Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film if you know what you're getting into
I watched this film last night and then logged on to Amazon to see if it was available to buy (great price!). Yes, I agree that the marketing is ALL wrong--it is definitely not Die Hardest and there's nothing worse than not getting the type of film you're expecting to see. However, Bruce Willis makes good work of a small role with nary a nudge-nudge, wink-wink. He...
Published 5 months ago by Ditsy Chick

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not an action movie
This is actually the 2008 drama "Assassination of a High School President", finally released 5 years later in the UK with a shortened title. It's a high school noir, similar to "Brick", featuring a high school reporter as the protagonist. The cover is very misleading as Bruce Willis only has a supporting role as the school principal. Don't rent this expecting a Bruce...
Published 12 months ago by BMovieFan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not an action movie, 21 July 2013
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
This is actually the 2008 drama "Assassination of a High School President", finally released 5 years later in the UK with a shortened title. It's a high school noir, similar to "Brick", featuring a high school reporter as the protagonist. The cover is very misleading as Bruce Willis only has a supporting role as the school principal. Don't rent this expecting a Bruce Willis action movie or you will be disappointed. The assassination of the title means character assassination, not snipers and secret agents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Might as well be an audio book, 29 July 2013
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know what's wrong with Bruce Willis. He seems to be starring in more and more of these `straight to DVD' films these days. I can't see him needing the money while he's still making Die Hard films, so why does he do it?

Here, like so many other (non cinema) films, he puts his face on the front cover of the DVD box and various promotional material to lure people like me into thinking he's in it for more than a few minutes. In truth, his part is little more than an extended cameo.

The film is about a school that is entirely populated by stereotypes. The nerdy boy likes the hot girl. There are arrogant jocks and a host of other clichés. Then, when some test papers are stolen, the hot girl wants the nerdy boy to investigate for the school newspaper. So follows a sort of `detective story' only with no actual detectives and in a school instead of a seedy criminal underworld. Plus the lead character narrates constantly. If he walks into a gym, he tells you he's going to walk into a gym then goes on to list every person taking part in a physical activity inside. Seriously, it was like watching a film with the director's commentary on!

I was watching this film and it's never a good sign when you start wondering how long it's been on for. I guessed 45 minutes. I checked on the DVD timer and found I'd only watched 15 minutes. I'm afraid I couldn't last any more than 30 minutes of this.

Maybe it got better after that and, if I did myself and the film a disservice, I apologise. But the opening half an hour was so dull, full of clichés and over-narration, I just couldn't bring myself to watch it any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst film I have seen in years!, 4 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
ASSASSINATION R2 DVD

My wife ordered this movie having read the description, thinking erroneously that it was a Bruce Willis action thriller. IT IS NOT.

This is in fact a re-issue 2008 comedy "Assassination of a High School President", a made for cable/DVD production which didn't sell even in the US and has now been re-issued in Europe with a shorter title and new marketing.

OK so some people may think that this is a terrific film but I thought it was total teenage drivel of the worst kind, crude, poorly directed and acted throughout; Bruce Willis only has a minor supporting role which he plays with total disinterest.

I have travelled to the US a half dozen times a year for the last 50 years and have visited many High Schools as a guest speaker and can only say to European viewers that this is a rather spiteful parody and not my experience of the real thing.

Do not pay to view this film it you really must see it then take it out on one of the free loan offers... I understand that it has already been dropped by many public libraries in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the assassination, 26 July 2013
This review is from: The Assassination [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Konnichiwa
Thought this film was poor. Someone wrote this is not a Bruce Willis action film - well good enough reason for me not to watch it! He has a minor role as a school president and the story is more about personalities than action.
Misleading title, in a few words, what a waste of time - read the book.
Sayonara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
Not the action packed adventure I expect from Bruce Willis films - although to be fair I did not watch much of it - got fed up with the American college/high school kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film if you know what you're getting into, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Ditsy Chick (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film last night and then logged on to Amazon to see if it was available to buy (great price!). Yes, I agree that the marketing is ALL wrong--it is definitely not Die Hardest and there's nothing worse than not getting the type of film you're expecting to see. However, Bruce Willis makes good work of a small role with nary a nudge-nudge, wink-wink. He plays his part seriously and surprisingly well. Moreover, for those who think otherwise, this is not a typical American high school; it's a noir send-up, meant to be rude and crude. Maybe I haven't seen enough road trip movies, but I found The Assassination to be highly original, entertaining and just right on the night. The film-making was well worth watching, the script was OK with some novel turns, the characters were well drawn and the casting/acting pulled it all together. I enjoyed it, which is more than I can say for many other better-known films, and, for under a fiver, you can hardly go wrong. Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Assasination, 2 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
This film is absolutley crap! Nothing like you'd expect. It's boring as hell, it's not even good enough to be put in the same catagory as those films that you would only watch on a sunday when there's nothing better on the tv!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
Dont waste your money on this turkey absolute rubbish what's happened to Bruce Willis lately is he hard up for the cash he is turning out pointless rubbish films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassination [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
not a good firm, Not Bruce Willis`s usasal hard man shot me up give me die hard anytime. Sorry Bruce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dull, dull, dull, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Simon Sherlock (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Assassination [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so bad (see all other reviews for why) and is not really worth the 1 star ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Assassination [Blu-ray]
The Assassination [Blu-ray] by Brett Simon (Blu-ray - 2013)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews