Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally good, 19 July 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
I think this is quite remarkably good. I hadn't heard Emily Barker before and I've plainly been missing out. This is an album of exceptionally thoughtful, atmospheric and musically fine songs with very good, original lyrics.

It's hard to categorize the style of this album (which is probably a good thing) but it has a sort of Americana feel but to me has a very English sound (Anglicana, perhaps?) - from an Australian artist, of course. The instrumentation of The Red Clay Halo is varied but is basically accordion, cello and viola with variations, and it gives a very distinctive sound which sets off Barker's songs perfectly. Her voice is very haunting and she can really put over a song, and the standard of musicianship throughout is consistently excellent. The production is great and the overall effect is a deeply involving, personal album which I find quite spellbinding.

The Limited Edition of Dear River includes a second version of the album consisting of acoustic demos. Usually I find such bonus material weak at best, but here it makes a terrific album itself. The stripped down versions of these songs, all apparently recorded in one day, are really good and in my view are well worth having.

I warmly recommend this album - I think it's something rather special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just MAGIC with added MAGIC!!, 8 July 2013
By 
Aldo Z. Picek "Trieste1" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The latest release from Emily Barker and the Red Clay Halo is just MAGIC!!
The band are a fantastic talent!
A litle more mature and straight forward than Almanac, with more North American Folk leanings this time around I feel.
The bonus disc contains acoustic versions of the album's songs, and provides a more folky, enchanted edge to the collection brining it a little closer to Almanac.
I cannot wait to see the band on tour this year, it will be a mesmerising experience
This could be a great Decemberists' album...
Now Emily Barker and the Decemberists, now that would be a tour to follow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic album, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear River (Deluxe Version) (MP3 Download)
Another fantastic album from Emily and the girls. They just go from strength to strength. The addition of the acoustic tracks adds an extra wow factor to this great album. The track Ghost Narrative is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Realised Vinyl Release, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This acutely plangent record arrived today. If you care about vinyl sound, then you will love this pressing. Emily's voice is so directly recorded that the room feels filled with its urgency.There's almost no surface noise,just the warm clarity of the instruments surrounding the listener. 'I hope I know...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Magic!, 8 July 2013
By 
Aldo Z. Picek "Trieste1" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear River (Audio CD)
The latest release from Emily Barker and the Red Clay Halo is just MAGIC!!
The band are a fantastic talent!
A litle more mature and straight forward than Almanac, with more North American Folk leanings this time around I feel.
I cannot wait to see the band on tour this year, it will be a mesmerising experience
This could be a great Decemberists' album...
Now Emily Barker and the Decemberists, now that would be a tour to follow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It !!, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
R. J. Barber - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear River (Audio CD)
More upbeat than previous albums with a slight country and western influence. Great lyrics, great musicianship and very easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album. Strong songs, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. Strong songs, good arrangements and immaculate recording. The CD comes with a complete 'unplugged' version of the album, which i actually prefer. This is acoustic singer/songwriter material with a strong dash of Americana. Fans of the Wailin Jenny's or Alison Krauss will love this. VERY highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality country sound, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear River (Audio CD)
I love Emily barker music and this album is one of her best yet an album you can chill out to sunbathing in the garden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
Emma "Jane Austin" (Horsham west sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear River (Deluxe Version) (MP3 Download)
Quite simply this is a great album. It was another gamble on my part as not heard any of their music but again reviews were good so I took a chance and have not looked back. This was especially good as this version has lots of acoustic versions as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear River (Deluxe Version) (MP3 Download)
Lovely album with beautiful melodies and Emily has really interesting voice; it has a super lilting quality. Story telling delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear River (Deluxe Version)
Dear River (Deluxe Version) by Emily Barker & The Red Clay Halo
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews