Customer Reviews
13


382 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 13 Not A Unlucky Number For Sabbath
This album is brilliant, Truely brilliant to be honest I was a little dubious of this album when i heard that the original Black Sabbath omitting Bill Ward were reforming.

But how wrong was I as this delivers a triumphant return to form of their earlier albums.

The riffs from Toni Iommi & Geezer Butler, The moody lyrics & Ozzy Osbourne singing his...
Published 9 months ago by Timelord007

versus
37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rewriting their own history...
What is this that stands before me?"

According to the album title and track listing it's 13, the long-awaited studio album from Black Sabbath and first to feature Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler for thirty five years.

But based on `End of the Beginning' and the subsequent seven tracks, it could also be a musical homage to Black Sabbath...
Published 14 months ago by R. Muir


‹ Previous | 134 35 3639 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BADASS-HAIL THE LORDS OF DOOM, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Brilliant album..and man is Mr Iommi in good form..loved the tone throughout..
with all the hoopla going on i am absolutely delighted that 13 is probably one of the best Metal albums this year..
its got it all..riff..doom..ballads and plenty of solos..Even ozzy doesn't sound too bad. Couple of fillers but mostly all killer tracks.
and in the end they tahnk their "bro bill" and put the new chappie as a "guest drummer". So everyone is happy..ish
For what it is i would love to have a Black Sabath album than not and this album does not dissapoint at all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Wait!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
The key to Sabbath's early success was the simplicity of the riffs and lyrics,the Dio era, good though it was, relied on a more complex arrangements and fussier lyrics 13 delivers the former but with nods to the latter and gets the balance just right.The songs are pure "old school " Sabbath all power chords and doom laden lyrics with the usual changes in tempo that you expect on a Sabbath album.Ozzy sounds well like Ozzy always does,he's not the most powerful singer but he has a that tone that suits Sabbath's music so well. Iommi and Butler are immense with the two combining on some HUGE riffs,The only downside is Brad Wilkes he does a good enough job but does not have that jazz swing that Bill ward would have brought to the party.All in all a very good album ,not a classic but one i will be coming back to from time to time.
Nice to have you back guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Present for a Fan.., 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD for a good friend who is a longtime Fan of the Group so really I cannot comment on how good it is. Maybe I should call around to his house for a coffee that's provided that he has not blown it away with the Sounds if you get my meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of their best albums in a long while, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (MP3 Download)
A powerful yet almost haunting set of songs, with some excellent high quality bass and guitar riffs spread throughout the album. This would appeal to rock fans as well as heavy metal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising? No. Great? Yes., 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Do not expect an album that will knock you back, thinking wow, this is a great 21st century metal album. It is what is to be expected from Sabbath. Great riffs, howling vocals and asolid, heavy rhythm section with songs that could all have fitted on the first 4 Sabbath albums. Innovative No, Heavy and thoroughly enjoyable: absolutely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (MP3 Download)
Some of the best Black Sabbath ever. Ozzy has still got it. Classic Sabbath with a modern twist. Get rockin'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath 13, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
One of the best Black Sabbath albums Iv'e heard. Ozzy and the band are great, fabulous singing and guitar work. Can't understand why they left it so long to release more new work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome return to form - as good as their early allbums, 27 Jun 2013
By 
P. Dorey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (MP3 Download)
Black Sabbath Vol.4 has always been one of my favourite albums, with astonishingly good tracks like Wheels of Confusion, Snowblind, Cornucopia and St. Vitus Dance, so please believe me when I declare that '13' is comparable. It is absolutely one of their best albums.
I really can't stop playing it, and the more I do, the more moved I am by the maaterial on this album; some of the tracks, either musically or lyrically, bring a lump to my throat.
Tony Iommi's guitar playing is as good as it has ever been (age and illness shall not mellow him, thank goodness); there are some fantastic heavy riffs on here, some of them slow, sludgy and dirge-like (in a good way!) and others fast and blistering; stand-out tracks for me, riff-wise, are 'Live Forever', 'God is Dead?' and 'Age of Reason'.
Ozzy, too, sounds superb, like he did on their very first album; a voice haunted by dread of imminent apocalypse and death!
Oh, and the lyrics are fantastic, and chillingly poignant: 'I don't want to live forever, but I don't want to die'.
This really is as good as the early Sabbath albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 13, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (Audio CD)
Nothing else to say except The Masters Are Back! After all the years out they still show the rest how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refined Rock Music, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 (MP3 Download)
Best Rock CD that I have. Very clear music, every instrument coming out clearly. Drums are out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3639 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

13
13 by Black Sabbath
Buy MP3 Album9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews