Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & honest account of a life of excess
A story about the excesses of the 90's and 00's of a Wall Street trader. This isn't an account of the financial crisis (not sure why you'd expect one from the synopsis) or how to beat the market - it's a man's honest tale about living life beyond the full, losing personal control and paying the price. The honesty of the author is refreshing and there's a point in the book...
Published 20 months ago by Peter Drake

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars all parties and coke
All cocaine and booze, no financial insights really, although you get to see how Galleon made Raj so rich during the .com bubble
Published 5 months ago by Jan Pstrokonski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & honest account of a life of excess, 30 Oct. 2013
A story about the excesses of the 90's and 00's of a Wall Street trader. This isn't an account of the financial crisis (not sure why you'd expect one from the synopsis) or how to beat the market - it's a man's honest tale about living life beyond the full, losing personal control and paying the price. The honesty of the author is refreshing and there's a point in the book (not a spoiler) where I was shouting out 'No! No! No!' in disbelief and sympathy with the turn of events.

I think this book goes a lot further than just being a story about Wall Street - it's a story about a man learning to accept his own failure. Definitely worth a read - and you don't really have to understand trading or finance to fully appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and Inspirational., 22 April 2014
By 
Mike Roper (Hazel Grove, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and found the author's writing style extremely engaging. You can tell the author has a way with words and it's evident that his first love is writing. This book is a fascinating character assessment of a fresh out-of-the-box graduate with a small town background who is thrust into the intense, cut throat world of Wall Street, where it's not just what you know, but who you know. This book provides a warts-and-all account of life on "The Buy Side" - the immense personal wealth, the nightlife, the debauchery, the shallow relationships and the copious drug abuse.

At first I felt envious of Turney's lifestyle but as the book progressed, the excess became nauseating and the initial glamour faded away altogether. It was unsettling to follow the journey of this inexperienced graduate as he slowly morphs into a high-flying, sleep-deprived, cocaine-fuelled wreck. I always thought it would be amazing to work in The City or on Wall Street, now I'm not too sure.

I took a lot from this book that can be applied to my own life and career although I have no previous experience of finance or trading. The final third of the book deals with Turney finally accepting that life on Wall Street did not bring him the fulfilment and vitality he craved. He realised that bold decisions needed to be made in order to preserve what matters to him most. Without giving too much away, the ending of this book is incredible in many respects, but above all uplifting. I think we can all learn a lot from Turney's journey and I would strongly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Honest and Revealing Account of an Industry Shrouded in Secrecy, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A warts and all tale of life as a buy-side trader. Great insight into the social dynamics and office politics that take place within the hedge fund industry hats off to Turney Duff for giving such a sincere account even if it does make him look like a seriously out of control drug addict who should barely be allowed to manage himself let alone millions of dollars of other people money...hope he gets well soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down- honest account of lifes ups and downs, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Turney opened up his heart and soul on what he went through and how it changed his life. Now he can finally learn from the lessons and follow his real lifes dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read shame about the end, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say I liked the writing style as it didn't need to know much about the ins and outs of Wall Street, as a lot of the time it appears turney doesn't either and 'winged' it a lot. Enjoyed the stories and gave you an insight into the excess, however it still didn't seem as much as I thought and when you spend as quick as you gain it only ends one way...... Or for turney in hotel rooms watching porn! Still a worthwhile read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful what you wish for., 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An eye opening account of life on Wall Street, where the good don't die young, it just seems like it. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 16 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Buy Side (Paperback)
Very entertaining.

A very honest insight into how a regular guy slowly becomes corrupted by money & power and turns into a person filled with self loathing. Turney turns into a truly vile character and he's happy to tell you all about his lows as he falls victim to his own addictive nature.

Even though there is a lot to dislike you can't help but route for the guy and hope he continues on his path to recovery. I've lived with & seen addiction and he's doing better than most. If you're reading this Turney, keep it up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A memoir very honestly written. Amazing!, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Buy Side (Paperback)
I have read a number of books and had also watched a lot of films relating the world of sales and trading. All I can say is that never have I seen one so well written and intriguing!

To not spoil the book for the others to read, even in it's own special way, what Duff had gone through to get to the top is very inspirational. But, every empire collapses eventually.. .

For those looking at the reviews for this book just like I was before buying it, hesitate no longer! It's worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read book which reveals some of the more murky practices of Wall Street as well as the powerful grip of addiction. Some of the content feels like it belongs in a work of fiction but the fact that it is not and that the author has lived through it all makes it a more compelling read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget your Wolf Of Wall St. Mr Duff was the original. This is a tale with everything. Funny, honest and heartbreakingly sad. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews