctly it's only a matter seconds before your TV screen will display the set up page. At the top left of your TV screen there will be a small box showing a pictorial description of how to set up Windows 8 then Adroid devices followed by the Kindle, in principle it's a good idea but not so much in practice, the instructions roll along at their own speed and with no ability to slow them down, pause stop or rewind , if you miss something relative to the set up of your device there's nothing to do except sit and wait for the relevant instructions to come around again and hope that you see it clearly and long enough to get an idea of what it means!
The kindle HDX has one serious mis-direction , your TV will quickly show the start up display, it instructs you to the touch the Wireless display app on your tablet, so imagine me frustration when after repeated attempts my Kindle didn't appear to be 'seeing' anything accept my wifi internet connection!
After a few try's the instructions went in the bin.
when your TV display shows you the set up screen it will instruct you to open your wifi display on you kindle HDX....IGNORE that because it's incorrect, on you Kindle HDX look at the top left where it say 'Amazon' open that and scroll down until you find settings and open it, within the settings page there is a very clear option to allow streaming / mirror cast , just check that box, wait a few seconds and there you go, your Kindle HDX is now displayed on your TV.

The image is crisp and sharp with the audio being clear, if you want want more bass you might consider a home theatre surround system.

The unit itself is very neat, smaller than a pack of cards and about 1/4 of inch thick, in shiny piano black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews