Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2013
A story about the excesses of the 90's and 00's of a Wall Street trader. This isn't an account of the financial crisis (not sure why you'd expect one from the synopsis) or how to beat the market - it's a man's honest tale about living life beyond the full, losing personal control and paying the price. The honesty of the author is refreshing and there's a point in the book (not a spoiler) where I was shouting out 'No! No! No!' in disbelief and sympathy with the turn of events.

I think this book goes a lot further than just being a story about Wall Street - it's a story about a man learning to accept his own failure. Definitely worth a read - and you don't really have to understand trading or finance to fully appreciate it.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and found the author's writing style extremely engaging. You can tell the author has a way with words and it's evident that his first love is writing. This book is a fascinating character assessment of a fresh out-of-the-box graduate with a small town background who is thrust into the intense, cut throat world of Wall Street, where it's not just what you know, but who you know. This book provides a warts-and-all account of life on "The Buy Side" - the immense personal wealth, the nightlife, the debauchery, the shallow relationships and the copious drug abuse.

At first I felt envious of Turney's lifestyle but as the book progressed, the excess became nauseating and the initial glamour faded away altogether. It was unsettling to follow the journey of this inexperienced graduate as he slowly morphs into a high-flying, sleep-deprived, cocaine-fuelled wreck. I always thought it would be amazing to work in The City or on Wall Street, now I'm not too sure.

I took a lot from this book that can be applied to my own life and career although I have no previous experience of finance or trading. The final third of the book deals with Turney finally accepting that life on Wall Street did not bring him the fulfilment and vitality he craved. He realised that bold decisions needed to be made in order to preserve what matters to him most. Without giving too much away, the ending of this book is incredible in many respects, but above all uplifting. I think we can all learn a lot from Turney's journey and I would strongly recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
A warts and all tale of life as a buy-side trader. Great insight into the social dynamics and office politics that take place within the hedge fund industry hats off to Turney Duff for giving such a sincere account even if it does make him look like a seriously out of control drug addict who should barely be allowed to manage himself let alone millions of dollars of other people money...hope he gets well soon.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Turney opened up his heart and soul on what he went through and how it changed his life. Now he can finally learn from the lessons and follow his real lifes dreams.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
I have to say I liked the writing style as it didn't need to know much about the ins and outs of Wall Street, as a lot of the time it appears turney doesn't either and 'winged' it a lot. Enjoyed the stories and gave you an insight into the excess, however it still didn't seem as much as I thought and when you spend as quick as you gain it only ends one way...... Or for turney in hotel rooms watching porn! Still a worthwhile read
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Very entertaining.

A very honest insight into how a regular guy slowly becomes corrupted by money & power and turns into a person filled with self loathing. Turney turns into a truly vile character and he's happy to tell you all about his lows as he falls victim to his own addictive nature.

Even though there is a lot to dislike you can't help but route for the guy and hope he continues on his path to recovery. I've lived with & seen addiction and he's doing better than most. If you're reading this Turney, keep it up!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
I have read a number of books and had also watched a lot of films relating the world of sales and trading. All I can say is that never have I seen one so well written and intriguing!

To not spoil the book for the others to read, even in it's own special way, what Duff had gone through to get to the top is very inspirational. But, every empire collapses eventually.. .

For those looking at the reviews for this book just like I was before buying it, hesitate no longer! It's worth every penny!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I was looking for a book that was similar to The Wolf of Wall Street, but what I got was, in my opinion a darker, more gritty and altogether more realistic version of Wall Street and its pitfalls. I have to say I loved this book and read it in about two days. The first couple of chapters are a little slow, but then it explodes into a roller coaster of emotions. I was angry when Turney relapsed, which is testament to how much you start to care for him- despite not knowing him. Great read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
An eye opening account of life on Wall Street, where the good don't die young, it just seems like it. A great read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Nothing much else to say except that from a selfish viewpoint, thank god Turney didn't stand in any lines! If he had chosen to...he might still be working on the street and we might not have been so fortunate to be exposed to his gift for writing.

If like me, you need to read more Turney Duff, there are some very funny posts on his blog.

Highly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.