Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MADE IN JAPAN?..EH NO DENMARK!!
What can i say,this has been issued several times before, as 'Live In Denmark '72' circa 2002,again as 'Live In Copenhagen' circa 2007,remastered apparently,also as a DVD circa 2005 titled 'Live In Concert 72/73 (which included the footage from America),there's also a video called 'Scandanavian Nights',not to be confused with a live album of the same name,phew,its...
Published 21 months ago by Mr Blackwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but good
Dated in places but a great show and worth it for lazy alone. Documentary footage hilarious and so much a bygone era
Published 15 months ago by Robert Simon Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MADE IN JAPAN?..EH NO DENMARK!!, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
What can i say,this has been issued several times before, as 'Live In Denmark '72' circa 2002,again as 'Live In Copenhagen' circa 2007,remastered apparently,also as a DVD circa 2005 titled 'Live In Concert 72/73 (which included the footage from America),there's also a video called 'Scandanavian Nights',not to be confused with a live album of the same name,phew,its confusing,i believe however this is the first time the 1973 American tracks have been issued as stand alone audio.

If your a Purple fan,then i dont need to re-iterate that this was mark 2 at their peak,'Made In Japan', is rightly held up as a classic live album,no arguements with that,this is its equal,if pushed i would argue its possibly better.

The sound .on this release,has been remastered ,it says here,its of its time,its sound great given its more than 40 years old,Paice's drums bounce from the speakers,the energy from Glover and Lord underpinning everything,whilst Blackmore just,does what he does best,magnificent guitar playing stunning solo's,moments of ,off the wall genuis,then there's Gillan,his voice sounding immaculate,i believe his performance,here, certainly better than Made In Japan(which wasnt too shabby)

its an incredible soundbite of Purple at their youthful best,the exuberance,intensity crackling from the speakers,a joy to listen to,throw in three excellent tracks from the USA 1973,including 'Smoke on the Water',then you can die happy, a fabulous release,audio wise.

Packaging,well thats a different matter,a scandously cheaply made digi pak,with one cd tray/holder,its the first time i've ever bought a double cd where i had to store 1 disc directly on top of the other,whilst the booklet has a few decent pictures,Geoff Bartons notes are woeful,interestling there is an insert that refers to a series of 10 releases(Live in Paris '75 appears to have been the first,this being the 2nd),given that that Paris disc has been issued before as well,it will be interesting to see, if its all, reissues of previously released material.

If you havent got any of the previous versions on cd,this is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant material, cheap packaging, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
Originally, I planned to collect the previous release, but when I heard about this new release I decided to buy it because of the 1973 bonuses (as it was originally on the 2002 DVD version).

I'm very glad that EDEL re-releasing this archive concert titles, they are very good and valuable.

I suppose the sound is probably just a bit "re-equalized" (the original source was a videotape, not a multi-track soundboard recording). I'm not analyizing the material, it speaks for itself.

The new digipack design is looking good, there is a short illustrated booklet indside (not as long and well-written as the original DPAS/Sonic Zoom releases, but better than nothing).

But the packaging...is AWFUL. (And I was moderate.) There is only one tray inside, the two CDs are sitting on each other. Dear EDEL, the case of CD was called jewel box in the old time, in order to protect the discs from scratches and other injuries. I can't belive, that a proper 3 part digipack with two trays would have cost much more than this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGICAL, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
A superb gig. In 1972 Purple were at there peak even with all the internal turmoil. When they took the stage something magical happened. The tracks on hear have been released live in different forms on various albums culminating in the release of the deluxe version of Made In Japan. Purples stage set remains pretty much unchanged except for encores for a few years. However I've never known a band to make the same songs have a different feel and emotion. They were not a band just to go through the motions night after night. Different solos drum patterns between song interplay. Strange Kind Of Woman is never the same. Musicians at the top of their game. Faultless. Can't wait for Long beach 1971. Magical. Packaging leaves a lot to be desired bonus material worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
Great band and great concert. Sound quality well done. The best Deep Purple band ever, nice to have this concert and compare it with Deep Purple Made in Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It showcases Ritchie Blackmore for the amazing guitar player he was and puts the 1975 live ..., 25 Oct. 2014
By 
A. I. Parr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
This is Deep Purple at their live peak. It showcases Ritchie Blackmore for the amazing guitar player he was and puts the 1975 live releases with Hughes and Coverdale well and truly in the shade. As a band they were so tight that the playing is intuitive with Blackmore and Lord running riot whilst Glover and Paice keep the beat. No overdubs, the complete show, with the added bonus of three tracks from NYC in early 1973. This is a must have for any rock fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
Live Deep Purple all ways a pleasure to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic line up plays classic gig for the cameras, 10 April 2014
By 
R Kupisz (no fixed abode) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
This was recorded on the tour just after Machine Head yet the songs from that album already feel like the road worn classics they have become. I had seen the DVD some time ago at a friend's house but opted for the CD as I have more time to listen to music. Deep Purple's heyday came a couple of years too early for me so I never saw them play - something I regret after listening to this. The standard of musicianship from all band members is truly magnificent; I especially like the extended solos and instrumental workouts, which leave room for the players to stretch out. These days everything is rehearsed down to the smallest detail - while the shows may look slick and professional they lack soul and feeling. This CD has plenty of both. The sound quality is pretty good for a TV special too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but good, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Purple: Live In Copenhagen 1972 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Dated in places but a great show and worth it for lazy alone. Documentary footage hilarious and so much a bygone era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
5 STAR SELLER - SUPERB service - EXCELLENT CD - FAST dispatch - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...
MANY THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best version I've heard, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Copenhagen 1972 (Audio CD)
it's been remixed by the guy who did the new Made In Japen box set - it's still in mono though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews