Customer Reviews


647 Reviews
5 star:
 (333)
4 star:
 (151)
3 star:
 (87)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SPLICE OF LIFE
It appears audiences have gotten too hip to buy into the "radioactive spider" bite scenario, so the writers opted for a gene splicing spider bite. The film incorporates many of the original Spider-man ideas, people, and scenes, while maintaining a certain amount of originality. The plot of the film has already been compromised (40 year anniversary of first...
Published 23 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic...
Published 9 days ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passable Blockbuster Which Fails to Captivate, 23 May 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Andrew Garfield plays the eponymous Spider-Man, a superhero who keeps the folks of New York City safe from an assortment of genetically mutated anti-heroes. His everyday alter-ego is Peter Parker, a struggling photographer.
Jamie Foxx plays Max Bryan, a research technician and uber-nerd who works for Oscorp. Oscorp lead the way with research into electro-magnetic power. Max gets involved in an industrial accident, ending up in a tank of electric eels, who bite him countless times. He transmogrifies into Electro, a creature who can use electro-magnetic power to devastating effect.
Emma Stone plays Gwen Stacey, Spidey's on off girlfriend, in a rather understated role.
Dane Dehann, in the standout performance of the movie, plays Harry Osborne, the twenty year old sole beneficiary of his late father's business Oscorp, a two hundred billion dollar organisation. Due to genetic mutation he's also the Green Goblin, another arch-villain bent on bringing Manhattan to its knees.
The film starts with a thrilling opening ten minute sequence on a plunging aircraft. It then goes straight into an equally thrilling ten minute segment through the streets of lower Manhattan, as Spider-Man tries to halt a robbery of plutonium. I haven't seen so many cars destroyed since The Blues Brothers, nor a truck cause so much damage since the opening scene in Beverly Hills Cop - The Blues Brothers [Blu-ray] [Region Free], Beverly Hills Cop: Triple Feature [Blu-ray].
Unfortunately, having provided the viewer with this visceral excitement in the first twenty minutes, the film then has a soporific effect for the next hour or so, as the focus turns to Spidey's will he won't he romance with Gwen. It doesn't really work, because Peter Parker's character is quite anodyne, and he doesn't have any convincing chemistry with Gwen. Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst had a far more engaging and credible chemistry in the previous franchise of Spidey movies.
The film also suffers badly from the lack of a comedic element. In the Maguire/Dunst films, the wit was provided by Peter Parker's riotous newspaper boss J. Jonah Jameson, a larger than life workplace bully played with great gusto by J. K. Simmons, who lit up the screen every time he appeared. In this movie, there's not much respite from the vaguely dreary romantic meanderings of Peter and Gwen - the film really needed a clownish figure to raise a chuckle or two.
Electro is a bland super-villain. Jamie Foxx is a great actor, but he's largely wasted in this role. Alfred Molina's Dr Octopus in the earlier Spider-Man 2 was vastly more charismatic and interesting. Here, Electro is a poor man's version of Julian McMahon's Dr Doom in the Fantastic Four movies - Fantastic Four / Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer Double Pack [Blu-ray].
Harry Osborne was potentially the most interesting character in the film, excellently portrayed by Dane Dehann, but he's badly underused.
If you're going to have a romance as a central element of a super-hero movie, the key is to make sure that the couple sizzle on screen - Maguire and Dunst managed it in the earlier Spider-Man movies, so too did Christopher Reeve and Margot Kidder in Superman - The Superman 5 Film Collection 1978-2006 [Blu-ray] [1978] [Region Free]. Sadly, Garfield and Stone fail to ignite. They'd have been more believable as a brother and sister.
I don't think that this blockbuster pic is a good buy on Blu-Ray. The 90 minute middle section is a bit like wading through treacle and it wouldn't bear repeat viewings. The original Spider-Man trilogy is significantly more engaging and enjoyable - Spider-Man Trilogy [Blu-ray] [Region Free]. The film does liven up in the last half hour, but it was quite a struggle for me to stick with it for that long.
If you haven't already seen Kick-Ass and Kick-Ass 2, I recommend that you do so - those two movies are vastly more effective than this tepid reboot of the wonderful Spider-Man - Kick-Ass/Kick-Ass 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SPLICE OF LIFE, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
It appears audiences have gotten too hip to buy into the "radioactive spider" bite scenario, so the writers opted for a gene splicing spider bite. The film incorporates many of the original Spider-man ideas, people, and scenes, while maintaining a certain amount of originality. The plot of the film has already been compromised (40 year anniversary of first publication), so there is no need for me to dwell on it.

3D holograms are used in the film, and of course Spider-man flies directly at your head. If you have the wallet and opportunity, I would suggest the 3D version.

In all honesty I preferred Toby McGuire to Andrew Garfield as Spider-man. That is not to say Andrew did a bad job, he didn't. The part was written different. I am a big fan of Emma Stone (Gwen Stacy), who has been in High School going on 6 years now. She can play the hottie and the nerd both better than most actresses. But what this film didn't have was that one defining moment that will forever be played in movie pop culture history and that was "The Kiss" which drove women into the theater. Yes, Emma and Andrew swap spit, but it wasn't the same as that upside down, remove the mask, just rescued me moment.

Denis Leary, who typically plays an angry comic, delivers in his role as Captain Stacy. Good action. For a 2 hour plus movie, it moves rather quickly. The real unanswered question is, "Will Andrew Garfield join the Avengers?"

PARENTAL GUIDE: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Knocks Toby Maguires wimpy Spidy for six. Great chemistry between Spiderman and his leading lady (they are an item so that helped). Much more believable action and plot and great to watch. Can't wait to watch #2. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars May Not Be As Amazing As the Title Suggests, 31 May 2015
By 
This 2012 reboot of the Spider-Man franchise may not be as amazing as the title suggests, but it does delivers a few elements that make it worth your time, for anyone acquainted with Sam Raimi's bombastic take on the web-slinging superhero from the previous decade's trilogy of crowd-pleasing material.

As far as origin stories go, this film takes another approach on the renowned Peter Parker origin story; adds in another villain that did not appear in the Sam Raimi's films; and the fan-favourite character, Gwen Stacy, as Parker's high-school interest; some up-to-date visual effects, and we should get a satisfying superhero film for its 2-hour-plus running time.

However, the pacing seems rushed, as it is trying to hard to avoid the pratfalls that Raimi's trilogy encountered. And whilst it does deliver the goods, the experience remains under-whelming in the era of Marvel films, and just struggles to stand up against some of this decade's monumental superhero releases from this decade. The shoehorned Stan Lee cameo, as conventional as anything goes in Marvel's world of cinema, breaks up one of the many fight scenes between the main hero and villain pretty badly. The script also seems to rush with developing all of its characters, giving the impression to the average moviegoer not much time to be acquainted with one character after another. At least for the geeks, they do provide some screen time for Parker's rarely seen nor mentioned biological parents, alongside Martin Sheen's cartoonish take on Uncle Ben, and Sally Field's screen worthy take on Aunt May.

The Amazing Spider-Man may not hold up as a standalone film in the cinematic world of Spider-Man, but at least it does takes itself serious enough to give respect for the fans that maybe still recovering from the infamous Spider-Man 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Admit you would like to meet with that charmful boy!, 19 April 2015
By 
It is not a miracle, but it is an epiphany. They even tried to make the supernatural transformation natural. The superhero is seen and shown as a plain ordinary man, I mean boy who is more or less bullied now and then, a weak one indeed who is trying to get in touch with the only man he knows had been working with his father before his parents disappeared after leaving him in the care of an uncle.

He manages to get where he wants to go and he manages to suffer the fatal accident, the accident that is going to kill the boy in him forever and make him become Spider-Man. That accident, fatal or not, is just plain banal and yet it is the transformation of a human into a spider. That's nice, delicately done, empathetic, attractive. That boy becomes adorable after that transformation in which he recuperates what his father had been researching about.

Unluckily he gives away a formula he should never have given away and that is nearly the end of the world, and this time no epiphany, just a plain apocalypse. And there that's what you are looking for, so don't expect me to tell you what that formula will produce.

On the other side of the natural-supernatural divide there is the love affair of this Peter Parker, that new wave Peter Pan of a Protector Plus in propria persona who comes into the picture Per Procurationem. He is adorable indeed and the poor girlfriend he conquers is no fool. She knows the difference between a real lover and an impotent rapist and you can imagine when her father, a cop mind you, intervene in this sexy love affair that was perfectly safe and back covered to put an end to it.

The end is thus nicely sad since the poor spider will live alone, like all spiders, and his mate will have to go her own way where all kinds of janitors are making sure there are no spiders nor cobwebs in the corners of our minds.

The special effects are funny and disquieting at times but the film has a certain beauty in its brutality.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My Spidey senses were tingling, but this film was surprisingly good, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Okay, no one was more cynical than me when I heard the news that Hollywood was `rebooting' Spiderman only a couple of years after Spiderman 3 was released. I thought it was a complete pointless waste of time. Tobey Maguire's version was so popular, I didn't see how it could be repeated.

Yes, The Amazing Spiderman is a repeat, but, amazingly, it's not as bad as I thought. In fact, I almost enjoyed it more than the original.

I read a lot of internet message boards which criticise BOTH versions from not staying truthful to the source material, i.e. the comics. But, seeing as I've never read any of those, I can't tell which one sticks closer. One of my main gripes with Tobey Maguire's version was that it felt a little too `cartoony' with its bad computer-generated special effects and teen-choice feel.

The Amazing Spiderman is also centred around high school kids (from what I knew of the comic, Peter Parker was a MAN, not a boy, but anyway...). However, the whole affair seems a lot darker. The Lizard is a good baddie to start off with. It would have been nice to see the (proper) Green Goblin (i.e. not just a man in a green suit of armour), but I'm guessing he'll crop up later on in the franchise.

Andrew Garfield is a better hero than Maguire. Despite both playing teenagers, Garfield is also moody and darker, revelling in his newfound powers and even taunting his (lesser) enemies. It seems that the makers of this film looked at Christopher Nolan's Batman franchise with its `flawed hero' mould and decided to borrow that style to make Peter Parker a little less `squeaky clean.' My opinion: it was all the better for it.

Yes, you cannot escape the fact that this film is basically the same one you probably watched ten years ago, but with a different cast. However, if you can get over that and accept that that's just how Hollywood rolls these days, you should enjoy it as a decent entry into the superhero genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing return of the webbed wonder, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Yes, spider-man is back again in a somewhat questionable reboot of the 2002 Spider-Man which starred Toby Maguire & spanned an enjoyable trilogy, of an already modern take on the franchise. This time around the more svelte Andrew Garfield (...Doctor Parnassus) dons the role as a, what feels like, a more fitting Peter Parker in James Vanderbilt, Alvin Sargent and Steve Kloves's reworking of the classic Marvel comic book hero. The first half of the film is more direct with it's action, as the first action sequence appears about 25 minutes in, during Peter's origin story & how he becomes Spider-man. We already know the origins from the first film, sure, but TASM added a new glimpse at the beginning of the film into Parker's family, and for me this made things a bit more interesting, especially with the secretive parts. It also felt more emotional & heartfelt in a way, in which you can connect better with Peter Parker's reasoning for becoming this superhero.

This is thanks in part to the great support cast. Martin Sheen (Apocalypse Now) & Sally Field (Mrs. Doubtfire ) were very believable as the doting Aunt & Uncle which made the emotional tie & background story to Peter's life that bit better. The love interest is well played by Emma Stone (The Help) as the sexy yet intelligent Gwen. The police captain Denis Leary (Rescue Me) was just right as the by the book & protective father. Rhys Ifans (Notting Hill) was surprisingly good as the mad scientist turned Lizard man baddie & ex-work colleague of Peter's father.

Andrew Garfield in the lead role was impressive. His spidey was a bit more adventurous after learning about his new abilities, perhaps a little too much so. In some sequences he was unpredictable as well, in that you were never sure what direction he was going to take when leaping off buildings, or if indeed he was going to be able to save someone(bridge scene example). I also liked that edge of vulnerability to his character, which i thought was just right. He's not the polished superhero yet, he's very much learning his way.

The special effects were well done, and there were some clever new ideas used in places, like the first person view from Spidey as he jumped from buildings. It did make me feel a little queasy, but was only used sparingly to good effect. The action sequences weren't in short supply, they were paced well through the film, with the battle of strength V's agility of the main leads making for some of the most intense fight scenes, albeit with a tinge of deja vu. The few light hearted moments helped balance out the sad ones, as it hit home emotionally really well due to the great cast. So thankfully it wasn't all doom & gloom. With a sequel already in the works, there were plenty of hints as to what we might expect in the next installment, with Norman Osborne's (AKA the Green Goblin) name being dropped. And no doubt the love story will intensify between Peter & Gwen, as it was more of a physicaly restrained courting relationship, but more information shared between them.

In conclusion, The Amazing Spider-man changes things up a little at the beginning by giving us a glimpse at Peter Parker's parents, and goes on to tell us the story we recognise with a more interesting & refreshing approach. I still prefer the older Spiderman 2 over this, but TAMSM is certainly 2nd place overall. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider man, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film love the effects and Spiderman of course !!
Unfortunately I watch the second one first, so spoilt my viewing of the 1st one but nothing to do with the film

Definitely would watch the 3rd !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray 3D + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] AMAZING INDEED!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved Sam Raimi films ever since I first watched “Evil Dead”, So I was very thrilled to hear that he would direct the Spiderman film (2002), I was excited and he delivered, Spiderman 2 is actually my favorite, but Spiderman 3 was not too good, So with the collapse of Spiderman 4 and 5 during pre – production, Raimi walked away, So then Marc Webb directs the Reboot, honestly they have been a lot of Negative’s and Positives being thrown around about the reboot, but I liked it, Webb did a very good Job with this, the 3D is not the best out there, but it ain’t the worst either, story wise I felt it was well paced.

The Blu-Ray package is very nice, it consists of 2 Blu Ray discs, the second Blu Ray disc is packed with features, this is what is not specified here on Amazon, the first disc of this set has both the 3D and 2D versions of the movie, they are both on the same disc, just pop it in and select the version you want.

The Video is flawless, Crisp and Very detailed, The Audio is well timed and detailed too.

SPECIFICATIONS
Video
Codec: MPEG-4 MVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English, English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
2 Disc set (2 BD's)
UV digital copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A NEW BEGINNING', 30 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Different studio,different cast...............must admit i was, before watching first time around, a little skeptical.
However although we start at the very beginning so soon after the 3-movie series(2002-7) ....i have to say, maybe because technology advances are so rapid, this film for me was a whole lot funnier with faster action ( new villains ) along with much in the way of impressive Special-Effects to admire.
You know the story, sit back and enjoy 'in the beginning' all over again.
Great picture and Sound Quality Throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man [Blu-ray 4K] [2012]
The Amazing Spider-Man [Blu-ray 4K] [2012] by Marc Webb (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews