Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, exceptional value for money, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
I always felt Y&T were an underrated band. They made some great heavy rock albums in the early 80s, but never gained the fame of other bands at the time. This compilation is fantastic value for money. 12.99 (at the time of writing) gets you 6 full albums (Earth Shaker, Black Tiger, Mean Streak, In Rock We Trust, Down for the Count, and Open Fire - Live) plus a selection of live tracks from Donnington and Reading festivals.
The first three studio albums are the strongest (and heaviest), the sound got increasingly commercial after that, and the official live album (Open Fire) really shows how good they were as a live act (apart from the awful "Summertime Girls" studio track that's included and out of place on a live album).

You get 68 tracks here all told, and okay maybe not every single one is a winner, but there's more than enough to make this a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BAND,FANTASTIC MUSIC,FANTASTIC RELEASE., 23 Oct 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
If your looking for value for money then you cant go wrong here,the first comprehensive look at Y&T's prime era,you get 7 albums spread over 4 discs.

Disc 1 EARTHSHAKER (1981) and BLACK TIGER (1982)generally accepted as the bands jewels in the crown,this will be the disc most often on repeat play,yes they wore their influences on their sleeves,its not hard to spot the recycled riffs but this band were on fire ,stunning lead guitar and excellent harmonies,just class.

Disc 2 MEANSTREAK (1983) and IN ROCK WE TRUST (1984) , while not at the same level as the first 2,how could they be but their still excellent in their own right.

Disc 3 OPEN FIRE (1985) and DOWN FOR THE COUNT -SIDE 1 original album (1985) plus a couple from IN ROCK WE TRUST, excellent live disc plus a slightly more AORish disc in DOWN FOR THE COUNT. Well worth hearing.

Disc 4 DOWN FOR THE COUNT -original side 2 plus the Indie release Friday Rock Show Live, as usual BBC recording holding up well after all this time.

What can you say,sound quality excellent,Andy Pearce involved in the (re)mastering,packaging is the old style 'fat' box,nice touch having the A&M logo on the disca, while the booklet is light on history,at this price you cant quibble too much,the splitting of albums between discs is a little annoying but i can live with it.

A thoroughly worthwhile release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar albums from an under rated band, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Shrews_Tyke (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
Had a couple of these on vinyl and took the opportunity to get them on CD. This turned out to be quite a bargain. I hadn't heard these for a long time and listening to them again reminded me of what a good band Y & T were. (are?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a gem, 29 Oct 2013
By 
S. Houghton "whitesnake" (north east) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
I love this band. I have been a fan since Earthshaker and have been fortunate to see them live for the last 7 years. Y&T love to play Newcastle. Over the years I have recommended Y&T to friends, they turn up to see them live and all state why have I never heard this band before. This I will never understand Dave Meniketti for me has the most under rated voice in rock and is up there with the best playing his Les Paul. I have had to rely on Mp3 sites for these albums and to find them in one box set I am like a kid in a sweet shop. I recently bought a Cowon x9 and MP3's sound flawed hence I have missed my Y&T fix. I can now Rip them to Flac and sit back and reminisce. Delivery was really quick too which is a plus to Amazon. Thank you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab band, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
Great value for money so many tracks I will be seeing them again live in London November 1st they really rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Y&T at there best, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
Y&T from the U.S.A. giving you hit after hit remastered , get this box set as will not get all of these hits in one place plus you get some great extra tracks . GET IT NOW .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Y&T!!, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
If your into y&t then look no further! this album is outstanding value for money..It has everything they'v ever done..if not almost everything. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love at first bite, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Misca Mustonen "music freak" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
All the best Y&T albums (and then some) are included here:
Earthshaker (1981) and Black Tiger (1982) on the first CD, Mean Streak (1983) and In Rock We Trust (1984) on the second one. These four albums are the essential Y&T albums for me.

The remaining two CDs include albums Open Fire and Down For the Count (both 1985) and Live On The Friday Rock Show (1982/1984). They are all good but not quite as good as the albums on the first two CDs.

If only they released the first two Yesterday & Today albums on cd as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
ABSOLUTLY GREAT VALUE FOR ANYONE TO LISTEN AND FIND OUT ABOUT Y&T THE BAND IVE FOLLOWED THEN FROM VYNEL TO PRESENT DAY AND THIS COLLECTION IS GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earthquake - The A&M Years (Audio CD)
QUALITY !!!!, THE BEST BAND EVER, CAME PROMPTLY, AND IS EXCELLENT VALUE, :-) TOP DRAWER, WILL ENJOY LISTENING TO IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earthquake - The A&M Years
Earthquake - The A&M Years by Y&T (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews